We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Mantra Southbank is in a great location for downtown Brisbane. It is close to the boardwalk, Southbank man-made beach/park, and lots of restaurants and cafes. Despite its excellent location, it only cost us just over $100 for a night's stay. It also has an excellent breakfast included in the price, with loads of fresh fruit, grains, eggs, lattes, etc.! Definitely recommended if staying in Brisbane!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Mrs Parnell,

Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay with us and thank you for recommending us. It is wonderful to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay and that our hard work pays off when we hear lovely comments from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. Until then take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra, Southbank and the first thing we noticed was the parking valet service at an extra $35 per night. After paying $557 per night for a 2 bedroom suite (with breakfast) I thought this was a little expensive.
I requested 2 single beds for the kids room and a king for our room and was a little surprised to find that the main room with en suite, tv etc was the one set up with the two single beds. The room was bland and run down with frayed carpet, and some smudges in the kitchen and bathroom. When it was time for bed we were upset to find that the plumbing from either the adjoining room or upstairs seemed to pass though the wall above the bed head which meant that each shower, flush or running tap was heard very loudly in the bedroom. These noises continued throughout the night in addition to the train tracks nearby meant for a lousy nights sleep. The room was on the 5th floor which meant there was only a view of the roof below which was littered with cigarette butts.

The location is great and breakfast was ok, however as we stayed during the Brisbane International tennis tournament we felt that perhaps the focus was not on all of their clients as we were not asked how our stay was at any time. We travel to Brisbane yearly and would not stay here again as there are less expensive and better options available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear RegOz,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have noted several of your comments and are looking into them now so thank you for letting us know.

Next time you're in Brisbane please give us a call direct and we can discuss a package which includes parking and breakfast.

Until then take care and thank you again.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice one night stay while attending the Brisbane International Tennis. Rooms were spacious, bathroom a little on the small side and extension of the bench top wall -to -wall would provide more room. However , this was a minor detail. Breakfast was fine. Staff were friendly and accommodating, valet parking efficient and concierge prompt and helpful. A great location if you are attending anything in Southbank area

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Bon2005,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback - we really appreciate your comments especially that our team members were friendly and accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were very pleased by this hotel. Huge, comfortable rooms. Good location near to the South Bank restaurants, cafes and shops. A short and pleasant walk to the CBD.

Staff helpful and welcoming, and the breakfast was fine.

The hotel is located near to a main road and railway line - hence light sleepers may want to request a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaySpeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Holidayspeak1,

Thank you for your lovely feedback - especially that our staff were helpful and welcoming and our rooms are comfortable and spacious. It's great to hear that our hard work pays off and our guests are enjoying their stay with us.

Take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best price I could find for 1 person for 2 nights, mid-week was > $250/night. The room was fine, though bland. Noone offered to help me with my luggage at check in. A selling point was the pool/spa, however the spa (hot tub) had apparently been broken for quite a while. I ran into some fellows who lived there and said it had not been heated in 2 years. Other than that, it was a very fine, comfortable hotel, but simply WAY over priced! If I had paid half what I did, I would have been satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frontiernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Frontiernurse,

Thank you for your feedback. When youre coming back to stay with us again, please feel free to call us direct and we'll get the best deal for you - especially if its a weekend.

Just FYI, our pool is heated to 28 degrees and the spa to 36 degrees for the last seven years so the private resident got that one wrong!

Until we see you again, take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came to Brisbane for a wedding on the Gold Coast - stayed with friends Sth Brisbane and then went on to wotif to find a hotel for 3 nights so we could experience pre-Christmas in the CBD area.
It was great that we chose the Mantra hotel - we loved it! Helpful and courteous staff - nothing a bother. The rooms beautifully clean and well supplied with all the little extras (bathroom and kitchen supplies AND replenished every day!)
We loved the view of the bustle of life below us and stood on our balcony and watched the world go by and were so pleased we were on holiday.
Ate in the restaurant two nights and loved that too. A real tonic after working so hard to get away from it all. Didn't get to try the spa or breakfast (went out and sat and watched everyone go to work!!!)
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We will recommend to everyone.
Merry Christmas to you all. We will be back one day.
Denise & David Pearson - The Catlins, South Island, New Zealand

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear NZJess,

Exceptional feedback thank you! Just says it all really.

My team and I are very happy that you found time to relax and watch the world rushing by and that we looked after you well while you enjoyed your time out.

Perhaps next time you stay with us you can watch the world whizzing by from our pool - it has a glass window at the end of it overlooking Grey St and surrounds - good people watching whilst sipping a Cosmopolitan!

Take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my husband who was in Brisbane for business. The room was clean, the bed sufficient and the shower great. Unfortunately our window was right next to the train tracks, so it was a little noisy especially when we opened the window for some non-artificial air (great to have the option of opening a window, though...)! The television was old and its sound and screen was not good. I did not think it was worth buying an in-house movie to watch on such a TV! They charge for their internet, which is a shame I think in our day and age.

The location was truly fantastic. The hotel is located right on the South Bank and all it has to offer in terms of restaurants, a good swim, a relaxed vibe and a river walk. The station with the Airtrain was also within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street, so you do not get the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsChillOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Letschillout,

Thank you for letting my team and I know your feedback from your stay with us.

We agree that our location is fantastic and are disappionted that you felt our hotel was average. We have a great variety of room types including apartments with fantastic city views, a modern very friendly restaurant, great gym, pool and spa. Internet is high speed and very accessible and is free to inhouse guests in our lobby internet kiosk. Our new TV's are scheduled to be installed over the next couple of months so when you come back to stay you can take the time to chill out and watch those movies!

Until we see you again take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 168 in Brisbane
2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 168 in Brisbane
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 168 in Brisbane
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#105 of 168 in Brisbane
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 168 in Brisbane
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $128 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. Maintenance notice Mantra South Bank Brisbane will be undergoing maintenance works on the pool and spa from 8 October until 13 November 2017. During this period the pool and spa will be closed, we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing