We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse, yes please”
Review of Oaks 212 Margaret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks 212 Margaret
Ranked #31 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Penthouse, yes please”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a 3 hour flight and delay, we were surprised when upon check in we were advised that we were being upgraded to the penthouse. It was also noted that I was a regular visitor to Oaks.

Much to our delight to ventured into our 4 bedroom 3 bathroom penthouse. It had fantastic views of the Brisbane CBD and her beautiful river.

We stayed for 2 nights for business. Location was very good as the Oaks was close to the office. The hotel was also very close to the central shopping mail and associated attractions.

I would recommend this to all travellers. Whether business, couples or families.

Well done Oaks. They do know how to remember their frequent visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roxcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear roxochrane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to experience our premium penthouse apartment. At Oaks, we always like to recognise loyalty amongst our guests and are glad we were able to welcome you back to 212 Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    127
    57
    33
    24
See reviews for
62
98
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
496 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly, the room I had a Oaks 212 Margaret was nice - spacious with a comfortable bed. The building is located beautifully just a block from the botanic gardens and right next to the heart of the CBD, so that's awesome.

BUT.

When you check into a hotel after midnight, tired after getting off a late flight, the last thing you want to see when you look out the window is a building site. Sure enough, at 7am the hammering and drilling started right outside my window and there was no way I was sleeping.

Now, was it Oak's fault that there were building works going on nearby? No, of course not.

But was it their fault not to make a note of it on the booking site in the room description, and in the printed check in information? Yes. That's poor form. It is completely unfair to let people book in when it is clear that their sleep could be impacted.

It also bugs me when you check out of a place and the staff don't bother to ask 'How was your stay?' as happened here. Perhaps they just don't want to know?

So my review is mixed - great room/location, poor attention to customer experience. If you're going to book into this property anytime soon after my review, I recommend you call to make sure you don't get put in a room facing the adjacent building site. You'll need to call because Oaks certainly won't be telling you in advance otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear aimoverseas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you found our property conveniently located and that our room and facilities met your expectations.

I apologise that you were not made aware of the nearby construction however unfortunately, this is out of our control. I am also sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual high standard of service upon checkout and will be sure to address this with my Front Office team.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks 212 Margaret soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and equipped. Good views too!

Service is great, Our dryer Stopped working, notified the front desk that night, the dryer was fixed the following morning.

location is great, It's minutes walk to a wide range of restaurants, many shops including a large supermarket and also the cinema.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSRCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear NSRCH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you were able to experience the high standard of service we are known for and that we were able to rectify the issue with your dryer immediately. I am also happy to hear your found our location convenient and within close proximity to a range of venues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great Location and easy to access for a city motel, I had a couple of diferent rooms over several stays, the higher the room the better as these seemed to be better maintained and a lot quieter.
My last stay was on level 6, very bloody noisy as location is surrounded by Building Works, also curtains in bedroom faded and didn;t block the sun entering the room, no TV remote in the bedroom, clothes drier didn't work which I only found out after doing a large wash.
Also during my last 3 nights stay the room was never serviced.
Parking is limited and needs to be booked ahead to ensure you have somewhere to park

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Peter T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise that you found some of our rooms to be noisy and that the fixtures were not adequate for what you required. We are always happy to rectify any concerns regarding maintenance and housekeeping immediately after being informed and regret that we were not given a chance to resolve your concerns.

Once again I thank you for sharing your feedback with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just on the edge of the CBD - one block from the Botanical Gardens, Oaks on Margaret gives you everything you could want for a self catering stay. We have stayed twice recently and although one room's furnishings were a little dated the other was fine. There is a cafe downstairs if you don't want to walk too far for food - they will even do a room delivery if needed.

Staff were helpful and friendly, the premises were clean and beds comfortable, the tariff reasonable - what more could you want!

Room Tip: Brisbane's building boom is on the doorstep - see if you can get a room at the front of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Magus25, thanks for posting your great review of Oaks 212 Margaret and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient. I hope to welcome you back one day again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. There are very good restaurants and shops less than 5 minutes away. The apartment itself is clean and comfortable. Staff at the hotel are not very friendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pardesi_frangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear pardesi_frangipani, thank you for taking the time to post your review of Oaks 212 Margaret and am pleased you found our location convenient. I am disappointed you felt the staff unfriendly as this is definitely not normal. I appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Magnificent room, i am staying for business trip and it is absulatly wonderfull, very clean, quite, top service and friendly customer service, very close to everywhere in the city and central of brisban city

Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear issa d, thank you for posting your review of Oaks 212 Margaret andI am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 157 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#79 of 157 in Brisbane
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks 212 Margaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks 212 Margaret

Property: Oaks 212 Margaret
Address: 212 Margaret St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks 212 Margaret 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks 212 Margaret offers a range of luxurious one and two bedroom self contained apartments with air conditioning in the lounge and fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. There is also a luxury two storey four-bedroom penthouse which boasts the pinnacle of facilities, services and uninterrupted views. The hotel also has an out door heated pool and gym. It is the perfect base from which to enjoy everything Brisbane has to offer. Cool café precincts and fine dining, theatres, nightclubs, busy streets and leafy corners. Enjoying breathtaking river, city and parkland views, 212 Margaret is just an easy stroll from the financial, commercial and shopping heart with its great restaurants and entertainment venues. Excellent access to public transport makes getting around a breeze.Adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, overlooking the Brisbane River, and yet only minutes from the CBD, Oaks 212 Margaret is a logical choice for you to explore Brisbane's historic centre, entertainment options or when visiting for a conference or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oaks 212 Margaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks 212 Margaret Brisbane
Oaks 212 Margaret Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing