We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Successful Class Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commissariat Store

Commissariat Store
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.04*
and up
Brisbane Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #72 of 338 things to do in Brisbane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The heritage listed Commissariat Store, situated on the the river in Queens Wharf Road, was hand built and completed by convicts in 1829, using Brisbane Tuff from the Kangaroo Point cliffs. The Store (now a Museum run by the Royal Historical Society of Queensland) and the Windmill on Wickham Tce, are the only buildings remaining from the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement. The Commissariat Store is Queensland's most significant heritage building/landmark, as it represents the commencement of European settlement. This historic site, located in Queen's Wharf Brisbane in the CBD, is also considered the birthplace of Brisbane.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Successful Class Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We brought our class in to see and experience the Commissariat Store in 2013 as part of our Year 5 history unit. We have booked our new class in for 2014. The visit brings to life the story and struggle of the penal settlement. It also demonstrates how the city has grown up around this site. The map on the lower level with models is fantastic! Our guides engaged the children and were a mine of information. After our visit, many children returned with their families.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McMillan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed at weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was on our agenda as a must see, unfortunately we did not realise that it was surprisingly closed at the weekend.
A warning to other potential visitors!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanne702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This museum was perfect for showing us the history of Brisbane, and penal settlements in general. The building itself is beautiful, and a real touch of history in the fairly modern city of Brisbane. The museum itself was packed full of Queensland history, but the best part of the museum were the guides that took you around for no extra charge. They had lots of knowledge, not just about the Store itself, and were so willing to answer questions, and change the tour around to suit us better. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fun little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

the museum was ok, but the building restoration was very interesting. love that more than the museum. wonderful informative staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcgben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step Back into Brisbane's Convict Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Commissariat Store, along with the Windmill on Wickham Terrace, is one of the only convict built building still standing in Queensland. It was built in 1829 originally as the stores for the brisbane convict settlement for repeat offenders. it is beautifully maintained and has a very interesting history. Inside the building is a museum which focuses on Brisbane's convict past and the history of the building. The museum is run by the Royal Historical Society of Queensland. The entry fee is at a very reasonable price of $5 for adults and $3 for students and concession, which goes towards the upkeep of the exhibitions. For no extra cost you can have one of their very friendly and passionate volunteers take you on a tour around the three floors and the outside of the building and explain the many exhibitions on display. I highly recommend having a tour guide to get the most out of the experience. Overall, a very interesting place to go while in Brisbane.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Maddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commissariat Store also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Commissariat Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing