We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if noise isn't an issue ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Clayfield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Clayfield Motel
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok if noise isn't an issue ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a early flight booked and a car to return so we used trip advisor to find a suitable place close to the airport that wasn't going to kill the bank given it was our last night in Qld.
This place is 3.5 star. It had good reviews on trip advisor so we decided to give it a go. When we arrived the staff were friendly. I wasn't expecting the Hilton it was described as basic. The room was relatively clean but the bathroom was not so, the sink had stains and a burn on it. The room smelt of stale smoke when you used the air conditioner. It was basic as it said
The traffic noise was nonstop, oh the constant traffic noise! I used my ear plugs that helped. It would have been ok if that was it. We requested and supposedly given a quiet room but when the people next door came in at 11pm I heard every move they made including swearing and toiletry functions. The guy was obviously unaware of how loud he was and to be honest it wasn't sounding like asking them to be quiet would have helped. Mmmm if you can sleep next to constant room noise and car and truck noise that feels like it's right next to you is ok then this is the place for you. We will seek quieter abodes from now on.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SNTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
HI. We are sorry that we did meet your expectations this time. I am very surprised that you found noise to be an issue. Over the last 6 months we have spent considerable time and money improving this situation. I can only say that we have a lot of regulars that say that recent improvements (double glazing and acoustic door seals) have made a big difference. I guess they wouldn't keep coming back if they couldn't get a good nights sleep.

I have noticed on occasions that guests have left a window open and this has of course meant that noise can get in. In any case I would have only been too happy to investigate or show you to alternative room for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
43
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This motel is quiet comfortable. We stayed only 1 night, we had an early morning flight so we wanted a quick, easy get away to the airport. We had 2 children, so we used the interconnecting room. Not much room in each rooms, but very clean and sufficient. The layout was great; 1 room with 2 single beds and 2 other interconnecting rooms with a queen bed in each.
I noticed that 2 of the rooms had no lamps though. May be a good thing, as we had young children, if we were staying longer.... May be an issue for others...
Thought it was a great idea in the bathroom with the soap/shampoo/conditioner/shaving cream dispensers. Less wastage too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel. Yes the interconnecting room is one of our most popular rooms. We have only just taken over recently and don't have a full history of the motel but we can only assume as you have, that the third room doesn't have wall lights because it is predominantly used as a children's room and from time to time the wall lights do get broken or pulled off the walls. Probably best not in a children's room. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just stayed for my third time at Airport Clayfield.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, staff are friendly and welcoming and always lend me a hand with luggage.
It's so convent to have choice of restaurants in the area and if I get the chance on my next work trip I'll take a dip in the pool.
Thanks Steve and Cata

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ack-trauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi. We are delighted to hear that you found the motel convenient for your needs. We think having such a great range of restaurants and other eateries so close is such a bonus for our guests, especially when they are staying a few nights and can have something different every night. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, heaps of eateries close by. Had a good night's sleep on a comfy bed.
What impressed me most was how clean the room was.
There is a little bit of road noise but not enough to put me off another stay. Once the door is shut you forget you're on a main road. I will definitely stay here again.
Steve is a friendly nice bloke.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to give our motel such a lovely review. This is always encouraging. I am glad to hear that you were impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms. I will most definitely pass this feedback on to our cleaning staff. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town. Kind Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This motel is perfect for your business trip if you are looking for cheap and comfortable place to stay and make your business deal then this is the best place.

I came here at the end of the last month to have a great business deal with one of Aussie mates.

I booked a room on the second floor for 3 days and 2 nights stay. After checking in to the motel one staff came to receive me and took me to my room. The room was good it was not that big but was enough for one person.

Room was clean as well as the bathroom. The transportation from this place is very easy and simple.

I am coming Brisbane again in December and definitely I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Manager at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi. We are so glad to hear that you will stay with us again. This is perhaps the biggest compliment of all that you would choose us to stay with us again out of the so many places to stay in Brisbane. Look forward to seeing you in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were looking for a place that was clean, close to the airport and cheap - this motel ticked all boxes! We stayed there one night and were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They were very helpful and even recommended a nice place to have dinner, which was only a 3 minute walk away. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and different shops very close by.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kekito5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Manager at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes the resounding feedback we have received from our clientele since taking over some 3 months ago is that they really enjoy how close the motel is from so many great restaurants, take-aways and cafes. And yes if you want to go the City, South Bank, Gold or Sunshine Coast or anywhere nearby the bus stop and train station is at our front door which makes it super convenient for people especially if they fly into the airport and don't have a car to get around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Handy location to restaurants and markets. Steve was very helpful, room clean, bed comfy. Was so excited to have a teapot! Can't beat a cuppa from a pot! Bit of road traffic but that's to be expected given the location. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Manager at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to having you come stay with again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
1.3 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#92 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#36 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#86 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
#136 of 162 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport 85 Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Clayfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Clayfield Motel

Property: Airport Clayfield Motel
Address: 772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Clayfield Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Clayfield Motel is located within a 5 min drive from Brisbane Airport and 10 mins from the city centre. We are conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to many award winning restaurants, fast food outlets and takeaways, (approximately 25 establishments to choose from), not to mention the Clayfield Tavern. Buses and Trains depart from our doorstep, linking us with the city centre, the Entertainment Centre, Showgrounds, Suncorp Stadium, Southbank, and Race Tracks, all being within 10-15 mins. The DFO and Toombul shopping centre are less than a 5 mins drive, and are conveniently located between the motel and the airport, perfect for a quick shop before your flight. A free shuttle bus runs from the DFO complex to the domestic and international terminals making it even easier to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Airport Clayfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Clayfield Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing