We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go, spacey rooms with reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
Ranked #91 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I’ve been at Brisbane three times and stayed at this motel every time.

This is a good place to go everywhere suburb or downtown of Brisbane, through M1 pr M3 which have interchanges nearby. To the downtown, it took only 15-20 minutes by car and 30 minutes by bus. Across padstow road, there are small shopping center with SPAR, ATM, Post office, Subway, Chinese small restaurant and Pizza house. The motel has also excellent Chinese restaurant.

The room has a washer and a dryer. We used three apartments for nine nights this time and one of washers was out of order. Free wireless internet service is convenient but become slow or unable to connect when rooms are busy.
Kitchen has everything to cook and enough for every breakfast. We bought egg, ham, juice, fruits, bread and butter at the shopping center by walk. Washing dishes of breakfast after we went to somewhere was good for us, time saving. Room cleaning is not sufficient and the floor is covered by small dust, because, in my suggestion, central vacuum is weak for cleaning. Bed making and bath room cleaning is good.

The front desk is operated from 7:00 to 23:00. The stuff is kind and friendly. But they don’t know restaurants nearby, so we must search Indian, Italian, sea food restaurants for ourselves. If you bring GPS system and guidebook, it is easy to go by car and takes 20 minutes from this motel. I wish the stuff should survey reviews of restaurants neighborhood from friends or guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palma_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Wonderful experience, good for family, quiet surrounding,rooms clean. Overall nice stay with family.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeerajVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We just spent 4 days at the Sunnybank Star Motel in a two bedroom apartment with our teenage boys and had a great experience.

Check in was quick and friendly and we were directed to our room (53).

The apartment was very clean and well appointed, including Full size fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, washing machine, dryer, iron, ironing board, microwave oven, oven and all the utensils you could want.

The lower floor consists of the kitchen, laundrette, lounge area and a private courtyard. There is a ceiling fan in this area as well.

Upstairs are the main bedroom, bathroom and second bedroom. The main room overlooks the private courtyard and has air conditioning. The bathroom was clean & tidy. The second room is not air conditioned, but has a large fan in the cupboard.

The apartment was serviced daily and the wireless internet access is available by requesting a username and password from reception. Wireless reception wasn't great, but certainly usable for email and FaceBook etc.

Overall, very happy with our stay and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_is_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had an overnight stay in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was large, with all the usual amenities including a kitchenette and laundry equipment. There is a very nice personal garden area attached to the apartment as well.
The rooms were clean, and everything we tried to use worked (microwave oven, iron, etc).
Free wireless internet is advertised, but we didn't need to use it.
The reception service was quick and friendly - even when our son managed to lock us all out of the room without a key late at night!
There is a decent small shopping centre across the road.
Although it's on the intersection of two quite busy roads, we had no problem with noise and also found no difficulty in driving out of the motel in peak hour.
The only disappointment was an extremely soft mattress on the bed in the main bedroom - obviously a matter of personal preference but it made for a less than comfortable experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine V, Owner at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Sandysu58

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback which we really appreciate.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the apartment met your needs. Our aim is to ensure our guests leave with a positive experience which is why receiving feedback is so important.

We have just replaced twenty beds and twenty mattresses which is the beginning of our bed replacement program. Hopefully this will ensure your experience of an "extremely soft mattress" isn't repeated.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards

Lorraine
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

great location for traveling Brisbane. strongly recommend if your traveling with friends that you DO NOT book there two bedroom appartments they are old Dingy with little or no windows or air conditioning
The single room excutive where North American best western average or below

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienJKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear jlmvcr,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always very keen to hear from our guests and look at how we can use this feedback to improve the service we provide.

We have recently implemented some changes across the property, including new LCD televisions, upgrading of our wireless internet system and various other enhancements to increase our customers experience.

We thank you for your feedback, and will look at how we can incorporate your experience into our plans for the property moving forward.

Kind Regards,

Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed here on two separate nights while the rooms are clean and provide a comfortable enough stay the service leaves a lot do be desired. First I emailed with booking and never was contacted so I rang and made booking by phone and was promised a confirmation email, when I didn't receive it I rang again and was promised again in total I rang 3 times and as this was part of a larger trip I let it go. First night internet was not working but stay was fine, second night they "CHARGED US MORE" than booking amount however as I did not have confirmation email I could not prove how much they said, I believe this is a scheme they manage, not to send you confirmation email so they can later charge you whatever they want and since they have your credit card details there is very little you can do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienJKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Traveller1069,

Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to ensure our guests leave happy, however in this instance we have clearly not met your expectations.

Firstly, please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with our handling of your reservation. This is certainly not to the standards to which we strive. It is our policy, when asked, to provide a written confirmation of our guests reservations including tariffs and cancellation requirements via email at the time of booking. However, on this occasion it has clearly been overlooked. It is certainly not our intent to not send this confirmation through, as indicated in your feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time in bringing this issue to our attention, and I would like to assure you this is not to the standards of which we strive and we have taken your feedback on board to ensure a repeat of your experience is not forthcoming .

Kind Regards,

Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

stayed here because cricket tournament was going on in brisbane and hotel rates closer in were very very expensive. hotel is typical of 2 star accommodation. bath needs updating. minimal decor. well furnished with dishes, coffee maker, essentials. clean. there is considerable road construction going on just outside hotel. noisy first thing in morning and late in evening. all people at hotel very helpful

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienJKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Hallemu,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your time taken to provide us with your thoughts is very much appreciated.

After quite a period of time, the road works being undertaken around the property has finally ended. Our guests are now able to enjoy a much quieter sleep in or an early night.

We are very sorry that this impacted your otherwise good stay, and we would look forward to welcoming you back now that these road works are finished.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#76 of 170 in Brisbane
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Waterford
Econo Lodge Waterford
#1 of 1 in Waterford
42 reviews
6.8 mi away
Johnson Road Motel
Johnson Road Motel
#1 of 2 in Hillcrest
142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Springwood Motor Inn
Springwood Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Springwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel

Address: 223 Padstow Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4113, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wifi (unlimited download). FREE Foxtel. FREE Parking. Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel & Apartments is ideally situated to offer the corporate and leisure traveller a convenient location in modern and value for money accommodation. Just 2 minutes from the M1 and Gateway freeways this is the perfect base to explore all Brisbane has to offer and the fabulous attractions of the Gold Coast. The Motel is 30 minutes to the Gold Coast Theme Parks, 30 minutes to the Brisbane Airport, 10 minutes to the ANZ stadium, 15 minutes to the Chandler Swimming Centre and 5 minutes to Westfield Garden City and Sunnybank Shopping Centres. We offer 60 room types, 21 which are 2 bedroom self contained town houses andd apartments which sleep up to 4 people. All rooms offer a minimum of coffee & tea making facilities plus, telephone, hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, Foxtel, ironing equipment and more. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with the town houses offering a secluded private courtyard which are smoking zones for guests staying in the town house. Across the road is a 7 day a week shopping centre. The Motel is next to the Brisbane bus service which travels to the Brisbane City and South Bank every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing