We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Ranked #76 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located approximately 5 min taxi ride to city centre and a close walk to the city ferry. Staff were excellent, v friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and would definitely recommend to eat here before heading out for the day. Room was basic but v comfortable with kitchenette in room. I'd definitely stay here again if I was visiting the area again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 202 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while our daughter was in hospital for the past month. Maria really went above and beyond to accommodate us when we had to keep extending our stay. I can honestly say I have never met a more genuine, friendly and helpful couple. All the staff at the hotel were the same. The restaurant was amazing, the chef spoke to all the guests dining in the restaurant. Paul and Maria cooked an amazing breakfast, the french toast was delicious, certainly puts other restaurants to shame! I would come back just for the french toast! The room was spacious and we couldnt hear any traffic, it was in a perfect location with iga across the road.Having a bad back I usually dont sleep well in motels, but the bed was extremely comfortable! I highly recommend staying here and we are very thankful to Maria for her genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsimbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBrisbane, Manager at Wellington Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Wow, thank you so much for such warm praise. We always try to go above and beyond in our service delivery and it is great to see it is really appreciated.
The french toast is my favourite breakfast treat - it's so fresh and delicious and decadent.
We are delighted you found us clean, comfortable & quiet and appreciated the free secure underground parking - the free wifi is also very popular.
We hope your daughter is progressing well and we hope to see you again - the french toast beckons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We are from country North Queensland and therefore didn't know how to get from A to B in Brisbane without assistance. Paul at the front desk was exceptional in helping us to link up with all the public transport. He printed out timetables and maps and we were able to go where we had to confidently.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gloria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a Saturday night. The room was clean, spacious and very quite. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday morning and it was excellent.

The location is very good.It is only a five minute walk to the ferry into the centre of Brisbane. There is a grocery store a couple of minutes walk.

We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get one of the city view rooms. There are at the rear of the hotel and away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights recently and really appreciated and enjoyed the service which reminded me of a small bed and breakfast. Sharon, Jenny, and Alex (the Chef) were a pleasure to talk with and provided me with great information of the area, as well as excellent coffee and a fantastic steak meal Alex created for me one night. Kudos, and thank you again for a wonderful stay! Hope to be back before the end of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at The Wellington Apartment Hotel and enjoyed our stay. The property is older but has been maintained. When a friend (local Brisbane resident) heard we planned on staying at Kangaroo Point he cautioned against it, and I can see why. To the south, the area is, well, much more rustic. But The Wellington stands on the edge of that. The property is nicely maintained and the area from there northward to the river is very upscale.

Staying on Kangaroo Point does give you a very nicely located situation without being *in* the densely crowded downtown area ... and without the downtown rates.

The staff were absolutely fabulous. Friendly, down home, very easy to work with. The included restaurant ("Boots", it is called) was spectacular. The chef came out to chat with us, the waitress went above and beyond, and the food was extremely good. It's a little expensive, but not out of line with what one expects to pay in a hotel restaurant. And it was nearly private dining each meal.

While the room is in good shape, over the years it seems renovating has a cost. There is a distinct step (2 cm) from the room into the bath, and another one from the room onto the balcony. It's a small thing, but takes a little getting used to.

There is a ferry landing at Mowbray Park which is a convenient 350 yard walk from the hotel. We were mis-informed one could catch the free City Hopper ferry service there; in fact that ferry does not stop at that location. The convenient City Cat ferry does call there every fifteen minutes and provides excellent service all over the Brisbane River. Be prepared however: only cash is accepted for your fare.

With free under cover car parking, free wi-fi access, and such a friendly staff, I would be pleased to stay at The Wellington again.

Room Tip: We booked a balcony room. The room was on the ground floor and the "balcony" was a seven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilr0ywashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked into this hotel after reading about the location (Kangaroo Point), to stay whilst visiting our children in Queensland.

Upon arrival, we parked in the driveway and my wife went in to see if we checked in first or parked - 15 minutes later I turned off the engine and went in to find her. She was still waiting for a staff memeber to appear and serve her.

We first noticed that the restaurant and bar were closed for the Christmas period (something not advised when we booked) and had the wonderful option of visiting the "pub" across the road and bill it ot our room.

We only stayed 3 nights, but at no time was the room serviced - no clean towels or even a tidy up. The room was as basic as they come and the bed was probably one of the worst we have slept in.

The hotel was almost deserted and it was quite a depressing stay. The view from our balcony is shown in the photos - except for the fantastic lightening shot !!

Room Tip: Check on what "features" are actually open....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBrisbane, Manager at Wellington Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Gary,

We are so sorry we disappointed you for your stay at The Wellington. For a Brisbane hotel with primarily corporate guests the holiday season is extremely quiet and an opportunity for us to allow our staff to enjoy a holiday. Consequently our housekeeping department and restaurant close for a period over this time. Any quests in Brisbane over this period are generally visiting friends and family and prefer a discount over services.

Your booking was for a NO HOUSEKEEPING - DISCOUNT PACKAGE of our hotel rooms (smallest rooms) not our standard queen studios. The no housekeeping discount was discussed at booking and confirmed via email. It would also have been reiterated at check-in to ensure complete understanding of the discount package you purchased. However we would certainly have provided any housekeeping had you requested it from the front desk. The holiday signage invited our very few guests to ask reception for ANY needs and we would have delivered.

We are a small independent family run business who pride ourselves on going above and beyond with our service delivery, as testified by other reviewers, so we are very disappointed to have disappointed you. We hope you will return to The Wellington outside of the Christmas holiday period, when we are fully operational with our fantastic restaurant and full service housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#113 of 169 in Brisbane
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#38 of 169 in Brisbane
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#106 of 169 in Brisbane
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#122 of 169 in Brisbane
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
1.2 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#48 of 169 in Brisbane
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Apartment Hotel

Address: 192 Wellington Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $96 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellington Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington Apartment Hotel is a self-rated 4 star Hotel located in Kangaroo Point, East Brisbane. With Public Transport just minutes away you can leave your car in our secure car park and explore our beautiful City easily. We even have our own tour we recommend using the City Cat. Traveling along the Brisbane River - what better way to take in the sights? No driving - just relaxing! Great for tourists, families and business travellers our spacious studios have all you need for a comfortable stay whether overnight, weekly or longer. Our Queen Studio Apartments offer a Queen Bed with optional use of a sofa bed, shower over bath, kitchenette with 2 stove cook-top, fridge, and microwave and all cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Our Hotel rooms offer King or Twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities and a walk-in shower. We also have 2 bedroom interconnecting rooms that can sleep up to 8 - perfect for families and groups. All apartments have free WiFi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fully stocked mini bar and access to guest laundry and the outdoor pool. Each room has reverse cycle air conditioning, ceiling fan and large sliding doors onto your own courtyard or balcony - some with beautiful views of the City (perfect for River fire and New Year). Relax in the Lounge Bar and dine in at our Restaurant 'Boots' for Breakfast and Dinner. Our freshly prepared meals will not disappoint! Our friendly, helpful staff are here for you and can't wait for you to make The Wellington Apartment Hotel your 'Home away from home' Call us direct for our best rates and package deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing