We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find close to the City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucerne on Fernberg
Ranked #27 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful find close to the City”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This B and B is a fabulous find for anyone seeking a little peace and quiet from the City hubbub. Brian and Helen make you feel extremely welcome from the first contact and are wonderfully helpful and friendly to help ensure your stay is smooth and easy. The cottages are lovely. The kitchen facilities for your breakfast hamper makes breakfast simple and the home grown eggs are the added bonus. Thank you all for a great stay and your hospitality. We will be back and can certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B, and it was a positive experience.

Brian, the owner, is very accommodating and kind. He has an impressive property, with a high, vine-covered wall on the perimeter facing the street – I felt like we could survive a riot!

Our living area was very spacious, homey, and clean. And the kitchen was well-stocked for self-prepared breakfasts.

Brian’s personal touches really made a difference – he gave us a ride one day to an attraction; took us to a scenic look-out; and even invited us to an outdoor breakfast with his family (which was delish!).

It was also fun to interact with the family pets....especially Jetta the dog.

This B&B is not too far from the XXXX Brewery. Aside from the rides we got from Brian, we walked everywhere (including to the Wheel of Brisbane; Story Bridge; the shops on Queen St.; and even Boggo Road Gaol (prison) south of the city. While we loved the walking, some may find these hikes too far by foot.

Thanks again, Brian!

Room Tip: Rose Cottage did not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I knew it would be a great experience from my very first E-mail exchange with the owners Brian and Helen. They were so helpful and friendly by E-mail and even more so in person. I flew to Australia (first time there) to visit my adult daughter who is living in Cairns and is engaged to an Aussie. We took the Tilt Train from Cairns to Brisbane and were met on the platform by Brian who drove us to the Lucerne B&B. He even gave us a running narrative about Brisbane along the way. Being morning and knowing that we might be hungry after the 24 hour train ride, he offered us a fresh cooked hot breakfast. My daughter and I went to Brisbane to hunt for a wedding dress for her Port Douglas, Queensland wedding next Summer. We were successful in finding "the perfect dress", designed and sewn in AU, at a lovely little shop there. Brian, Helen and their teenaged daughter were all very excited about our quest for "The Dress". We absolutely plan to stay at the Lucerne B&B anytime that we are going to be in Brisbane! Kathryn & Laura Blue

Room Tip: The Coach House was just perfect for my daughter and I to stay in, as stairs are not a problem for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannyKDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A really beautiful and well fitted out cottage situated in a great location - especially for the Suncorp Stadium. Very easy access to station and one stop to city! Very, clean welcoming and helpful and we have had a most enjoyable couple of nights. Back for 3 more in a couple of weeks...and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieO186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were well looked after by Brian and Helen. The location is quite excellent and the setting is very pleasant. The chooks and the old faithful dog Jetta were great fun. Breakfast was well-stocked and Brian went to a lot of effort to make sure we were comfortable (we were).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lucerne on Fernberg is a great B & B. Fine accommodation, quietly located in a great part of Brisbane. We enjoyed the comfort of its well appointed charm, nestled in the historic homestead's private grounds. Hosts Brian and Helen were very welcoming to make our stay even more enjoyable. Ever picked a place to stay from website information and testimonials, only to be disappointed? Not Lucerne, it is everything it promises to be and more. Experience Lucerne and you'll want to stay forever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Lucerne early Dec. The reviews on tripadviser were all very positive so we booked a 2 night stay. The room we had was superb with great facilities. Brian and Megan were great hosts and as we travel to Brisbane often we are pleased to have found such a great place to stay.
All the reviews talk about the great eggs supplied from the hens and they are right they are great.
Thanks Brian and Megan you are great hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#75 of 158 in Brisbane
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#42 of 158 in Brisbane
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#14 of 158 in Brisbane
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brisbane Milton Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#9 of 61 in Brisbane
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne on Fernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne on Fernberg

Property: Lucerne on Fernberg
Address: 23 Fernberg Rd | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing