We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and the smell!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Lismore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“noisy and the smell!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

we stayded here overnight for a course we were attending. The staff were nice and helpful. prior to our room we could see and hear a few different conversations- hoped when we got inside we wouldnt have to put up with other peoples voices! It wasnt to be- clearly hear conversations from the people next door, the people outside (a few rooms away)and all the traffic- to make it worse the smell of the room left alot to be desired!!wasnt game to try aircon- there was so much dust on the vents!!The positive was a very hot shower

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Margandrich,

I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do have onsite managers available 24 hours, 7 days a week to assist you during your stay and they can be contacted on extension 9 as per the notices in the room.

The onsite managers would have been more than happy to address any issues you had with noise and smells and unfortunately, as we are only now learning about these problems you experienced, we are not able to rectify these.

We have 60 rooms located across a large area of land. The standard rooms which are our cheapest rooms are located on the road side. We do have a sound barrier which minimises roadside noise and this has been very effective for the majority of our guests who choose to stay in a standard room.

Our executive rooms are not road side and for an extra $10 per night, this room type may have better suited your requirements.

I am not sure what the issue was with the smell and noise from other guests, but management could have addressed your concerns promptly if they had been notified.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the shower and hope that we will see you again and suggest staying in an Executive room should you venture past our way again.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
39
41
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband stays a few nights per week at this motel and some weeks I stay as well. We have always found the rooms very comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms basic but more importantly they are clean. There are different room types so its possible to pay a bit more and have a room a bit more upmarket. The pool is always clean, plenty of car parking, good shops across the road, good restaurants close by, staff always friendly, vending machine for late night snacks, bbq. I would be happy to recommend this motel to others.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank leesinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Leesinexile,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us on a regular basis. We pride ourselves on being a practical, welcoming and comfortable motel in a location that serves both the corporate and leisure travel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff here were very nice however they couldn't make up for a dreadful motel.
The WIFI was out, and had been for sometime, and there seemed to be little attempt to get it back up on running.
The motel was noisy and because of that felt exposed all the time to the comings and goings of the many guests- both paying and non-paying.
Rooms were ok- shower was ok. Very outdated decor.
I checked out early. Felt sorry for the staff. In fairness they were understanding and refunded booking for days stays I had paid for in advance.
Would never stay again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Always T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for re-submitting your feedback in line with Trip Advisor's policies. Just before your arrival, Brisbane was hit by a thunder and lightning storm in which the Motel lost its Internet connection because the router blew up.

My staff and I worked hard on the Sunday to re-route the guest WI-FI network and were able to offer guests free WI-FI access within the Reception and pool/bbq area. We were also able to re-establish full Internet access available on the free guest PC at Reception.

We had to wait until Monday to order a new router which took a few days for it to arrive. We did everything within our control to rectify the free WI-FI access and there were numerous options available to you.

It is disappointing to read despite all our efforts that you state "there seemed to be little attempt to get it back up".

In reference to paying and non-paying guests - I am curious to understand how you are able to make that differentiation.

Your stay was in a 4 star AAA rated room where our decor is modern and comfortable. These rooms offer guests a spacious stay and are fully air-conditioned with flat screen TVs and free Foxtel.

You do make a brief mention that the room was ok, the shower was ok, the staff were nice, and given Trip Advisor reviews are meant to about accommodation and its services, I am unclear as to why you refer to the Motel as "dreadful".

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived Sunday 16th December to a warm welcome from Paul and his staff. A 2 bedroom Townhouse was to be our home for the next 20 nights. The accommodation consisted of a downstairs kitchen/diner/lounge with upstairs bathroom and 2 bedrooms. Air conditioning both downstairs and in 1 bedroom.
The kitchen had a gas cooker and hob, a microwave oven, kettle and toaster. Pots and pans were stowed away in the cupboards along with crockery and cutlery for 4 people. A top loader washing machine and tumble dryer were neatly hidden behind another cupboard door. Table and chairs for dining and settees in the lounge area with flat screen TV and patio doors onto a small outside area completed the downstairs.
Upstairs there was a double bedded room with large built in wardrobe and air conditioning. The other bedroom consisted of 2 single beds an a reasonably large built in wardrobe. We found that by leaving doors open the air conditioning was adequate for both rooms. The bathroom consisted of a glass shower enclosure, very efficient, with single wash basin and a toilet.
The accommodation comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.
Attached to the motel in a Chinese restaurant where you could dine in, take away or just enjoy a drink in the bar. Across the road a small complex of shops and eating places meant we were never short of anything.
We enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool with loungers and along side a BBQ.
There is a bus stop just outside the motel with services right into the CBD. Very fast and efficient and more convenient than taking a car to the city and paying hefty parking charges.
This motel is to be recommended to anyone who wants a comfortable place to stay near to the city and have the facilities for self catering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter-Vagg-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Peter,

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us at the Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments and we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable. It is lovely to see guests such as yourselves making the most of your time in Brisbane and full use of the services and utilities available in the self-contained 2 bedroom town house.

The 2 bedroom town houses are ideal for guests who wish to stay a little longer in a home away from home. With a full kitchen and laundry, what you save on eating out can go towards a ticket to one of the fun parks such as Dream World or Australia Zoo.

We are pleased that you made full use of the Brisbane bus way which offers visitors a carefree and inexpensive way to see the sights with a bus stop 10 metres from the Motel's back gate.

The shopping centre conveniently located across the road caters for a wide variety of requirements including the butcher who has tender eye fillet and juicy lamb cutlets, ideal for cooking on the Motel's complimentary BBQ. BBQ tools and supplies are available for free from Reception.

Paul and the team at the Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments hope to see you again and we wish you a wonderful 2013 and safe travels.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i stayed here with family for a night after visiting the speedway. Quick one night stay as we didn't want to drive back to the gold coast at 11pm, after a long night already.
As soon as we walked in, we noticed quite an unpleasant smell.The room was out dated and unappealing, and looked untidy and a little rundown.

i noticed that the shower didnt look very clean - there were hairs and dirt on the shower floor. The whole place looked as though it hadn't been cleaned when the last few people had left. The room in general was in major need of a make over, spring clean, and uh.. something to make it smell a lot better ?

I recommend that Best Western now ensure everything is spotless clean, and smelling lovely before they allow people to vacate their rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in Queen deluxe with undercover parking out front. Medium sized room with desk, free internet, very comfortable bed and "old style" floor mounted A/C unit. Nice lounge to watch TV. Oriental restaurant attached is nice, but their are options across the road too. Breakfast in the cafe across the road is great. Bathroom is a good size with nice shower. With no mini bar you need to bring your drinks / nibblys with you or go across the road. I'd stay again

Room Tip: For business travellers, request the rooms that have a lounge (not 2 beds). ground floor too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, PNG
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

very friendly staff greet you at reception. The rooms are very clean and neat. They have everything you need for a nice stay. Chinese restaurant right next door and shops accross the road make convience not an issue if you need something. I would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: Great for a nice friendly stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tincoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was lovely having you stay at our Motel and we do hope you had a comfortable journey home. It is great to know you found the location convenient. The Motel is well positioned in that we have the 150 bus stop at our back gate which runs every 10-15 minutes to Westfield Garden City Shopping Centre, South Bank and the Brisbane CBD and across the road from the Motel, you will find a delicatessen, butcher, baker but not the candlestick maker, fish n chips, pizza, pasta and ribs, fruit grocer, spa, subway, bottle shop, hair dresser, dentist, physio and much more.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
BEST Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#67 of 159 in Brisbane
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rocklea International Motel
Rocklea International Motel
#85 of 159 in Brisbane
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Salisbury Hotel
Salisbury Hotel
#137 of 159 in Brisbane
13 reviews
4.8 mi away
Springwood Motor Inn
Springwood Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Springwood
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Property: Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing