We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in South Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well located in South Brisbane”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked in here by a university and advised to transfer from airport by train to South Brisbane. A short walk in the winter sun to the lobby, a brisk and friendly check in, and I was unpacking in a large, well appointed room.

The location is excellent and the facilities are fine for business or holiday travel. The staff are unobtrusive but helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ingram10,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We're delighted you found our team members helpful and unobtrusive, our location excellent and your room large and well appointed.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    646
    213
    65
    32
See reviews for
274
510
71
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great location in Brisbane, Southbank is ideal for a holiday and within walking distance or easy city cat ride to the CBD. The area is improving all the time with new places to eat and things to do.
The one bedroom apartment we had was modern and clean, TV in the lounge area and the bedroom, desk available if work is required. However, the apartments feel a bit cold and sparse, the furnishings and decor are not in the luxury bracket and the rooms on the small side. Our apartment was at the rear of the building which backs onto the railway although to be fair the double glazing keeps out most of the noise.
There are a number of extras when you stay here, for example valet parking is the only option at $35 per night and wifi is another $40 for 3 nights so things start to mount up.
On the plus side the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the front, the rear is a railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear WhamBrisbane,

Great feedback thank you, especially about our friendly and helpful team members.

Just to keep you up to date, we are working through a soft refurbishment of our rooms and thus far have completed the following in all our rooms/apartments: new carpet, new Digital TV's, new bedside lighting, new minibars, new linen and toweling and double-glazing of all our urban view rooms and, the best is yet to come with new bedding, new art work, new sofas and occasional chairs! Our Stone restaurant and gymnasium have just been refurbished as well and are looking fabulous. We're not trying to be a luxurious hotel but we are succeeding at being a modern, comfortable, warm and inviting place to stay and I believe we are just that.

Come back and see us soon so you can see some of the changes occurring. Until then, take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arriving on the airport train, I walked down to the hotel, which is well located. The check-in happened as follows:

"I'm here to check in."
"You've already checked in Mr ........"
"No, that's not possible, I've only just arrived." Some hurried typing...
"We seem to have checked someone else into your room, because you're both with the same organisation, Griffith University."
"But I'm not with Griffith University."
"Well we will just check him out, clean the room, and there you can...."
"No, I don't want to wait for that, can you find me another room?" More typing...

I go up to the room, put the card in the door, and find a man in the bed who yelled, and so did I, apologised and ran out of the room. I went back down to the lobby where the flustered staff had already realised the mistake. I asked to speak to the manager and received an apology. I think for this sort of mistake there should be some sort of compensation because I won't be using this hotel again.

Apart from that the room was ok, no bath, bed was comfortable. One window latch was broken so the window did not shut properly, and there was a lot of street noise. The breakfast was average, the coffee from the machine was the worst I have ever drunk, burnt and bitter.

So Mantra Brisbane, unless you do something other than a desperate apology, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room with a man already in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurningLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear TurningLeft,

Thank you for posting your comment regarding your recent stay with us and I apologise that you did not receive our usual fantastic level of service. We have been trying to contact you both during your stay and after you departed to again offer our apologies and to discuss further.

Unfortunately two guests with the same surname was the original source of the problem and our team realised their error too late to stop what occurred.

We will try again to contact you today and we look forward to working through this so that your next stay with us is at its usual high standard.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight as we had a function on in Southbank. Arrived early (12noon), room wasn't ready but staff did our check in, stored our bags and arranged valet parking for our car. We wandered and had some lunch at one of the numerous restaurants & cafes nearby. On our return, our room was ready. We stayed in a studio unit which was adequate for our needs for 1 night. Spacious unit, double glazed windows, huge bed, very comfortable pillows. We were on floor 7 and overlooked the rail line and busy road but didn't hear a thing from outside. Staff were very courteous and were helpful and knowledgable about the area. Checkout was quick and our car was delivered swiftly to us directly outside the lobby. Upon arrival, we were a little confused as to wear to park our car for check in as there is no drive-in bay but there is a 2 minute loading zone on the road directly outside the lobby which is where you are expected to park. Price wise, it was a little overpriced with $35 extra for parking on-top of $200 for a studio unit but for the convenience we absorbed the cost. Free Wifi was not included which overseas visitors would appreciate if paying the price that the Mantra asks. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mantra Southbank.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here during the British Lions tour and this was easily the best of all the hotels we stayed in. The staff were very helpful, rooms were sumptuous and the breakfast set us up for the day ahead. The only niggle was the cost of the wi-fi but against other Australian hotels it was not so bad. Australia in general has got to get used to delivering free wi-fi like the rest of the world..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated at Southbank Brisbane, close to the city but far enough away. Relaxed bar & restaurant with friendly staff. Also close to plenty of other cafes and a variety of other dining options. Good walking and cycling along the river.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

No idea how much this costs as it was booked through a sports tour operator. It was ideally located close to the South Bank, friendly staff throughout, decent bar area but not great for groups of people, good quality breakfast, good size rooms and bathrooms. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 157 in Brisbane
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#111 of 157 in Brisbane
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing