We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of Oaks 212 Margaret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks 212 Margaret
Ranked #34 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Travelled down from Townsville recently to stay for the week on a holiday with my partner. First impressions of the place were good however the reception staff weren't overly professional and seemed a little clueless at times. The room itself was very spacious and well layed out. Had a good view but a lot depends on which rooms you get. The kitchen was well equiped and also a fully euiped laundry was present which came in handy. The bed was very comfortable after a few long days of walking. The locality is good, close to the city and southbank. I would recommend walking through the botanical gardens as well. A couple of negatives did come up, room service didn't give us toilet paper and a few other things we needed to go down to reception to get. Also a lift a broke down and was down for a couple of days and still down on the day we left. Made for some very uncomfortable and squishy lift rides, as well as being stranded for 15 minutes at one point waiting for one. Not much the hotal can do I guess but it was very inconvient. Overal it was a good stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCamp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, General Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear DCamp90,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and wonderful view from our River View Apartments. I apologise for the issues you mentioned and these will be addressed with the persons involved. Unfortunately we did experience a technical fault with one elevator and for obvious safety reasons, was put out of use for repair for 2 days.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Oaks 212 Margaret in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    126
    56
    32
    24
See reviews for
62
97
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed there for one night recently. Upon arrival the front desk tried telling me I had already checked in when I was well aware I hadnt. She then proceeded to whisper to other staff right in front of me about my booking as if I shouldn't know what was happening. Later on that evening security decided to let themselves into our room without warning or a simple phone call. Overall not impressed, won't be staying there again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank fidnick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear fidnick13, I apologise for the mix up on your arrival, the staff member was merely clarifying what the other staff member what had happened with your reservation. I am sorry security entered your room in response to noise complaints, but we have strict after 10pm noise restrictions so not to disturb other guests and residents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was thre for work and had a 2 bedroom which was good for just sleeping at. Okay location for a quick walk to the resturants and bars in Brisbane. Hotel is located in the quiter side of Brisbane CBD which made it great for a quite wake up
over all hotel was okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear David N, thank you for taking the time to review Oaks 212 Margaret . I agree that we are in a convenient location in the CBD. I hope to welcome you back again in the furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Oaks hotel is a block away from the National Botanical garden!how great can that be! checked into a 1 bedroom apartment similar to a "townhouse",fully equipped kitchen and dishwasher,washing machine and tumble dryer. Linen is crisp and fluffy towels. 2 Plasma TV and office space. Negative side is the non supply of shower gel. Breakfast is not included and there is a coffee shop on the premises and lots others around the corner. I Checked previous reviews that were helpful and I was awaken by loud construction noise from nearby at abot 6 am whilst catching on sleep from jet lag!Central location and value for money,will come again. Ps hotel lobby is not manned after 10 pm,ensure you have cellular access you receive a note at door to call to access the key,sadly I had to incur international cell charges.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Koki80,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I apologise the nearby construction caused you some disruption however this is not within the hotel’s control. Our Reception hours are 6am-10pm daily and we do have an onsite caretaker outside of these hours and procedures are in place to assist with after-hour arrivals. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Oaks 212 Margaret in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, null, Norfolk Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location was great for us, only a few blocks from everything and close to Riverside. Some of the things in the rooms need replacing - chipped plates. lights not working etc. Comfy bed, great balcony and we got upgraded to a higher room. Construction going on but only noisy on balcony so not a problem. Lots of kitchen utensils, good size fridge freezer, dishwasher.
Staff were fantastic and so helpful. Really great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Linda H

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear you found our location convenient and that the apartment had comfortable features and adequate amenities. I apologise for the chipped plates and lights, and will have our Housekeeping and Maintenance team do a full audit to ensure issues like these are rectified immediately. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really friendly staff, clean and well appointed rooms. We had a gorgeous view over the botanic gardens and the building was an easy, short walk to Queen Street Mall and everywhere we needed to go. Really quiet despite being right in the city with multiple construction sites around - bit noisy on the balcony but you couldn't hear any street noise from inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Chels82,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you experienced our well-known service and found our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks 212 Margarent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a 3 hour flight and delay, we were surprised when upon check in we were advised that we were being upgraded to the penthouse. It was also noted that I was a regular visitor to Oaks.

Much to our delight to ventured into our 4 bedroom 3 bathroom penthouse. It had fantastic views of the Brisbane CBD and her beautiful river.

We stayed for 2 nights for business. Location was very good as the Oaks was close to the office. The hotel was also very close to the central shopping mail and associated attractions.

I would recommend this to all travellers. Whether business, couples or families.

Well done Oaks. They do know how to remember their frequent visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roxcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear roxochrane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to experience our premium penthouse apartment. At Oaks, we always like to recognise loyalty amongst our guests and are glad we were able to welcome you back to 212 Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#54 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#78 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks 212 Margaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks 212 Margaret

Property: Oaks 212 Margaret
Address: 212 Margaret St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks 212 Margaret 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks 212 Margaret offers a range of luxurious one and two bedroom self contained apartments with air conditioning in the lounge and fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. There is also a luxury two storey four-bedroom penthouse which boasts the pinnacle of facilities, services and uninterrupted views. The hotel also has an out door heated pool and gym. It is the perfect base from which to enjoy everything Brisbane has to offer. Cool café precincts and fine dining, theatres, nightclubs, busy streets and leafy corners. Enjoying breathtaking river, city and parkland views, 212 Margaret is just an easy stroll from the financial, commercial and shopping heart with its great restaurants and entertainment venues. Excellent access to public transport makes getting around a breeze.Adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, overlooking the Brisbane River, and yet only minutes from the CBD, Oaks 212 Margaret is a logical choice for you to explore Brisbane's historic centre, entertainment options or when visiting for a conference or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oaks 212 Margaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks 212 Margaret Brisbane
Oaks 212 Margaret Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing