We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2007

What a gem!

Great location, massive rooms, the most comfortable bed you could ever imagine!

The south bank is a up and coming area in Brisbane, with fantastic restaurants nearby (make sure you go to the turkish restaurant over the road). I wasnt sure what to expect of this hotel but it proved a real gem, walkable distance to the main area of brisbane.

We used Brisbane as a base for our day trips, visiting tangalooma dolphin resort, fraser island and australia zoo, it was a fantastic hotel to come home to to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank 122309d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2007

The hotel is fantastic, great location in South Bank with a choice of restaurants and walking distance to the new Gallery of Modern Art and other attractions. We opted to dine in the hotel restaurant, Stone which was a real treat - the desserts are to die for! We opted for the one bedroom city view, which offered great views of the city. It was a lovely room with separate living/dining area, full kitchen and even a laundry. The room had a lovely balcony and was a perfect spot to relax and watch the activities of the river over a glass of wine. There is also a new day spa, Glow Retreat where we were able to indulge in a relaxing massage - bliss. While the room was spotlessly clean and decor contemporary as I believe it is a relatively new hotel, the staff were extremely friendly too and concierge very helpful. Would totally recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank QueenslandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I've lived here for 2 nights at room 529 on August 2007. The location was the reason I've chose it, and unfortunatly that's the only thing I love about it at last.
The staff at front dest were not friendly when checking in/ while talking and couldn't really remember the thing I've asked for- just to move my twin beds together so I could stay in one bed by myself (and i've booked a double/king bed at first, but they insist that's the only room they got for me)- I've asked for moving the bed twice after 4 hours I've made the first request. The first impression of the room was quite uncomfortable. It was noon and the curtain was close, the room was complete dark when arrived. The smell was not really good it smells like the room havnt been used for a long time. The water boiler at mini bar covered with dust. Exclude all these, the room was spacious and all the duvet and other things are just fine. The concierge were really friendly and helpful, with the great location at south bank, that's the only things I like about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Zu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Hubby and I stayed here for two nights in June (also stayed at the Stamford Plaza and the Royal Albert in Brisbane--we were rate and location hopping). Tripadvisor helped sooo much with planning this 2-week trip around Queensland. We found the best rate going to the Saville's website, surprisingly.
This is a really nice hotel with extremely friendly, helpful staff (though I must say, everyone in Aus was super-happy!) We got in at 9 am Aus time (11 pm US time, after traveling for 24 hours) and they had a room ready for us (I had emailed them in advance letting them know we'd be arriving then, and would be exhausted: they'd offered showers but no promises about the room being ready) so we were soooo grateful!
Also, we rented bikes at the botanical gardens and biked all around the paths that line the river banks--it was beautiful, and an easy ride. The rental was for overnight, and the hotel let us wheel the bikes right through the lobby (we asked before bringing the muddy things in) and put them in storage for us with a smile!
We had a studio, and the room was normal-sized, with a fridge and micro and sink and dishes. There was even a little balcony, quite private. We overlooked the train track, but couldn't see it unless standing on the railing (clever architect!) We didn't hear the train at all, and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was nice, too--this hotel definitely deserves its rating.
As for location, it's right behind the South Bank Parklands, which are gorgeous! We spent a whole day wandering around here, eating various goodies, and got on a river ferry boat--for a few dollars, we rode for an hour all the way down to one end of the route and back. Easy, fun, picturesque way to get around! You definitely do not need a car in Brisbane, and with the small number of bridges, I wouldn't recommend it anyway--traffic gets heavy.
We also took the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary tour, nice trip on the boat, see and smell the colony of fruit bats on the way, fantastic place to see koalas as close as possible and hold them/get photographed for $10. (They even let us take photos of each other holding the koala with our own camera! Just ask nicely.)
As for food nearby, there's a huge selection of really nice, pricey restaurants all around, as well as little food stalls with cheap food. We found a bakery/deli place called Poppy's Basket (or something like that) where we ate breakfast and lunch and bought food for dinner (they close at 6) but we'd eat the food in the parklands with the city view. Brisbane is a beautiful city and the Saville is a great choice for convenient access to sights and transportation (train is right there!). Don't worry about airport transportation--you just sign up for the bus or train once you get there. And many tours leave directly from the hotel--we took Sunrover's overnight camping trip to Fraser Island and they picked us up from the hotel. I'll probably end up writing a "go list" with all this stuff in it. :)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

I stayed in the Saville Southbank for 2 nights in August 07 whilst attending a conference in Brisbane.

The hotel has a minimalist decor/colour scheme which may not appeal to all tastes. My studio room was spacious and clean, and had a small kitchenette. However, it lacked a number of basics eg a full length mirror, and a small table for in-room dining. Meals need to be eaten either sitting at the desk or on the bed (neither very comfortable options). Based on the other reviews, other room/apartment types may be better appointed. Room service breakfast was acceptable and delivered within the specified time. The king bed was created by joining 2 single beds together, hence there was an uncomfortable gap in the middle. There is a limited selection of cable channels - mainly sports and news.

Overall, the devil is in the detail regarding the service levels; maybe this was because the hotel was fully booked during my stay. Room service food trays left outside from the previous evening remained uncollected the next morning; waste bins in the room were not emptied and a breakfast order form was not provided for the second day.

Note that the hotel does not have internet facilities available for guests who do not bring their own laptop.

I would stay at the Saville again only if I needed accommodation in a convenient location to the convention centre (around the corner).

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MsC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This is a very modern hotel/apartment perfectly situated if you plan on spending time in South Bank. The train station is a short stroll nearby. Across the road you will find several dining options on the South Bank strip and everything else South Bank has to offer.

The building boasts a contemporary design and stands out against the neighbouring buildings. The hotel has everything you would need. The staff are chirpy and have all the right tourist information at hand. They can even give you decent dining options in the vicinity. The hotel bar also has reliable and helpful wait staff at hand.

The rooms continue the modern and stylish look and feel of the hotel. The room has all the basic creature comforts, as does the bathroom. Very clean and well kept.

The hotel makes for an enjoyable stay and good value for money for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Our accommodation, a one bedroom apartment, was spacious and very well appointed throughout. The fixtures and fittings were all very modern with two flat panel TV's, microwave, oven/grill, fridge, washer, dryer... the list goes on. In addition the place was spotless which impressed the both of us as was the hotel at large. One point to consider, the rooms/suites facing the rear of the hotel overlook main railway lines and noise is a problem. I suggest that at the time of booking you specify a room at the front which costs a little extra but it's well worth it.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 168 in Brisbane
2,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 168 in Brisbane
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#57 of 168 in Brisbane
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#110 of 168 in Brisbane
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 168 in Brisbane
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $129 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. Maintenance notice Mantra South Bank Brisbane will be undergoing maintenance works on the pool and spa from 8 October until 13 November 2017. During this period the pool and spa will be closed, we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing