We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for South Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Large bedrooms but those looking out the back look over railway line and bus road to university and conference centre.
Very comfortable, clean accommodation just a stone’s throw from the South Bank riverside with swimming lagoon, walkways, eateries and bars.
Breakfast was included with the room cost which provided a great start to the day.
For free unlimited wifi/computer access, the state library is only 5 minutes walk away.
Overall, the Mantra is in a great location, with spacious bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
There are newer reviews for Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,606 - 1,612 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Staying in town for a conference and so the cheapest price was 300 night. It did include breakfast but was looking more from the rooms. They are very functional as rooms go but when spending a little extra, one might expect a little more special touches.
The location is the key reason to stay here and will stay again but hoping they can up their game.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesunsetsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Have stayed at the Mantra on many occasions and never fail to enjoy the location of Southbank. Both the rooms and studio apartments are of good size although ask for a room overlooking Grey Street / river rather the railway line. On many nights you will think the trains are going straight through your room from midnight until 5 am.
Would appreciate a change in in-room menu but thats a minor issue when there are so many restaurants across the road.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Grey Street are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was recently and we're very happy that you keep returning to stay with us.

The new room service menu and improved minibar is on it's way! Just waiting on the new menu covers to arrive!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Unpleasant circumstances can't be controlled but they can be dealt with in different ways and some effort to ensure a contingency plan could be made. I'm afraid that Mantra South Bank failed this test. I note that most of the recent reviews are generally good so I imagine in the average week with a bit of luck, the stay will be fine.

So yes we were unlucky. It was busy and we paid close to full price. The weather was terrible but we presumed that the dripping noise which kept my collegue up the first night was just airconditioning outside or something. The next morning I found some water round the window and realised there must be a leak and informed the main desk. The area round the window was dried but I can only assume to effort to sort the problem was made.

The next night didn't rain so there was no issue but by the late afternoon before the 3rd night, it became apparent, it wasn't just a leak but a major flow of water into our room from the rain. So we asked for another room. So a technician came and tried to plug the hole with a towel which was soaked within 30 mins and then made the dripping worse. Then we asked for another room. Oh we don't have any. Are you serious? But we can have a free breakfast and a bit off the room.

Finally a miraculous room arose from a cancellation. The approach to the incident by management was really pretty poor and the suggestion that staying in a flooded room was in anyway appropriate was ridiculous. An apology from a senior member of management would have been appropriate but wasn't forthcoming. I'm sad to write such a review and you'll see by my others that this is not the norm. I hope this might go some way to prompting management to review their service and maintenance staff training procedures.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Berri_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Dear Berri_1981,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us.

You're right, the weather was particularly terrible and we seem to have had a small problem with the wind and the driving rain the weekend you stayed.

Luckily this doesnt occur too often however if we're fully booked our contingency plans do fly out the window. Thank goodness we did have a cancellation at the last moment and we were able to move you to another room as soon as we could. I apologise we were not able to offer you anything sooner however our team at Reception were doing their very best to find you another room or an alternate hotel - it seems much of Brisbane was fully booked too.

I hope you choose to return to stay with us again in the future so that you can experience our usual high standard of service and accommodation.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra for 2nights when working in Brisbane, this is a nice hotel with all of the amenities required, great rooms good breakfast, all in all a good setup, in a great location, a special mention to a guy called Rhys who helped me with something's out of my car, which was much above the call of duty, we will certainly stay at the Mantra on our next visit to South Bank.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesflorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

When booking this hotel i didn't realise how close this hotel is to the southbank area. There are lots of bars and restaurants around the hotel. It took me about 25 minutes to walk to the city centre along the river. The hotel is nice. Rooms are of a very generous size. Mine had a small kitchenette which was fully equipped with kitchen utensils. Very impressed. On the return i decided to get the train to the airport rather than a taxi. It was a little bit of a walk especially with heavy luggage!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nice new hotel in the lovely South bank precinct. Has all the facilities and is new in design. The Aussie cricket team were staying there on the same night, so must be ok!

Room Tip: Look for alternatives to park your car - is a bit pricey!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Dear Nevtraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very lucky to be located in such a fantastic spot in Brisbane and very happy that we have such a great hotel surrounded by all the wonderful things to do in South Bank. Passing celebrities and heroes in the foyer is just an added bonus!

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 168 in Brisbane
2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 168 in Brisbane
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#104 of 168 in Brisbane
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#57 of 168 in Brisbane
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 168 in Brisbane
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $140 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. Maintenance notice Mantra South Bank Brisbane will be undergoing maintenance works on the pool and spa from 8 October until 13 November 2017. During this period the pool and spa will be closed, we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing