We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Arrived at the Mantra around 11am following a nighttime flight from Hong Kong and was advised on check in that our room wasnt ready yet. Not the best start as all we wanted to do was freshen up. Finally checked in around 2ish. Room was on third floor and didnt have the best of views however the room was clean and bed comfortable. A bit bland with the colour scheme and hallways dull. However, the hotel is situated on Southbank which has the man-made beach, an array of good restaurants and lively bars and is only a short walk over the bridge to the centre of town. There is a pool at the hotel albeit not very wide and only one person at a time could probably use it so dont bother and head to the beach instead.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2008

Attended a wedding in Brisbane so stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.
Rooms comfortable and large - no bath however.
Characterless however, one was happy to leave.
Breakfast OK but not memorable.
Handy for the South Bank tourist area.
Would try and find somewhere with more style on another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Now we have stayed at the Mantra South Bank we just wont bother with any other hotels in Brisbane. The location was fabulous, easy to find & easy to get to & from the freeway. Parking is expensive but its the same story everywhere in the CBD. The rooms are fantastic. They are large & modern & quite soundproof. Southbank itself has almost everything one needs & its alive at night with people & entertainment. The walk into the city only takes 15 minutes (at the most). Its a nice safe location which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised by the mantra; for such a large hotel, the staff were attentive and helpful. The rooms were huge, well decorated, with all mod cons and lots of extras. The best part was the bed! Very comfortable – just what I needed for a business stay. I totally appreciated the feather duvet and the heating! The staff were very friendly – which made up for the minor mistakes; the wrong order for breakfast. There was a lap pool on the second floor and a nice bar and restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TipTopTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed here to attend a conference around the corner at the Convention Centre. I had a hotel room on the 4th floor looking onto Grey St. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with a comfortable king size bed. I did not find the front desk staff particularly friendly but they were helpful and efficient when I requested assistance. I had room service dinner once and breakfast once and these were good. I enjoyed the Southbank market on Sunday and the nearby cafes and shops. Walking to the middle of the city took me about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AucklandGopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights to attend a conference at the bit convention centre next door. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, felt very spoilt because work paid. I wouldnt have stayed anywhere near as fancy if i was paying. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful - we tested them a few times by wanting food late at night (but not room service) and they found places as best they could (food places close quite early). Gave good directions and were always very professional. The hotel is lovely but quite impersonal and not a very warm atmosphere which contributes to it feeling as if its targeted at the business traveller. We had the buffet breakfast each morning which was very nice (expensive as hotel breakfasts are). Rooms had great beds (two singles pushed together though) and nice chair, good tv and kitchenette. My bathroom was designed for elderly people or those with disabiltiies, my colleagues bathrooms were not. Great location in Southbank in amongst restaurants, shops and close to the river/beach and weekend markets.
Overall, the hotel was perfect for what i wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bubble24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I stayed here during early July 2008, made studio reservation seven or eight months before actual arrival and paid 150 or some Euro per night for 4 nights (through hotels.com). We arrived at 11.30am, but the room/studio was not ready, that was totally disappointing, as 36 hours of travel from Europe was behind us and I specifically asked for early check-in (official check-out is 10am and check-in 2pm). We waited for appx. 2 hours and finally got a room. The attitude of the staff was not too nice, we wasnt offered any compensation or even a bottle of water... The web page is advertising high speed internet in rooms, but actualy the speed of the internet is not very high, but the prices are totally silly (27 AUD per day!!!, 0.55 per minute). Even in top hotels of the world I paid less!!!! Not to mention that a bottle of water in the room costs 6 AUD, valet parking 25 AUD and so on... Over-pricing deluxe. Member of our party got sick a bit later, so we asked if the reception staff has perhaps a thermometer (a basic first aid tool, probably...), but were told to go to the pharmacy and buy one. In the middle of the night... The rooms are nice though, but one could desire better quality room-cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 169 in Brisbane
2,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 169 in Brisbane
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#58 of 169 in Brisbane
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 169 in Brisbane
1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $109 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing