We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Wesley Hosoital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Ranked #136 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very handy if you need to be near Wesley Hospital. Accommodation is adequate and comfortable. Free parking is good and easy access from city. No meals in house other than breakfast packs. Great meals at the Regatta hotel if walking and Toowong Shopping Centre is within walking distance if making your own meals. We would stay again when returning to the Wesley Hospital.
Be warned the walk to the Hospital is up a very steep hill, a we have a wheelchair, the alternative was to head up Corrination Drive then cut through the park to the rear of hospital and use the carpark lift.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

The building is a lttle tired, but it has a good position, especially if you are tie d to the Wesley Hospital. The Regatta Hotel is a short walk away and the Auchenflower/Milton restaurants are nearby. Good views of the river traffic, free secure underbuilding parkingand WiFi. Traffic noise from Coronation Drive was a problem for the first night but seemed to fade the longer we stayed.
Good value for money and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Recommended.

Room Tip: Riverside apartments have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandalf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited for a couple of days earlier this month in a three week tour of eastern Australia. Firstly the positives - there is free car parking and wifi, which we found very valuable. The property was also clean and tidy and we had a lovely view of the river.

The negatives were, however, frustrating because these apartments could be so much better. I gather the property is popular with visitors to the adjoining hospital and perhaps that is why we felt that it had a hospital atmosphere, with drab furnishings and colours. We didn't think that the green chairs and paintwork worked with the 'new' brown carpet and red ochre settee. Indeed the chairs and beds looked as if they had been purchased as part of a hospital job lot. There was also a 'hospital smell' in the corridors, but if it was disinfectant, that is no bad thing. Our view has generally been that you don't spend much time in a room, so the decor is maybe not so important. The furnishings do look to have been assembled on the cheap and this leads us to the main downsides.

We met one of the proprieters on check-in and she seemed a nice lady, however it did feel a bit like being at school as we looked around the apartment. Notices liberally placed around the apartment and especially on appliances were the kind of 'don't do this' or 'do that and it will cost you this' signs that are hardly welcoming. They informed of charges of $30 for unclean dishes, $200 'refreshment charge for smokers, and a warning that if the fire brigade were called out (bizarrely), the cost would be $1020. I have never seen such signs in any other apartment. I have attached photos of these.

Would we return or recommend the apartments? No, we just felt that the place was too depressing and a little disconnected from the centre. I suspect that the private owners do not have the resources to improve, which is understandable in the current climate. However, decent investment could transform the apartments. For us, though, it was the worst accommodation we stayed in throught our visit to Australia and, unfortunately, every other place got compared with 'the Chaseley'.

I hope it works out for the owners, but I would recommend that if they get an interior designer, good beds and furniture, they could be on a winner. Sadly, it didnt reach that level for us the way it is at the moment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The apartment was fairly average but spacious and clean. TV was old but had some foxtel channel, internet worked well, strong connection and didnt drop out and was free however you were asked to be consious of your usage amount. I was given a nice room with a view and the windows were thick so didnt have a problem with noise. Kitchen was stocked and clean, the bathroom was very clean and spacious and included a washer and dryer. Main problem was that it had no opening windows so might not be great for a long term stay but the airconditioning worked however only in the living room. The staff were not that friendly and the housekeeping staff took away my do not disturb sign which i thought was very rude.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had a 7 week stay in a one bed apartment while I had treatment at the Wesley Hospital. The apartment was very comfortable with great views over the river. Such a great location and fully self contained with every convenience.i would love to recommend this accommodation to anyone who has to have an extended stay for hospital treatment. It is so convenient for the hospital but also to local shops and for transport into the city.
The bonus is the on site managers Elizabeth and Marcus who make sure that their guests are so well taken care of .
Highly recommended

Room Tip: A one bed apartment overlooking the river is great value and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very comfortable and convenient. We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, with family and 2 nights in 1 bedroom. Both good but the 2 br was noisy because it overlooked Coronation Drive on a Saturday evening, which was extra noisy. The 1 br had noise reduction double glazing and that was fine. We would stay there again as it is convenient to the city and the nearby suburb where our son lives. We enjoyed travelling on the City Cat to Southbank which is only 2 stops.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a 1 br apartment with soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here's for two separate nights during August, the location is fantastic, right on the river. The rooms are reasonable, comfortable and fairly well set up for a short stay with the ability to self-cater. There is a very good selection of breakfast packs and microwave meals at reception. There are many restaurants in the area as well as the shopping village close by in Toowong. The managers are very nice and overall it was a comfortable place to stay. Would I stay again, perhaps as a business traveller but unfortunately probably not as a leisure traveller; the noise factor from Corotation Drive is just too loud for me, I slept in the second bedroom, which in my opinion, seemed a bit noisier than the main bedroom. I realised the location means you will be close to a main road and I live in a big city so would not regard myself as overly sensitive to road so it is a real shame. Otherwise it was a good stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank alybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#90 of 168 in Brisbane
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#78 of 168 in Brisbane
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis Apartments
The Oasis Apartments
#63 of 139 in Brisbane
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Founda Gardens Apartments
Founda Gardens Apartments
#73 of 139 in Brisbane
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#75 of 168 in Brisbane
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairthorpe Apartments
Fairthorpe Apartments
#56 of 139 in Brisbane
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chasely Apartments Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chasely Apartments Brisbane

Address: 435 Coronation Dr | Auchenflower, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chasely Apartments Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chasely Apartments Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing