We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing resources” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Library Of Queensland

State Library Of Queensland
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.15*
and up
Brisbane Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #11 of 338 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing resources”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fascinating collections. Loved the photographic collection of early days in Queensland. Very helpful staff for genealogy. A pretty spot on the Brisbane River

Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    142
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
461 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Lots to read here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hey, it is a well organised library, and has a good coffee shop and a cafes. Nothing wrong with that. Is easily accessible and offers a quiet refuge in a busy city. Collections are just OK.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best cultural venues in Brisbane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The State Library is a must if you like to peruse collections and find some gems. They often have very interesting and well curated exhibitions from the collection as well. One thing that recently I found very annoying about the Library was that I attended a 5 day workshop and the organisation was awful! I did not expect that from such a great cultural institution.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slq_12, Manager Visitor Services at State Library Of Queensland, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed discovering State Library. I would like to clarify that the State Library venues are available for hire by corporate and community groups, who organise the running of their own event. I hope you will continue to visit State Library and utilise all that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

One of the most beautiful libraries around - certainly not in the classic medieval sense of endless libraries in a church like setting - rather, this is a happening place imbued with innovation.

Faces the river.

Staff are outstanding.

Congratulations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for Historical Research”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved the book shop, helpful staff, great assistance. Found the rare book I was looking for and was able to read it. Good stuff.

Helpful?
Thank Mumsie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Library Of Queensland also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to State Library Of Queensland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing