We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Bird watching

This is an area of farm land and a walk along the Oxley River where people walk, walk their dogs on... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
TravellerFaye
,
Lennox Head, Australia
via mobile
Early morning walk

Great early morning walk (6am) - detour to Pelican Island (8 of the wonderful birds sunning... read more

Reviewed April 17, 2019
tuppym
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 28 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Brisbane
from $56.06
More Info
from $97.41
More Info
from $118.43
More Info
from $258.59
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
4
20
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
20
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching pelican island joggers and dog walkers wonderful birds bbq area few hours leash path escape nature city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Great early morning walk (6am) - detour to Pelican Island (8 of the wonderful birds sunning themselves on a log). Walk took just over an hour (gravel road - no cars - some joggers and dog walkers) bush along creek. We took our portable gas stove and had pancakes for breakfast. The BBQ's had been cleaned but we used our own.Felt like we were well out of the city but in actual fact we were still right in it.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank tuppym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We enjoyed an early start to our bird watching morning and were rewarded by seeing quite a few varieties of birds...if you are staying a few hours, consider taking some food and drink to enjoy under cover when you return to the BBQ area!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Looking for somewhere to go for a walk in the area while on holidays and saw the good reviews for the common so decided to visit. Not sure why it got such good reviews- it is a flat track through farm/scrub. Nothing special. The river is nearby but you can't see it. Ends in an old pine plantation. Very boring. I'm sure there must be more interesting places to walk nearby.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ozi-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Unique grassland and water environment for seeing over 200 species of birds. Some of the highlights are the different finches, rainbow bee-eaters, royal spoonbill, dotterels, stilts, quail, wrens, grassbirds, and large raptor sightings. There's a huge variety of other small birds, honey eaters, whistlers, and native doves.

One star off because the place is earmarked for a major development and already valuable grassland habitat is being removed for student projects which has reduced bird numbers and interfered destroyed many wrens and grassbird nests with live young. We're told the developers might consider putting up an aviary to make up for the loss of bird habitat, lol. This makes the place kind of depressing, seeing so much life and beauty and knowing it will be destroyed shortly.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Car park area is just off Sherwood road adjacent to Oxley Creek. Excellent facilities here for a picnic or family gathering with good shelters, gas bbqs and toilets , as well as well maintained grounds.

There is an easy two and a half km walk along Oxley creek to the Secret Forest - remnants of a bygone hoop pine plantation. It is a pleasant walk on a well maintained gravel track. About halfway, a short deviation of 500m or so goes across the floodplains to some lakes/ waterholes where, if you are lucky, pelicans amongst other birds, may be sighted. I was lucky.

A number of sign boards across the area provide local historical information of some interest.

Not an attraction for out of town visitors but a worthwhile one for locals looking for an easy to get to break from city life for a few hours, or a bit of easy exercise, walking or running the track.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews