We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable beds....hard to park” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“comfortable beds....hard to park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you have read any of my reviews you will have an idea that I am a light sleeper who lugs my high and firm pillow around the world, as these are almost impossible to find in any hotel. I was surprised and delighted with the Mantra Southbank having an unusually good sleep for a hotel. Nice beds, sheets and pillows.

The awkward bit was parking. I drove around the buildings block twice trying to find it, listening to my GPS before realizing it was right under my nose. There is no drive in/out entrance...they just use the street. It is a drop zone only.

If you want to use the hotel parking you have to use their Valet car park service and pay for it. We had two cars for our two bedroom unit making it quite expensive. having said that it was efficient on pick the cars up. Dropping them off meant we had to park around the back and buzz them to come and take the car. Quite a nuisance.....and of course there were no netter options around being Southbank!

The rest of the hotel was what you would expect for an expensive (Australian) hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear SmithersinAU,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We think our beds, pillows and sheets are great too (as are our team) and we receive lots of good comments about them.

With regards to our parking we always ensure we're lower than the surrounding hotels in South Bank and the majority of hotels in the CBD and we park the car for you so we take the difficulty out of parking the car yourself and then lugging your luggage to reception. By parking at the front of our hotel at our drop off zone we can help unload your gear, take you into our hotel for your check-in and then park the car for you. We park all our guests cars so we have it down to a fine art. Next time you wish to stay with us, give us a call direct especially if you need parking for 2 cars and we can discuss the best deal for you.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    579
    192
    57
    28
See reviews for
233
449
60
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Southbank Mantra. The room was impeccably clean and of a good size. It is in a great location and the staff were efficient. It seems to have a bit of a problem deciding if it is a low key motel or quality apartment. It could easily be a top quality stay but the fridge was full of those tacky overpriced beers and chocolates and the bathroom didn't have a separate shower. The internet was extremely expensive as was the parking. I think we would would probably look for somewhere else next time we visit Brisbane only because of the parking, internet and expense. Also - the TVs were extremely tiny, and it didn't seem to have any digital channels? Maybe they want you to buy their expensive in-house movies.

Room Tip: Maybe check out Rydges next door for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My current impression of the Mantra (South Bank) in Brisbane is rather disappointing.

You would believe that broadband internet access (as indicated on the website) comes with the room. No it does not. They charge 25$ per day for internet access.

WHEN DO HOTELS FINALLY REALIZE THAT BROADBAND INTERNET IS AS MUCH AN INFRASTRUCTURE TO BE PROVIDED AS A WATER TOILET - HOTELS HAVE REALIZED THAT THE LATTER IS AND DO NOT CHARGE FOR FLUSHING.

If you as an international traveller believe that the Mantra can provide adapters to fit your international plugs into the Australian sockets. Nope. The front desk refers you to the neighboring hotel Rydges where you can BUY an adapter.

NEXT TIME I'LL BOOK A ROOM THERE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franz Josef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Franz Josef K,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a better stay due to our Wi-Fi fees. Australia in general is lagging behind the rest of the world in regards to providing free internet however we don't think it will take too much longer for third party providers to supply hotels with a much better deal for themselves and their guests.

My apologies with regards to your experience with an international adaptor. I am concerned that we were unable to provide you with an international adaptor when you requested one as we have a very large supply of these for our guests and the option either to borrow one (with a deposit that is returned when you return the adaptor) or guests can buy an adaptor to keep for themselves.

Thanks again for your feedback and happy travels.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed at the Mantra in June 2012 for 5 nights. Great location situated along Brisbanes South Bank area. Great atmosphere for mixing with the locals while enjoying a fabulous dinner or afternoon drink. The hotel staff were fantastic. We arrived 7am and our rooom wasn't ready till 2pm. They looked after our bags and said they would call as soon as the room was ready. We took the opportunity to walk into the city about 15 minutes on foot.
The hotel is also in walking distant to the GABBA which was one of the reasons going to Brisbane to watch the footy. If you are a member to a club join the German Club across the road from GABBA friendly staff and a cold beer before the game. Also fab German food. Also if you go catch the river ferries to see the Brisbane sights.

Room Tip: These our self contained apartments which when I travel this is what I prefer. More spacious and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knox-j-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Knox-j-s,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found our hotel staff fantastic and you loved our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again - maybe for another footy game at the GABBA!

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This would have to be the most souless, thoughtless hotel that I have ever stayed in. Sure as part of the transaction you get a room with a bed and door that locks, but otherwise the staff at Mantra lack any awareness that they are in the business of providing service/experience. It reeks of timeless/motionless (except for the passing trains)/uninspired Brisbane - mostly young, inexperienced, disengaged staff going about their routines without any thought for the customer. The good old, 'give us your money, now go get stuffed' blinkered vibe.

Imagine pulling into some remote roadside, plain brick motel with a flashing neon sign out front reading "Vacancy - $35 per night". In most cases, you would not expect much of anything by way of service or comity at such a place, would you? Well, do not let the inner-city location, the exorbitant nightly rates (many times more than $35) or oh-so-now corporate name ("Mantra") fool you. This place is nothing more than a provider of basic shelter from the elements - much like a roadside motel. Though, unlike a roadside motel, Mantra is probably even noiser given the rumbling trains that seem to pass at all hours of the night.

My advice - avoid Mantra mediocrity and go for a real brandname hotel and pay a bit or a lot more, or go downstream for shelter in a non-brandname hotel to get better value.

Room Tip: Before providing your credit card details, beg/plead with the receptionist for the bed type that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piouscant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Piouscant,

Thank you for your feedback. It's a great shame that you did not enjoy your stay. We receive many positive guest comments via Trip Advisor, verbally and via our internal guest questionnaires so I am at a loss as to your feedback about our young, inexperienced staff amongst other points.

If you are available, please give me a call to discuss your feedback as I would welcome more information as to why you found your stay so underwhelming.

Kind regards
Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Efficient check-in. Spacious and tidy room. Bit of a rumble occasionally late at night and early in the morning as trains passed to the rear of the hotel. The British boy band "One Direction" were holding a concert in the facility near the hotel and I could hear the screaming girls through closed windows! But overall, not a big problem. Location is good for stepping out to dine in the plentiful restaurants in the Southbank area. The hotel has an outdoor spa and a very nice lap pool, one end of which is plated glass that is initially a bit disconcerting as you head towards the end and gaze out through the goggles to the street two levels below. A cheap breakfast is available from the cafe just outside the hotel entrance. Overall, a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel catch the noise of passing trains and any concerts that are bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gahmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Gavin S,

Thank you for your feedback! It's very nice to know that you enjoyed staying with us and that you weren't trampled by thousands of screaming girls (both young and old) here to see One Direction.

We hope you had a safe journey home to Adelaide and hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

First the good points. The hotel is situated on the South Bank in Brisbane close to all the amenities. The room was an excellent size with a small kitchenette. The bathroom was small but adequate. The room was very well decorated and very clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The concierge staff are very helpful.

However.
There is no business centre or internet access in the hotel. Not everybody has a laptop.

The bad points relate to check out. As we were flying back late evening to the UK I enquired about keeping my room on for a few hours but was quoted unbelievable rates and reception were not even aware of the correct check out time. On the TV in the room it clearly states 11am, reception was adamant it was 10am. They then wanted 50 Aussie Dollars per hour to keep the room. Come on Mantra lets have more consideration for your international visitors this is a rip off. On a recent visit to Spain they only wanted 45 Euros to keep the room for 6 hours.
This is a nice hotel but more effort should be made to help vistors to your country in relation to room retention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#37 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing