We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocklea International Motel
Ranked #85 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We tried, but in the end could not suffer through a one night stay and ended up l
Checking out just after midnight.
The room was very dirty, human hair all over the bedding, mouldy bathroom, very dusty.
The noise was terrible, apart from being situated on a 'road island' between the motorway and very busy main road - you can hear EVERYTHING in the other rooms - doors constantly slamming and others talking etc. Alarms going off constantly late at night and phones ringing in othrr rooms - all through paper thin walls.
The staff did seem genuinely concerned when we left early and contacted us to offer a refund of 50% of our stay - we were grateful for this until we realised they had taken out another full nights stay from our credit card (obviously without our acknowledgement or permission) when we called to queery this the initial staff member was apologetic and offered to refund it - though again, this was spoiled by another staff member calling the next day demanding an explaination from us to why we were claiming we had this money taken out again- then telling us we needed to 'prove' it by forwarding a credit card statement. We asked that they please check their eftpos summary from the previous day instead - they did do this and tthen called to apologise saying it was the fault of a junior staff member.
Overal - a complete headache in the end!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockmelontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Rockmelontravels

Feedback is something that we take very seriously at Brisbane International Rocklea and we are genuinely saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

We would however like to point out that we did offer to rectify these issues for you once they were made known to us and you were also contacted in a timely manner upon your return home by our Manager to offer her apologies and a partial refund, as well clarifying the reasons for your early departure so that we could rectify any ongoing issues with our product and service.

Kind Regards

Brent Christofferson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

The food supplied at breakfast was meagre to say the least. After finding a hair on the clean plate I was supposed to use for breakfast the staff did supply me with a clean one, and then I watched while she placed the plate with the hair still on it back on the pile of clean crockery for the next person to use. The hair dryer in the room didn't work and the a/c output was pitiful. The concierge staff's local knowledge was non exsistent when asked how long it would take me to get from A to B in a taxi. Contary to the hotels own signage that it was a quiet place of an evening, I listened to doors slamming and loud conversations in the hallway all night. Needless to say my company won't be using the motel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueeyes191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Blueyes191

Although it’s taken us a while to respond to your review I would like to say thank you as without honest constructive criticism we are unable to really know what is not meeting our guests requirements and put changes in place to fix these issues.

Since your comments were published on Tripadvisor we have gone to great lengths to ensure that our staff are continually paying great attention to detail and that amenities and services within and our rooms and the property are maintained to a very high level.

Many aspects of our property have changed since your last stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future should you be willing to give us a second chance, in fact I would personally invite you to contact me directly should you like to come back and give us another try.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

As the title suggests, this motel is located in the heart of Rocklea between the motorway and another main road with the railway close by. All noise generators. The motel endeavours to minimise this by having double glazed windows which helps a lot but doesn't completely eradicate the problem.

We stayed in June 2011 because of its central location. It provided a good alternative to staying in the CBD. Pay attention to any driving directions the hotel provides as gaining entry to the property can be a little tricky. I didn't and there is no right turn when coming from the south. My punishment involved going round the block for a kilometre before I could work out how to do a loop off of Sherwood Rd to come back from the other direction.

When we stayed, the power went out just as we checked into our room. I initially thought that this was a problem with our room but it turned out to be a problem with the whole area. Power was restored an hour or so later. The ladies at the front desk were apologetic and a little vague as to what was going on. It wasn't a situation they could have helped though.

The double room we had was upstairs which involved lugging our bags up a flight of stairs. Not a problem for us but the lack of lift might be difficult for some. There are several staircases to choose from depending on which end of the building your room is in.

The room was modern, clean, of average size and contained all the basic essentials ie TV, alarm clock etc. Most of the carparks are under the building and are on a first come, first served basis. The 'undercover' parks will still leave your vehicle's nose or rear exposed to the elements though as the building doesn't quite cover the entire parking bay.

Breakfast can be had in the restaurant downstairs. The food was hot, filling and did the trick to set us up for our day. The ladies serving the food were pleasant and friendly and served our breakfast quite quickly.

The motel is the sort that would suit workers, business travellers or a couple passing through. Its location isn't aesthetically appealing. Convenient really does sum up this motel. I would give it 3 and a half stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Rena

Although it’s been a while sine you stayed and reviewed our property we would like to say thank you for your comments.

We appreciate all the feedback we’re given from our guests as it helps us to raise and maintain the standards that our guests expect.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Rocklea and we hope that you have returned to visit us and may do again in the future.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My Husband works for a company that has a contract with Rocklea, we decided to bring the kids to do the whole Sea World Trip, Movie World Trip etc... I found the rooms to be basic and a little small but clean also we could hear traffic. I was very happy with the bistro/ breakfast area the food was above average, fresh and hot.The reception experience was good they were chatty and prompt from check in to check out.
Good for business and a couple maybe not a family so much.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Kerry

While quite a period of time has lapsed since you posted your review I would like to say thank you for your comments. Posting to Tripadvisor really does help other travellers form an opinion on the accommodation they are thinking about visiting. It also helps us maintain our standards or fix little issues that may arise from time to time.

Should you ever decide to travel with your husband again with the family please ask us about our apartment. It would be perfect for a family, offering more space and more amenities.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

In a few words the title fits my stay.

Rooms seem fairly recently refurbished and we're nice and comfortable and clean. Bed was surprisingly one of the more comfortable ones if only a double in size. Although a budget place I'd be happy with a room like this in any motel.

Had 3 dealings with staff, twice on arrival and one on departure and both young and seemingly disinterested in their jobs beyond the basics - found it very hard to even get a smile out of them.

Had to get my room changed as the first room I had the air conditioning wasn't working for some reason which was a bit of a trial with the first staff member as I had to be a bit more insistent about changing rooms. Wanted AC for some white noise in the background as the hotel is in one of the noisiest locations, between two major roads and somehow also the railway is there too. All that noise comes in under the room door which has a huge gap at the bottom all hours of day and night.

Added to that being a cheaper motel apparently rail workers were staying there at the same time and they seemed to come and go noisily at all sorts of weird hours.

Make sure you do not get a room on the lower floor (as I was first assigned) they seem to either back on to the road, the kitchen of the restaurant or the undercover carpark. I can't begin to imagine how noisy that would have been...

Would I stay again? We'll the room itself was really nice, but I would check vacancies elsewhere and this would be a lower choice down the list, but certainly not a last resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neartheblowhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Neartheblowhole

Thank you for the time taken to review our property and I would like to apologise for not responding when you originally posted your comments.

We are conveniently located in the heart of Rocklea and unfortunately this does bring some noise difficulties with it but where possible we have lessened these issues.

I can only apologise for the interactions that you had with our staff at the time of your stay. Should you ever decide to come back and stay with us, which I hope you will, you would find that our staff are friendly, welcoming and professional and regularly go out of their way to assist our guests.

I really do hope that we have had or will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Brisbane International Rocklea.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I stayed at the Rocklea International Motel in late 2005 and found it to be a great little 3 star boutique hotel (it's not really a motel). Needed somewhere for 4 of us to stay so decided to give it another go - this time we booked the 2 bedroom apartment. For $175 per night it was fine for 4 people, however there were a couple of minor problems - the lights in the apartment were low voltage energy-saving white light bulbs which were way too dim for any really useful purpose - this includes the lounge area, hallway, bathroom and bedrooms. In the second bedroom there was one bedside lamp and a digital alarm clock between the 2 single beds - but the only power point in the room was at the other end of the room - no way the power leads would reach! We also had a bit of a noise problem early in the morning - the main bedroom wall backs on to a storeroom off the reception area and an staff member was working in there at 5:45am. We could hear his chatter quite clearly and in the distance some voices from the reception desk. This is not a problem in the studio rooms upstairs. The building is located next to a motorway but the windows are all double glazed so noise is kept out. It's fine for the money. Nothing to see in the district around the hotel but it's a 3 minute walk to the Rocklea train station which connects you directly to the heart of Brisbane (and runs past Suncorp Stadium).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Lowball

I know it’s been a long time but thank you for reviewing Brisbane International Rocklea!!

Your comments were certainly noted when you made them and improvements were made to the lights that we were using in the apartments – so thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Your comments are very helpful for future travellers considering staying at our hotel and have also assisted us to make improvement and raise our already high standards.

I do hope that you have returned in the past couple of years and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

I spent a night at this motel in January 2006, having secured a good rate (AUD92) through its website. Only a couple of years old and well appointed, it's recommended to those prepared to stay a few kilometres from the city centre.

The motel is located in the suburb of Rocklea, next to the motorway and rail tracks, although the double glazing means noise is not a problem. Having opened in 2004 the rooms are very modern and well equipped (it's a sign of the future when rooms no longer have phones), reasonably sized and all en-suite. If it wasn't for its location it would qualify as a hotel rather than a motel. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for advice about the local area.

The only things to note are that you'll probably want a car to fully exploit what Brisbane has to offer if you stay here, although bus and rail connections are good; it's on the opposite side of the city from the airport, so be prepared for a transfer of forty minutes or more; there doesn't seem to be a lift, so be aware that there are only a couple of bedrooms on the ground floor; and the broadband connection is not only grossly overpriced, but also requires your own data cable. There are plenty of cheaper places to go surf the net in the city centre.

Overall, for price, quality and service, the Rocklea is a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Rocklea International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Getdown,

Thank you and congratulations on being our first ever review on Tripadvisor!! I know it’s taken somewhat of a long time to get a response – but better late than never they say!!

Jokes aside, even though we did not respond at the time of you posting your review we have always read and noted all aspects of all reviews, so thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

While out great service has stayed the same we have made a few changes since your last stay:

We now provide the internet for FREE and you can either have it delivered via a LAN cable or wifi – whichever suits your needs.

All of our rooms have phones in them for our guests convenience – although you’re right about not really needing them as most guests have their own mobile phones.

We would love to welcome you back anytime you are next in Brisbane.

Kind regards

Anne Smith
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
4.9 mi away
Mt Ommaney Hotel Apartments
Mt Ommaney Hotel Apartments
#112 of 169 in Brisbane
60 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lancaster Court Motel
Lancaster Court Motel
#64 of 169 in Brisbane
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Salisbury Hotel
Salisbury Hotel
#151 of 169 in Brisbane
14 reviews
2.2 mi away
Annerley Motor Inn
Annerley Motor Inn
#110 of 169 in Brisbane
198 reviews
1 mi away
Moorooka Motel
Moorooka Motel
#136 of 169 in Brisbane
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklea International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklea International Motel

Address: 1326 Ipswich Rd | cnr Medway St, Brisbane, Queensland 4106, Australia (Formerly Brisbane International - Rocklea Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $74 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklea International Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocklea International Motel is a modern four star property that boasts ambience, corporate professionalism and high quality accommodation and service. This four star corporate property offers 41 accommodation rooms and two conference rooms. Guest can chargeback meals from Rocklea Hotel(across the road) or purchase breakfast vouchers for the Feed Em Café(across the road). The café is open from 04:30am Mondays to Fridays excluding public holidays. Please Note that a valid Credit Card in the name of the Guest must be supplied as a guarantee of payment upon check in. SHould you not be able to provide this please contact the hotel directly for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocklea International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing