We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented rooms and great location”
Review of Oaks 212 Margaret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks 212 Margaret
Ranked #31 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well presented rooms and great location”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great location very close to CBD. Rooms were well set-out with furnishings in good condition and most importantly were very clean. Check In & out was an absolute breeze and service was good. Encountered no issues during our stay.

We were pleasantly surprised to come back after a late night to be greeted by a security doorsman.

As mentioned in previous reviews, I also had views of an office block next door (about 3M from our balcony and bedroom window, as well as the flooded building block). I dont however believe you can expect much of a view given the location if you are on lower floors. You are in the CBD.

My only gripe about this hotel is that the 'restaurant/bar' fronting the hotel. This is run by a 3rd-party, and although the menu state it is open Saturdays for breakfast, we were disappointed to find it was closed all morning until after lunch.

Great hotel, clean and comfortable, and pricing is in line with the market. Had made Oaks a reliable chain I will look for in future, but hopefully somewhere with its own restaurant/kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    127
    57
    33
    24
See reviews for
62
98
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Oaks on Margaret is in the Brisbane CBD and part of a large Aussie chain of serviced apartments/aparthotels. We had a one-bedroom unit, well-equipped with hob, oven, microwave, freezer, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and drier, plus a reasonable assortment of kitchen tools. The bed was comfortable, and the daily housekeeping was competent. The location is excellent: one block from the Botanical Gardens, a couple of blocks from Eagle Street Pier, its restaurants and city ferries. It is convenient for restaurants and coffee bars too.
But we encountered several quite serious problems, some of which will be probably sorted out quite soon, some won’t. First, only one lift was working, and given that there are 150 units on the 30 floors, there was often an unacceptable wait. After a week, the lift was operational. Second, our phone line didn’t work, apparently because of flood damage in the basement. The front desk kindly, and for free, allowed us to use their phones for calls. This problem will be resolved in time, I expect. The following probably won’t. Third, like other Oaks I have stayed in, the internet service has been outsourced. It is very expensive - $10 per hour, $20 per day, $75 per week. These prices are per computer. So if there are two computers, then you will pay twice. The connection is slow Ethernet, not wifi, and there was only one Ethernet port in the unit so only one of us could be online at a time. All this was a serious downside for the two of us trying to work. Fourth, the shower won’t suit anyone taller than 5’6”, unless they like their water horizontal rather than vertical. The views from our balcony was of other tall buildings, and flooded building site next door. There were river glimpses from our bedroom window.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Me and my husband visited Australia over Christmas and New Year 2010/2011.

During our stay in Brisbane we stayed at Oaks 212 Margret (30th December – 3rd January). We arrived at the apartments at 6am; we thought we would try our luck if a room was available. Luckily it was, the lady on the desk was very helpful and very welcoming.

Once checked in we went to our apartment. The apartment was on the 22nd floor. The apartment was large, clean and bright. It is in a good location, near the main area but not too close so you hear all the noises. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had everything needed to use the kitchen. The balcony was big and although over looking other apartments, it didn’t feel intrusive. We use the pool which was very clean and the gym facilities were good.

The Botanic Gardens are a stones throw away and worth a walk round. We also visited the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, it was a lovely local bus ride away and the sanctuary itself was a good trip. Cuddling a koala was a wonderful experience. Check out the Greek restaurants, excellent food and fairly cheap.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone to stay at the apartments. We cannot praise the apartments and staff enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcope86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a one night stop at The Oaks 212 Margaret Street and were blown away by the location and quality of the accommodation. The price was good for an inner city apartment ($155 + $20 parking). We were on 28th floor with stunning views and the apartment is an impressive, modern and well equipped one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen.

Only 5 mins walk from both the Queen Street Mall and Botanical Gardens.

The staff at the front desk were really helpful, pleasant and attentive.

We will certainly be seeking out this location again when in Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed in a one-room apartment on the 27th floor for a long weekend in October - it was great. The rate we got was very cheap. It was very nice to have a living room with a big tv/dvd and a kitchen instead of *just* a hotel room. Our stay was quite peaceful. Just be aware that although booking a room on a high floor helps you escape the traffic noise, you still have to put up with the constant drone of the air-con units mounted on the roofs of nearby towers whenever you're on the balcony. One side note: The lengthy list of rules about noise and alcohol suggests that these apartments have attracted some idiots in the past. Yet the front desk is *not* manned 24/7.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnZeeEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We booked two nights in a 'one bedroom executive' apartment. Actually we were upgraded to a 2-bed (27th floor), but it made no difference since we weren't going to use the second bed and bath (for which we would have been charged an extra $50 per night). Everything was fine. Good, smooth check-in slightly ahead of advertised earliest. Big living room/kitchen and big bedroom. Bathroom OK but a silly little shower-head as someone else commented. Very big balcony/terrace with a splendid view of the botanic gardens, river and over to the Gabba. (But maybe not so good in high summer, because the aircon unit is out there too, presumably pumping out hot air.) Overall we were very pleasantly surprised that the Oaks on Margaret was so good. Very good location, but there is a big new development just started next door, so for the next 12 months there may well be construction noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Oaks 212 on Margaret is a great place to stay in central Brisbane.

The rooms open onto a lounge (two couches) near the balcony with views across the Brisbane CBD. There's a full kitchen, meals area and separate bedroom and bathroom, so the rooms are very spacious.

We had 5 guests over and there was seating for everyone, and plenty of space to prepare and serve food.

The location is within an easy walk of the botanic gardens, river, and Queen Street (where the mall is).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 157 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#79 of 157 in Brisbane
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks 212 Margaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks 212 Margaret

Property: Oaks 212 Margaret
Address: 212 Margaret St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks 212 Margaret 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks 212 Margaret offers a range of luxurious one and two bedroom self contained apartments with air conditioning in the lounge and fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. There is also a luxury two storey four-bedroom penthouse which boasts the pinnacle of facilities, services and uninterrupted views. The hotel also has an out door heated pool and gym. It is the perfect base from which to enjoy everything Brisbane has to offer. Cool café precincts and fine dining, theatres, nightclubs, busy streets and leafy corners. Enjoying breathtaking river, city and parkland views, 212 Margaret is just an easy stroll from the financial, commercial and shopping heart with its great restaurants and entertainment venues. Excellent access to public transport makes getting around a breeze.Adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, overlooking the Brisbane River, and yet only minutes from the CBD, Oaks 212 Margaret is a logical choice for you to explore Brisbane's historic centre, entertainment options or when visiting for a conference or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oaks 212 Margaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks 212 Margaret Brisbane
Oaks 212 Margaret Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing