We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oaks Felix
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk Island, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotels has a great potential and a fantastic location but lacks the comfort of a nice place and is highly overpriced for what else it has to offer.
We stayed at the best of their apartments with the view of the Story Bridge.
(+) The bedrooms were very small but nice, recently renovated. One bedroom had a king size bed and the other - a queen bed.
(+) Floor to ceiling windows.
(+) The wardrobes and mirror sliding doors that made rooms look bigger.
(++) Beautiful views of the city and the bridge. There was a balcony in the lounge room.

(-) Curtains in the bedrooms (being proper blackout curtains) were useless as they didn't meet by about a meter.
(-) The blankets were much smaller than they should be for the beds of that size (looked like a double blanket on the queen bed and a queen duvet on the king bed.
(-) In one of the bedrooms my 4-year old found a water bottle and packing from stockings under the bed (lucky it wasn't anything more exciting!).
(-) The daylight fluros (blue-ish daylight ones) make rooms look very formal, uninviting and 20 years older.
(-) The kitchen stove was very rusty. Only one dinner plate, one short tumbler, two tall tumblers, the crockery wasn't in a set. However, sufficient appliances.
(-) It's impossible to get in to the underground parking without reception assistance (need to ring them from your own phone when you get to the gates. Poor signage in the parking - had to get out of the car to find the parking lot we were advised to use ($25 per day).
(-) The parking and corridors look a bit gloomy.

Bathrooms were outdated but ok.

Aircon only on the lounge room and ceiling fans in the bedrooms. It was very warm in the bedrooms and I think it may be very hot there in summer.

When I was waiting to check out, I witnessed an unhappy customer raving about the room service (or rather its absence) so, unfortunately, we were not the only ones us who didn't feel Oask on Felix was the place we would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anomalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post your review, and for pointing out the great features that we have to offer including the beautiful floor to ceiling widows which allows our guests to take full advantage of the wonderful views.
It is an unpleasant experience to receive unfavourable feedback; however your comments serve as an invaluable source of information that will ensure we continue to improve our service standards. Oaks hold the management rights to the building however, we do not own the building itself therefore an intercom system has to be approved via the Buildings Body Corporate, which unfortunately is not an option right now. A quick call to our reception staff is all it takes to let them know you have arrived, they will open the car parking gates and direct you on where to park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    238
    71
    29
    21
See reviews for
111
161
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay here for business travel. I really like the idea of having a kitchen to make my own meals because Brisbane restaurants are expensive. I also like having a balcony I can step out on to and enjoy some fresh air. The river view rooms are especially nice. Its also nice to have a clothes washer and dryer. The only thing I don't like about this hotel is that the hallways SMELL bad. I stayed once and the smell was bad. I figured it was just someone's cooking. But I went back 6 months later on a different floor and it was the same smell. It was just foul. I'm not sure if it was the trash chute located on each floor or what. I even asked the cleaning crew about it and they could not smell anything. I asked the front desk about it and I came back to my room later to find my balcony door open, apparently to try and solve it but fresh air. I would run from the elevator to my room just to get away from it and I had to leave my balcony door open. I may stay at another Oaks next time and hope for the best. Rooms were very quiet. I could not hear anyone in the room next to me which is always a plus..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to email your comments about your recent stay at Oaks on Felix. I was disappointed and concerned to learn that your stay was disturbed by an unpleasant odour on your floor.

Regarding the rubbish chutes that run through the core of the building, these are a constant challenge as their effectiveness relies on the co-operation of all residents of the building and the observance of proper waste disposal guidelines. Oaks on Felix like many inner city apartment properties, has a proportion of residents as well as guests, and in our case approximately 50% of the apartments in the building are privately tenanted. The rubbish chute is regularly commercially cleaned and this was done most recently just a few weeks ago. There is also a machine installed on the lower levels that pumps ozone up through the chute to neutralize any odours.

As Oaks does not own the building itself (we have the management rights only), I am in constant liaison with the Body Corporate on issues of any infrastructure, plant and equipment challenges that require their financial input and approval.

I appreciate the feedback you have provided and will use that as leverage to further address this issue via the body corporate.

I do hope that you may reconsider utilizing Oaks on Felix again for future stays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here as part of a package deal for the weekend. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 people. It was OK, just about big enough for 4 adults, but probably better suited to parents with kids. The apartment had just 1 bathroom which was ensuite to one of the bedrooms - not ideal for couples sharing. However the small kitchen was well appointed and there was washing machine and tumble drier on site too. The Oaks has an outdoor swimming pool and a small gym which were both pleasant enough. Would not have chosen this accommodation had it not been part of a package, but it was nice enough and had a very nice café / restaurant (Spring) just next door for breakfast and it was a short walk into the main shopping / entertainment area - so all in all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi, and thanks for taking the time out to pass on your feedback. We're glad you were able to make full use of our facilities, in particular the full laundry and kitchen facilities available in all of our apartments. With regards to your 2-bedroom apartment only having one bathroom, you can guarantee 2-bedroom/2-bathrooms by booking our Story Bridge View apartments.

Thanks again and we hope to see you in Brisbane next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Oaks for a week whilst in Brisbane to follow the British Lions Rugby tour. The Oaks on Felix was a perfect location with everything within sensible walking distance,the Queen st shopping mall 5 mins away,Eagle St Pier 2 mins,South Bank area 20 mins.
We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and the rooms were well appointed, clean and the beds very comfortable. Room maids were very accomodating regarding cleaning times and very pleasant. All in all very nice accomodation with spectacular views of the river too.
The only thing preventing us from giving a 5 star rating were the front desk staff and like other reviewers the internet charges. To be fair the staff were very efficient if asked to do anything they just werent very friendly. A good morning would be 'returned' but never just given and they stood out on our tour as the only ones not to enquire 'hows your trip going?' or any pleasantry at all. Internet charges were crazy! How can a coffee shop across the road provide free internet with a AUS $4 transaction but a hotel charging AUS $295/night cant?
But on balance we liked the Oaks and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BilltheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Bill, and thanks for taking the out out to pass on your feedback to us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the Lions tour - it was certainly a great atmosphere here in Brisbane and it was a pleasure having you here. We're also big fans of our views out over the river & hope you were able to get similar views in your other destinations.

With regards to your comments re: staff, it is a reminder to us about how important it is to greet guests as they walk past. There's always room for improvement and your constructive criticism certainly reminds us of this.

Thanks again and we hope to see you here next time you're in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for our son's wedding. Front of house staff were great. Need champagne glasses- no problem, how many? Need a visitor's car space for photographer and make up artist- no problem. Need extra wine glasses on the last night- no problem. Made a big difference to us and was much appreciated. Our DVD player doesn't seem to be working. No problem- we'll be there! Can't ask for more than that. Made a big difference to us and was much appreciated. The views were fantastic and worth paying extra for! Cleanliness in the shower and kitchen needs to be reviewed but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank immerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Oaks on Felix, It’s always fantastic to hear that our staff went that little extra mile for you to ensure your stay was enjoyable. I will ensure your feedback is past on to our housekeeping department and all staff are congratulated for their achievements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackay,australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

As was visiting Brisbane with my husband I wanted to stay near the Pier area, with its lovely walking areas and restaurants.
When I come with my Mum and Daughter it is all shopping, shopping, shopping!
Not so this time, was very happy with our views of the river and the close proximity to the restaurants.
The room was excellent,,I have had great excellect stays with all the Oaks I have stayed at. The staff was great, the room was spacious, the balcony huge and the beds comfortable.
We were a block from the Pier area and could see our favourite restaurant Georges Paragon Seafood Restaurant from the window.
Their is a taxi rank across the road near the motel and a conienience store just below.
We did have to walk a block to get our wine and beer, so that was proberly a down side.
I will definitely be staying at this motel again.

Room Tip: You can choose to pay extra for the rooms that face the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squeek_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Squeek, thanks for taking the time out to pass on your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we're glad you're as fond of the Story Bridge views as we are! We will also pass on your feedback to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perhaps Brisbane has gotten so expensive, travelers should not expect any quality by paying $265 per night for 2 bedroom rental. We had this 14 nights in Oak Felix and difinetely didn't feel the money was well spent. The space is good but the finishing is basic. The kitchen utensils are so cheap, so broken and worn and dirty. Both bedrooms had no air-con, the heat was so intense in the morning, it was impossible anyone could stays in the room pass 10:00am. Luckily it was winter time, those 2 rooms gets cool down by late afternoon. I feel sorry if any traveler had to stay here during the summer heat. Most classic was, I don't believe I had slept on poly form cover in my life. I truly believe I deserve more after paying $265 per night other than $10 dollars poly form blanket and pillows.
And, don't get fooled by the daily room service. It was nothing but make the bed and take out garbage. Bring gloves and toilet spray because if you plan to stay more than couple days, you are the one has to get down to your knee to scrub the sink and toilet.

Room Tip: Ask for air-con room and choice a unit with a owner who cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments, It is certainly an unpleasant experience to receive unfavourable feedback; however your comments serve as an invaluable source of information that will ensure we continue to improve service standards. We take your comments seriously and sincerely regret any upset caused to you during your stay.
If informed, our team here at Felix take ownership of all feedback and are extremely pro-active when any issues arise. I encourage all our guests to come and communicate any issues with us so we can be pro-active in resolving them for you. All of our apartments have ceiling fans in the bedrooms and Air-conditioning in the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#54 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#59 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#78 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#60 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Felix

Property: Oaks Felix
Address: 26 Felix St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Felix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned to take full advantage of Brisbane's exciting and unique lifestyle, Oaks Felix is a winner with business and leisure travellers alike, promising deluxe, self-contained apartment accommodation in the heart of the city's CBD and a variety of resort-style leisure facilities, catering to the discerning needs of all types of guests. Our property stretches 40 storeys high and boasts a distinctive curved design, offering some of the most spectacular views of the Brisbane River, bustling city and Story Bridge in all of Brisbane. Adjacent to Eagle Street Pier, guests of Oaks Felix will enjoy the myriad tastes, sights and sounds that are on offer in this entertainment and dining precinct; featuring an abundance of casual and fine dining restaurants, cocktail bars, pubs and weekend Riverside Markets, there is something for everyone. Also within walking distance is the iconic Botanic Gardens, the shopping emporium that is Queen Street Mall and the CityCat Ferry Terminal where travellers can spend the day cruising the Brisbane River and hopping on and off at their desired landmarks, whether it be South Bank, the Queensland Museum or Newfarm to name just a few. Oaks Felix offers an impressive selection of one and two bedroom self-contained apartments, all featuring full kitchens, laundry facilities, Internet access, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, private balconies and superb appointments. Leisure facilities include a 25m-heated lap pool surrounded by a modern sun deck and comfortable sun lounges, sauna, spa, gymnasium and barbeque area - perfect for entertaining and soaking in the cityscapes below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Felix Brisbane
Oaks On Felix Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing