We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but shame about the front desk staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Felix

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oaks Felix
Ranked #55 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but shame about the front desk staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great location for a brief stay in Brisbane city, close to great restaurants and shopping.
We chose this hotel based on recent Trip Advisor reviews and generally, we were pretty pleased with the room and its amenities (despite the fact that our views from the bedroom and living room were at office blocks a stone's throw away). The room was tastefully appointed, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
Our only gripe quite frankly was the front desk staff who seemed quite non-plussed that we had just arrived (mid-morning) in the midddle of a huge rain storm and were soaked. We were both dripping on the floor of the hotel lobby, our clothes were plastered to us and we were disappointed that we had to ask for towels and somewhere to change and dry off. The Staff seemed more concerned about our early arrival even though we had advised by email several weeks earlier that we would be coming in mid-morning and just needed somewhere to leave our bags. We also noted, dissapointingly, that each time we came in or left the hotel, via the lobby, that nobody at the front desk looked up to say "Hi", or perhpas enquired how our day had been. We tried saying hello on our way in or out but Staff at the front desk kept their heads down. As accommodation providers ourselves we know that it costs nothing to be friendly but goes along way towards making guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleighCourtManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    238
    71
    29
    22
See reviews for
111
162
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Oaks on Felix for 3 nights. The apartment consisted of a modern, well equipped, clean kitchen, dining area and lounge area. Also 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The second bedroom had a queen size bed instead of 2 singles which was unexpected. Kids managed though sharing. Not sure if this is throughout the hotel so I recommend checking if you want 2 singles. There was a good view between buildings of the Brisbane River and Storey bridge. Good view from the balcony. The apartment was clean and serviced daily. Location is very close to the river, botanical gardens and city centre. Not so close to southbank but walkable distance. Very easy to get the ferry from the River to any location. Parking was available under the building I found going down each level quite difficult and would be hard with a large car.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

This is the second Oaks I have tried in Brisbane and it seems to be much better than the Aurora. Had no problems here, it is in a good spot and if you get a room with a view even better.
Not a bad hotel, certainly the best so far in the last month.....still looking for that hidden gem in Brisbane

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Little2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

Other reviews were spot on. Really good value for the money. I requested a 1 bedroom room with river city views up high and they delivered (room 303). Some minor things--rooms a little worn (spots on couches, luggage streaks on walls and spots on carpet) and service a little inconsistent on fixing things (dishwasher, lamps not working) and fulling cleaning the rooms for the longer stay (e.g., skipping the tub or washsink), but overall superb choice and worth it for the views. Nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaEcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

If you take the train from the airport, get off @ Central Station vs. Roma. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions and general information about where to go and how to get there. The unit we stayed in was worn. There was a large red wine stain at the deck door and many other stains in the entry and living area. The carpet should have been replaced. The silverware was mismatched and there were just three of each item.
In all fairness to mangagment, we did not pass along these comments as there wasn't anything they could do while we were in the apartment. I would stay here again yet would ask to see a room before "moving in".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJTravelsWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed in a two-bedroom apartment on a weekend trip to Brisbane. The bedroom with the balcony had two sliding doors as an entrance point from the lounge room with no blinds on them. Not so good from a privacy/ comfort point of view! Other bedroom had a small window and a ceiling fan, which helped because the only air conditioner was in the lounge room. On the plus side, good city location (note that undercover parking will set you back $20 a night, but there is street parking) and great value because they were doing a special deal on wotif (although that meant that we didn't get room service). Also had a well-equipped kitchen, reasonable bathroom and came complete with washing machine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flapflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

Pros:
- Very large, modern rooms
- Apartment style - with kitchen, living room and bedroom
- Pool and gym
- Good location - easy to explore Brisbane

Cons:
- No frills - few services other than a check-in desk and daily maid service
- Located in the business district
- Mixed use building - owners, rentals and hotel guests

  • Liked — Spacious, modern room
  • Disliked — Lack of services/staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amann27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#53 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#60 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#76 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Felix

Property: Oaks Felix
Address: 26 Felix St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Felix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned to take full advantage of Brisbane's exciting and unique lifestyle, Oaks Felix is a winner with business and leisure travellers alike, promising deluxe, self-contained apartment accommodation in the heart of the city's CBD and a variety of resort-style leisure facilities, catering to the discerning needs of all types of guests. Our property stretches 40 storeys high and boasts a distinctive curved design, offering some of the most spectacular views of the Brisbane River, bustling city and Story Bridge in all of Brisbane. Adjacent to Eagle Street Pier, guests of Oaks Felix will enjoy the myriad tastes, sights and sounds that are on offer in this entertainment and dining precinct; featuring an abundance of casual and fine dining restaurants, cocktail bars, pubs and weekend Riverside Markets, there is something for everyone. Also within walking distance is the iconic Botanic Gardens, the shopping emporium that is Queen Street Mall and the CityCat Ferry Terminal where travellers can spend the day cruising the Brisbane River and hopping on and off at their desired landmarks, whether it be South Bank, the Queensland Museum or Newfarm to name just a few. Oaks Felix offers an impressive selection of one and two bedroom self-contained apartments, all featuring full kitchens, laundry facilities, Internet access, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, private balconies and superb appointments. Leisure facilities include a 25m-heated lap pool surrounded by a modern sun deck and comfortable sun lounges, sauna, spa, gymnasium and barbeque area - perfect for entertaining and soaking in the cityscapes below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Felix Brisbane
Oaks On Felix Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing