We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Celebration night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked the Mantra as we were celebrating our son's 21st and the location was perfect. When we booked the hotel on line we requested an early check in at 11.30am, so we could organise the final details for the night. On the morning at 9.00am we phoned to check if we were able to check in at 11.30am and were told to ph back at 10.00am. When we phoned at 10.00am we were on hold for 21 minutes before hanging up. At 10.45am we phoned again as we were leaving and hoping that we would be able to get in early, fortunately we were able to speak to Reservations and they confirmed we could get in early (thank-You). When we got there we decided to take advantage of the Valet parking service ($35), but had to get our own trolley and the porter stood on the footpath and watched us unload our car and proceed to push the trolley into the hotel, before he took over and helped. Our 1st impression at Check In was luke warm, but efficent. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor with City views and was very nice. We decided to have lunch in the restaurant and again the service was luke warm (only 2 tables occupied) and slow, when our waitress brought water to our table, she spilled a considerable amount and left us to wipe it up using our napkins. The food was great which we selected from their Tapa's menu. Overall the Hotel suited our needs, provided a better than adequate service (the morning of our check the service was excellent) and we would consider staying there again if we had another reason to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Greg F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, restaurant and team.

I'm disappointed to hear that you did not receive our usual high standard of service. Weekends can be very busy with majority our guests requesting early checkins for different events they're attending. We love being able to provide this service and I'm glad you were checked in earlier than our 2pm check in time. My apologies you had to wait on an answer for your request.

The team in the restaurant have been briefed on your feedback and are apologetic in regards to the service they gave you and your family.

I truly hope you do choose to stay with us again next time you're in the area.

P.S Happy 21st Birthday to your son!

Kind regards,

Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    578
    191
    56
    28
See reviews for
233
448
60
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Mantra in South Bank, Brisbane so we could relax, see a show and dine out. The first problem we had was that there was nowhere to stop anywhere near the Mantra if the loading zone at the front door is already full. We drove around the block several times, before I finally found another place to park while watching the loading zone where you have to drop your car. There is only valet parking at the Mantra, and it costs $35 per day.
Check-in was quick, cheerful and easy, and the room was of the usual standard for a city hotel; plenty of mould on the grout in the shower and near the basin, and a tap over the handbasin that had a partially blocked filter, which caused the water to shoot in all directions.
There was no free WiFi, and I didn't bother to ask how much they charged to access it. It annoys me that in this day and age, WiFi is not included when you pay over $500 for two nights, with no breakfast or any add-ons.
Apart from that, the hotel was very centrally located, comfortable and enjoyable. Would I go back? Only if Rydges next door was booked out, as it was on this occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muster_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Muster_Boy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and our team.

As you experienced, our valet parking can be very busy, especially on weekends. Our concierge team do their very best to assist all guests with their luggage and park their cars away as efficiently and safely as possible.

This coming month we are refurbishing our rooms and some other common areas. Please be assured our main focus will be on the bathrooms.

WIFI as you pointed out is not complimentary however we have internet kiosks available at no extra cost for our guests to use 24/7.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kindest regards,

Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We decided to just have a break away as lots going on. Check in was very quick and well done. Room was okay but not that clean. Bed very comfortable but doona was too warm for the room. We had the doona up and got to hot needs either a sheet or lighter doona as constantly pulling up and down all night. Very quiet with door shut but how do I keep the door shut for air con when on balcony without setting alarm off? Lots of eateries close by. Found breakfast very basic but well cooked. Coffee was cold which was disappointing as I love a hot latte in the morning. Check out was also very quick and well done. Parking was only $25 for the night. Spa and pool were okay but not warm at all and was a little cool for time of year

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pusskat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Pusskat11,

Thank you for your posting your feedback on our hotel.

We're happy to hear you receieved pleasant and efficient service while staying with us.

Please be advised that we are just about to refurbish all our rooms and a few other areas throughout the hotel.

My apologies regarding the miscommunication with your air conditioning. To save power the air con system will automatically shut down if the door isnt shut tight however no alarm will activate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our new rooms in the future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

As I have to attend a conference at the convention center, thus the mantra south bank was the best choice as it is just adjacent to convention center.
Location is great as every thing is nearby. Good food options on grey street and little Stanley street.
As we arrived earlier thus checkin was not smooth and we have to wait a long before getting our rooms ready.
Room was spacious and with all the required amenities.
Breakfast selection was good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Faisal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Faisal S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Mantra South Bank.
We are very happy to hear that your room was comfortable and had all the amenities you required.
Thank you for your patience on arrival, we always do our very best to have the rooms ready as early as we can for our guests. I'm sure we looked after you and your belongings well while you waited.

We look forward to seeign you back in South Bank again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the Southbank precinct. Plenty of eateries easy walking distance . We had a very basic hotel room on a good deal so was a little concerned when only on 3rd floor. However, the soundproofing is excellent . The room was small but suited our needs of a simple place to rest our head. Breakfast buffet next day was fine. My only concern would be the check in as there simply is not much room out front for your car. We did not have a problem but if a few cars pulled up at same time could be an issue. Perfect for a short overnight stay where the accommodation is secondary to the main event.

Room Tip: Soundproofing is excellent so floor level not critical
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashman181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Flashman181,

Thank you for posting your feedback and comments on our hotel.
We have many different room types to suit all needs here at Mantra South Bank and are hapy you were comfortable in the room you booked.
It can become quite busy out the front for car parking however we always manage the system quite well.
We trust you'll be back here one day soon.

Kindest regards,
Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Decided we needed a break away from the children so i took my wife away for a night out in the city. We decided to stay at Southbank because we also booked into a theatre show on the evening of our stay @ QPAC which is very close to Southbank so decided to stay at the Mantra on Southbank.This was our first ever stay at the Mantra.

We were only there for one night so perhaps not the best way to review a hotel on one nights stay only but i will give it a shot.

First up it should be noted that they only provide valet car parking which comes at an extra cost of $35 per 24hrs. So this was on top of our rate for the evening. There is no complaints about the front desk service we checked in pretty quickly and in no time at all were in our rooms.

Our room was on the 6th floor. It was very clean. We had a single bedroom apartment that had it's own kitchenette which we really didn't take advantage of.

The location is great right in the Southbank precinct which i suspect is one of the reasons why it can probably command a relatively high premium for their rooms. I say this because for the price we paid (via wotif) which was about $AU270.00 for the single bedroom apartment i thought this was a little steep considering for that sort of money you could stay at all of the other majors - like the Marriott, The Stamford, Hilton and Sofitel for that sort of money. I have never really rated the Mantra as equal to those guys.

I suspect the reason they can get this sort of rate is because of their proximity to the Qld Performance Arts Centre, GOMA, Conservatory of Music etc and the fabulous Southbank Parklands. So really you are paying for loctation. The only other hotel i am aware of around these parts is the hotel right next door called - Rydges.

No complaints about the bed or pillows - we had a great night sleep. And there was no noticeable street noise either - which suprised me a bit because the hotel is right on a pretty busy Brisbane Street but we didn't hear any noise when we were asleep with the apartment locked up.

Anyhow if you are after a spacious, clean single bedroom apartment where the service is fantastic in a great location at Southbank in Brisbane this is definitely one you are likely to be seriously considering.

If on the other hand you don't need to stay at Southbank i would be looking at some of the other majors i mentioned earlier for a better hotel experience & value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear jrisles,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our hotel and it's facillites.
Mantra South Bank is definitely a great place to stay to expereince all South Bank has to offer and we're glad you found everything clean and comfortble during your stay.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Watts
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allora, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Recently had a one night stay and found that everything at South Bank was within easy walking distance to the hotel. The hotel was modern and clean. Staff were friendly. Parking was $35 which is reasonable for valet parking. Drinks in the ground floor bar were excessive. $7.00 for a litre beer, same price as the mini bar in the room. We stayed in a studio room with a king bed. The room was on the second floor but there was no street noise which makes for a good night sleep. Will stay again due to location.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 204 and found there was no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Kel2153,

Thank you for posting your review on our hotel and friendly team. Mantra South Bank prides itself on our wonderful staff and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms.

We look forweard to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#38 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing