We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Ranked #82 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

i had a fantastic experience staying at the bowen terrace, i arrived just before 7pm tired from a long flight to find my room number posted on the wall so i could go straight in and make myself comfortable. the shared facilities are very clean and was so surprised to see the bathroom cleaned every morning before i showered. bowen terrace is close to many small bars and a beautiful French patisserie down the road. i suggest hiring a bike and having a ride around the streets as its a beautiful neighbourhood.

thank you for a lovely stay and will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronique b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Clean, well supplied, pleasant helpful staff. Bad luck for us for two nights a really heavy snorer must have had his bed head next to ours separated only by the wall. It didnt ruin the stay: you just have to take some unexpected lumps. I'd stay again - probably will.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Bowen Terrace. We found the location to be in easy walking distance to groceries, restaurants and the CBD. The neighborhood was lovely and we enjoyed walking around. The facilities at Bowen were nice for a small family. The common area and the kitchen allowed one of us to get up and get breakfast with our daughter while the other slept in. This is also close to a City Cat ferry stop so it is easy to walk to the ferry to see the city that way. The facility seemed quite clean to me and the staff friendly and helpful. We also had the very first room as you come in the building and other than hearing some street noise, we were not disturbed by sound from the front office. Be aware the walls are thin so you will hear some noise from other guest and the street. Also, it was cool when we stayed and the rooms do not have individual climate control. However, plenty of blankets were provided so we were quite cosy to sleep. I would stay here again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbpetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place has good facilities, is kept nice and clean, and has a friendly and helpful caretaker. Best of all is the location. New Farm is a very attractive inner-city suburb with many great restaurants and cafes. The city centre, Fortitude Valley, and New Farm park are all within comfortable walking distance. Public transport is also easy to access and there is free on-street parking available. Just be aware that, like most wooden buildings of this vintage in Brisbane, there is poor noise insulation, so if you need quite to sleep, bring some ear plugs. Good value for those on a budget. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here while working on the edge of the Brisbane CBD (10 minute walk down the river away). I travel on business, but I like to watch my expenses. For double room (admittedly with a shared bathroom) I was happy with the price I paid. I like to self cater so there was a good shared kitchen available. My only complaint was the noise from the nearby road at night. Would probably have been better on the other side of the property. The building is a lovely heritage property and is a welcome change from hotels for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Located in New Farm, which is about a 20 min walk to China Town (Fortitude Valley) or a 30 minute walk to the CBD. You can also catch a bus to the city (a bus stop is just about 100 meters from the reception) but I prefer walking because I just love the view of the Brisbane CBD/Story Bridge.

I had a Queen room and it was spacious. Inside the room there was a free standing metal wardrobe, a container of cups/plates, a fan on the ceiling, a small TV which only had 2 channels, a dressing table and a small fridge. The ensuite bathroom was facing the street so I didn't feel comfortable opening the blinds. There is a big brown stain on my blanket but that didn't bother me. Even though I knew I was in a safe neighbourhood, I found it a bit annoying with the door lock - it just didn't seem very secure to me. The walls were thin. I could hear a lot of people walking/talking (I am actually a little deaf so listen to the deaf guy). The free complimentary internet was only available for 2 hours or 200 Megabites per day, which wasn't enough for me so I ended up paying for more data online. The staff were very helpful and friendly but the reception area closes fairly early every day. I didn't need to use the shared shower/bathroom, but it looked rather private and clean.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Bowen Terrace. Would I stay there again? Mmmmmm... it was just a little pricy otherwise I would.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Nice little place. A little bit out of town if you really want to be close to the shops etc, but an authentic old Queensland property. Front desk very helpful and rooms homely and well catered. As mentioned in previous reviews this is an old property so occasionally you can hear a little more of the world out there than you would in a high rise place in town. But that's part of it's charm in a way and unless you are a really bad sleeper shouldn't be an issue.

Good shower pressure (something you don't always get in 5 star places!) and local area has some goosd restaurants etc. 10 min walk to Fortitude Valley station which connects to most things.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more for your own room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbankos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#111 of 168 in Brisbane
145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#99 of 168 in Brisbane
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#142 of 168 in Brisbane
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#53 of 168 in Brisbane
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
3.0 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#84 of 168 in Brisbane
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen Terrace International Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Terrace International Accommodation

Address: 365 Bowen Tce | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $26 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen Terrace International Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowen Terrace Accommodation provides affordable and friendly accommodation for travellers and visitors from all over the world. Family owned and operated, Bowen Terrace Accommodation will provide you with that "home away from home" feel in a welcoming and hospitable atmosphere. The style of the house is known as a 'Queenslander' and reflects unique Australian heritage. It features elevated structure with comfortable bedrooms off the long hallway, front and back veranda's, and traditional architecture that allows to experience a part of the typical Queensland lifestyle. When you're relaxing out on the back deck on a warm summer's evening, listening to the mangos drop from the tree onto the roof, you'll see just how laid-back this city can be. Yet you are just minutes from the city lights that illuminate the beautiful Brisbane skyline as well the vibrant Fortitude Valley entertainment area and a host of some of Brisbane's best cafes are along nearby Brunswick Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowen Terrace International Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Terrace International Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing