We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good campsites for trailers - terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisbane Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

we camped in a powered site with our camper trailer whilst travelling around queensland.
good points:
* large maintained grassed sites with power and water access
* sites are up the back of the park so you have the quietest area in the park whereas most cabins are towards the main road.
* easy checkin and checkout
* cheapest dryers we came across $2/load and were industrial ones that really did dry everything properly
worse points:
* restaurant has the most rude and horrible staff we encountered on our whole holiday - DO NOT EAT THERE
* toilet blocks are situated amongst the cabins that have their own en suits and are a bit of a walk to get to.
* park does not really accommodate for children under 5 - a lot of the activities are for older kids

we would stay here again but will Never eat at the restaurant, and it is for this reason that the rating has had to be lowered to Average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisHolidayVillage, General Manager at Brisbane Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write a review!

We are glad to hear you were pleased with the location and surroundings of your site as our groundsmen work hard to ensure our sites are well maintained at all times. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the peace and quiet our sites provide as we know how important this is to caravanning/camping guests.

We are happy you were able to wash and dry your clothes for a reasonable price, and that you liked our machines, and your comment regarding the ease of the check-in/check-out process has been passed on to our reception staff.

In regards to your experience at Lagoona Resort Restaurant, we are terribly sorry to hear the customer service there was lacking and that this has influenced your stay significantly. We would like to apologise for this inconvenience and assure you that your feedback will definitely be passed on to management of the restaurant.

Thank you kindly again for your review, and we hope you do decide to join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Brisbane Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 299 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is about the largest we visited on our travels of NSW and QLD we think. Mainly cabins/units and very little in the way of camping sites. Unfortunately our site was not very level at all, disappointing. Facilities were excellent tho. Shower blocks looked very new and were clean and tidy. Internet available but very slow at times. Good washing machines but even tho dryers were good, one was making a dreaful noise! I pity the cabins nearby if it was used alot. Walking distance from a large Westfield shopping centre which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us – your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We do indeed have a very large park, 33 acres in total, and even though the majority of our Village consists of cabin accommodation, we do try to accommodate for caravaners and campers as best we can. In total we have 56 caravan sites and around 20 camp sites in the Village, most of them located away from the cabin areas as the majority of caravanners and campers prefer it that way, and 5 amenity blocks and laundries spread throughout the Village.

We are sorry to hear your site was not level. We hope you have informed our Reception team of this issue during your stay as that way our maintenance team can attend to this problem. If you have not reported this, would you please be able to send us an email (sales@brisbaneholidayvillage.com.au) to inform us of the site number? Your assistance would be much appreciated, especially by the guests staying on that same site after your visit.

As the washing machines and dryers are used at high frequency and certain guests can sometimes, unfortunately, mis-use or accidently damage these facilities, our maintenance crew regularly check on this equipment to ensure it still functions adequately. Again, we hope you have reported the noisy dryer to our Reception team and if not, I would like to ask of you to email the amenity block number to us as well, please.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our Village amenities and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and tidiness of the bathrooms.

We hope you enjoy your further travels and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

The team at Brisbane Holiday Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights with friends at the Brisbane Holiday Village. We were in a caravan and our friends in tent. We arrived early and we were reception accommodated us. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean. We spent most of our time exploring Brisbane and not too much time at the park. The children were disappointed it rained so much and didn't have a chance to play put put golf. Upon leaving, we were nearly 40minutes late due to packing down in the heavy rain and we were offered towels to dry off, hot coffee and a place to relax and get warm before our departure. Very friendly and hospitable. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QldKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Firstly, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

Great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stop over at our Village and that our Reception Team could be of assistance upon check out with some towels and hot drinks. In these instances we are pleased we have our Guest Lounge to offer, a facility we never had before we had the new office.

The weather has not been the best for the past week and it’s unfortunate to hear that you spend most of your time in Brisbane in the rain. We hope you will not hold this against our beautiful city and that you will return in the future. :-)

Thanks again and happy travels!

Kind regards,

The Team at Brisbane Holiday Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

what can i say - I have been travelling to Brisbane steadily now for about a month and at every chance I get, I stay here. The people are lovely, the accomodation is brilliant and you have all you need. The restaurant on site - is fantastic - Great people who make you feel welcome and my mouth is watering just thinking about the food.
Highly recommended and a big thankyou to Gary at the restaurant for cooking fo rme daily and having my lunch ready for work in the mornings :)
Looking forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we will certainly pass your praises onto Gary and his staff!

Gary has only recently joined the Brisbane Holiday Village ‘family’ as the new owner of Lagoona Restaurant and he has been welcomed with open arms by our guests, which is great to see. He’s an amazing chef so we can imagine you had the best lunches and dinners during your stay. It has been a real blessing to find someone with his enthusiasm and drive to take over the running of the restaurant and we, and especially our guests, are lucky to have him.

Thanks again Nat for looking us up on TripAdvisor and sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again next week.

Kind regards,

The Team at Brisbane Holiday Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We went in aug and it was quite quiet. Not that much to do for kids but the accom was outstanding! Modern and big enough! All you would need in for a holiday ! Brilliant and staff were very helpful and kind! No complaints at all

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisHolidayVillage, General Manager at Brisbane Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor! Better late then never, we say :-)

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Brisbane Holiday Village in August 2012. From what I can see, you were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade to one of our 5-star Vogue Cabins! They are very spacious and modern, sleeping up to 5, which would have been perfect for your family.

We're sorry to hear that you thought there wasn’t much to do for the kids in our Village. We offer quite an extensive and unique array of facilities - including the two swimming pools, 18 hole mini golf course, 2 playgrounds, tennis court and daily bird feeding - to ensure kids are never bored.

It is great to hear positive feedback about our staff though! Thank you and we will ensure the comments are passed on to them.

We hope all is going well over in the UK and we are looking forward to seeing you back here in Brisbane in the future!

Kind regards from the Team at BHV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The intial period staying at the Village was pleasant and as described and reviewed but it soon became evident that its total foucus is for families and not couples and/or individuals.
The corparate cabin we stayed in was of minimum standard. Out dated and overpriced for what you get, more needs to be done to these units if the family units are anything to go by. We stayed for over a month and the cabin as a whoe wore thin,quickly, in hindsight we would stay for 2 weeks max as we looked for better.
The reception staff seemed bored and dull, with only one or two showing spark or intrest to questions or concerns and god forbid if you go to them with complaints and village issues as the fear of having to leave the confines of the reception strikes them cold.
The laundry is a tad expensive and a dryer we informed the village of twice that was not drying fell on deaf ears or repair as too was faults with the internet. The only good things we found with this place was the Pool and free tennis and of course its location. In the words of one of the reception ladies..."There are other places to stay".... we will in future and in form others to also.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisHolidayVillage, General Manager at Brisbane Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your review.


We would like to start off by offering our sincere apologies for your experience at our Village and the inconvenience this may have caused.


We are terribly sorry you felt that your presence here was not valued. We train our staff to always provide an exceptional level of customer service and we pride ourselves on the positive feedback we generally receive about our employees. Therefore, we are extremely disappointed to hear about your experiences and I would like to assure you that our staff have been asked for an explanation in regards to the issues raised. All of our guests, whether it be holidaying families, corporate guests or short term visitors like yourself, should, and generally always get, exactly the same treatment by our staff.


In regards to the quality of the cabins, we are sorry to hear you felt they were overpriced. The 1 bedroom Corporate cabin you resided in are indeed an older style cabin, however, we do our best to ensure they still offer the comforts of a 'Home away from Home' for our short term guests. We try to keep all of our accommodation competitively priced in comparison to other South Brisbane accommodation providers and our aim is to offer a wide variety of cabins so there is something to suit every budget. We will, however, take your comments on board as we are always looking at ways to improve our cabins to suit everyone’s needs.


As mentioned previously, we were very surprised to receive your comments about our staff 'seeming bored and dull' and having fear of leaving the reception area. We believe our reception team are some of the friendliest around and we are sorry to hear you have experienced otherwise. Our office staff try their best to adhere to all requests and concerns of our guests and in doing so they do have to leave the office from time to time, which is normally not a problem. However, reading your comments and the notes in your reservation, we would like to highlight that at night our staff do have some restrictions. Sometimes we only have 1 female staff member on night shift and in that case, due to safety concerns, they cannot leave Reception unless there is an emergency. Again, our apologies for the inconvenience this might have caused.


In regards to the dryer issues, our maintenance staff have informed me that those complaints had been passed on and were attended to at the time. The dryer in question had been repaired after the first mention of this issue, however, after the second mention an 'out of order' sign was put up as our maintenance staff were awaiting the arrival of a replacement part. There are a lot of kids in the Village that play in and around the amenity blocks on a daily basis and, unfortunately, on a regular basis, we come across the issue of them pulling down signs and notices. This is what we assumed must have happened and it is a very unfortunate it has caused you some disturbance. In order to isolate the inconvenience for our guests in these cases, we have 5 laundry blocks in total, with 4 washing machines and 2 dryers each, located throughout the park to ensure all guests are always able to do their laundry.


We are glad you did enjoy our facilities and our convenient location during your stay.


We sincerely regret the negative experience you have had and we would love to restore your confidence in Brisbane Holiday Village, if you were to visit again, as experiences like yours are definitely not 'common practice' in our business, as you will be able to read from the majority of our other reviews. We strive to provide the best customer service and accommodation to our guests and there is nothing we love more than seeing happy customers and knowing they will return.


Again, our apologies and thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our extented family consisting of five adults and three children recently stayed at the Brisbane Holiday Village.
The Village is located within easy reach of the hospital,which was important to us as we were there due to one of the children having to attend hospital procedures.
For those who don't have a vehicle The village is located very close to public transport and it is also within reasonable access to Theme Parks.
From the second we pulled up at reception we found the staff to be wonderful, they are very friendly and helpful in every way. The cleanliness of the place was really impressive (the house keeping ladies do a fantastic job as do the grounds keepers).
As well as being spotlessly clean the cabins have everything one could possibly need, even a supply of percolated coffee!
We were very impressed with the amenities, which were second to none. Childrens play park, bird feeding area, tennis courts, BBQ facilities and the pool area, all fantastic and again spotlessly clean.
Cafe was great, with an excellent selection of well priced meals. Once again the staff there were so kind and helpful.
Thank you again to all the kind staff, you do a great job.
We highly recommend The Brisbane Holiday Village to everyone and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisHolidayVillage, General Manager at Brisbane Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review!

We loved having your family stay here, even though it was not for the best of reasons.

We are indeed very accessible to hospitals by car or public transport and we are glad you found this convenient too.

I will pass on your kind words to all of the staff, with the customer service representatives, housekeeping ladies, maintenance men and groundsmen all being part of creating a positive Brisbane Holiday Village experience.

The Cosmo Cabins would have been perfect for the larger family and we are glad you enjoyed the percolated coffee too. Brisbane Holiday Village know tea and coffee can sometimes be essential items, especially travelling from long distances and so we always provide these in each cabin to use at your leisure.

It is great to hear you enjoyed all our facilities, with the bird feeding always being very popular with all ages.

I would love to pass on your great comments about the Sunset Lagoon Cafe, but unfortunately they have left us and new owners are taking over on Friday 18th May. This just gives you another excuse to come back and try out the new Lagoona Resort Restaurant’s menu!

We would love to have you back in the future, hopefully for positive reasons to enjoy a relaxing family holiday and take advantage of what we have to offer!

Kind regards from the Team at BHV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
8.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#65 of 168 in Brisbane
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 168 in Brisbane
1,566 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
8.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Holiday Village

Address: 10 Holmead Road | Eight Mile Plains, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $130 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Holiday Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Brisbane Holiday Village is the ideal choice of accommodation for your next stay in Brisbane. Located at Eight Mile Plains, we are only 15 minutes from the CBD and 20 minutes from Dreamworld, Whitewater World and Movie World! Brisbane Holiday Village is one of the most central and certainly the most luxurious holiday/caravan parks in the region. Whether it’s for a business trip, a holiday getaway or you’re relocating; our extensive quality cabins cater to all budgets. They offer spacious, self-contained accommodation with resort style facilities. Unlike other caravan parks, we offer both caravan and camping sites close to the CBD and our landscaped gardens are the perfect place to relax into a tropical holiday. Our accommodation options include: Short term holiday cabins – from budget options to 5-star options Long term cabins and Corporate cabins Extra-large ensuite sites for caravans Standard ensuite sites for caravans Powered sites for caravans Powered camping sites for tents or campervans The most beautiful un-powered tropical camping sites in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing