We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i stayed here with family for a night after visiting the speedway. Quick one night stay as we didn't want to drive back to the gold coast at 11pm, after a long night already.
As soon as we walked in, we noticed quite an unpleasant smell.The room was out dated and unappealing, and looked untidy and a little rundown.

i noticed that the shower didnt look very clean - there were hairs and dirt on the shower floor. The whole place looked as though it hadn't been cleaned when the last few people had left. The room in general was in major need of a make over, spring clean, and uh.. something to make it smell a lot better ?

I recommend that Best Western now ensure everything is spotless clean, and smelling lovely before they allow people to vacate their rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
38
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in Queen deluxe with undercover parking out front. Medium sized room with desk, free internet, very comfortable bed and "old style" floor mounted A/C unit. Nice lounge to watch TV. Oriental restaurant attached is nice, but their are options across the road too. Breakfast in the cafe across the road is great. Bathroom is a good size with nice shower. With no mini bar you need to bring your drinks / nibblys with you or go across the road. I'd stay again

Room Tip: For business travellers, request the rooms that have a lounge (not 2 beds). ground floor too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, PNG
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

very friendly staff greet you at reception. The rooms are very clean and neat. They have everything you need for a nice stay. Chinese restaurant right next door and shops accross the road make convience not an issue if you need something. I would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: Great for a nice friendly stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tincoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was lovely having you stay at our Motel and we do hope you had a comfortable journey home. It is great to know you found the location convenient. The Motel is well positioned in that we have the 150 bus stop at our back gate which runs every 10-15 minutes to Westfield Garden City Shopping Centre, South Bank and the Brisbane CBD and across the road from the Motel, you will find a delicatessen, butcher, baker but not the candlestick maker, fish n chips, pizza, pasta and ribs, fruit grocer, spa, subway, bottle shop, hair dresser, dentist, physio and much more.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
BEST Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived here with three young children (one was sick) and the room was dirty. I asked for another room. The customer service was excellent and we got a night refunded and were moved into a different family room. The rooms are quite dated and could do with a spring clean (oven, kitchen drawers, etc.) The pool was great for the kids and clean. Internet is available for free.
Motel is located next to a busy road and it is single glazed....

Room Tip: Ask to see the room on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The 2 bedroom spacious apartments which sleep up to 6 people are perfect for families and groups. We apologise for the oversight in the House Keeping of the room and we have now implemented procedures to address the issue.

Kind Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

A convenient one night stay in this clean and comfortable motel with free wifi; really easy to get the bus into Brisbane from directly outside. The only negative was that the restaurant it is connected to was hosting a wedding reception. As it was Sunday the pizza restaurant and the Subway on the small retail park opposite had closed early so we had to eat from the petrol station - it would have helped to have been warned about this when we checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at the BEST Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments. With the rising cost of parking in the Brisbane CBD, the convenience of bus 150, which stops at the Motel, means more money in your pocket and no stress in finding a park and negating the traffic.

In regards to the Restaurant, this is owned and operated by another business and is not related to the Motel. We are simply located next to the restaurant. The Motel Guest Directory found in each room, does provide information about other local restaurants including the Sunnybank Community & Sports Club which serve a scrumptious wagu steak.

Thank you for staying. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed a nite in executive room,
Really comfortable, clean and well presented room, close to shops. Close by to the glen hotel and BP petrol station across the road. Real good spot to stay.
Really really comfortable big bed with good tv as well

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted your stay was enjoyable. We pride oursleves on offering comfortable facilities to ensure all our guests, whether they be the corporate or leisure traveller, enjoy a sound sleep and restful stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us,

Kind Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights during the first week of September. We had a 2 bedroom townhouse. It was very clean and roomy. The beds were comfortable. We used the kitchen to cook many meals and the laundry right in our unit was appreciated. We liked the location. We often took the bus to the CBD (30 minutes) and there were shops across the street where we could buy much of our food. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially Sherry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Genni,

It was our pleasure having you stay at the BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments and Sherry enjoyed assisting you during your stay. Sherry prides herself on providing friendly customer service and gets a buzz out of dealing with guests such as you.

Brisbane traffic can be quite heavy so with the fantastic bus way which is a lane dedicated to Brisbane City Council buses, the journey from our Motel to the Brisbane CBD is quicker than by car and you don't have to worry about parking fees which can be quite expensive in the CBD area. The bus stop is at our back gate so we are pleased to know it is a valued service.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,


Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
3.3 mi away
Calamvale Hotel Suites
Calamvale Hotel Suites
#114 of 157 in Brisbane
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
5.2 mi away
Rocklea International Motel
Rocklea International Motel
#81 of 157 in Brisbane
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Property: Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing