We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and very handy to CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Ranked #57 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Convenient and very handy to CBD”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here recently with my family on a business trip for 3 nights.
Check in was friendly and fast and efficient.
We found the 1 bedroom apartment to be comfortable and very convenient to the CBD.
The apartment we had was located on the 9th Floor and yes we were opposite the Church that rang its bells at 6am. No Alarm clock is needed here. Did not worry us as had to get up early for business; but if on a holiday it would irritate you.
Traffic noise is kept to a minimum with the glass sliding doors closed so the traffic did not worry us.
Beds were very comfortable and the apartment was decorated in a modern style. Very handy to have a washing machine and dryer tucked away in a cupboard. Bathroom a little dated and mould present in the shower recess. Extra lighting is required in the bathroom as dark down one end.
Air conditioning was very welcome here and cooled the apartment down very quickly.
Apartment was very spacious so suited us well with 3 in our family.
The complex had a very nice pool area although did not use the pool.
Prices were very reasonable, but parking was extra at $25 per night.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Cedarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon in Brisbane. It is wonderful to read that you found your one bedroom apartment comfortable and convenient to the CBD. We are pleased to hear that you found the beds comfortable and that the apartment was well suited for your family of three. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    130
    45
    12
    14
See reviews for
57
52
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and it was fabulous. Great location, clean and helpful staff. We have visited the hotel recently to discuss with reception our needs. They refused to show us the different rooms types available. They said that it is now against company policy to do room showings for safety reasons? This is strange as all of the other hotels we considered had done so. We explained that it was for wedding guests and we wanted to see the rooms so that we could possibly recommend the hotel to our interstate guests. We explained that the Groom and Grooms men would only need an apartment for the Friday night and needed a late check out of 2pm. We were told that to have a late check out we would need to pay for another full night! There was no flexibility, most places charge a fee for late check out, not charge another whole night. As you can gather we will not be recommending this hotel and we feel very disappointed. Mostly disappointed that we took the time to visit the hotel to discuss our needs and we were treated as a inconvenience. We have always supported the oaks groups in the past, but will not in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritzy4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Oaks Lexicon. We were disappointed to read of your experience while visiting our property to potentially book some apartments for a wedding. I have spoken with the Hotel Manager of the property and are of the understanding that at the time you came to view the apartments, we were fully booked, therefore regretfully had no rooms to show. Our policy for late check out is we can accommodate guests until midday for a small fee, however any time after midday, we charge another full nights rate as this room will not be able to be resold once the guests have checked out. This policy is standard across all Oaks Hotels and Resorts properties. The Hotel Manager has informed me that extra training of the team members onsite at the time of your visit, has been performed to ensure a clear understanding of policy and procedure. There should have been the option for you to check rooms later in the day, once our departing guests had checked out. We apologise this did not occur and that it has left you to have negative thoughts about Oaks Hotels and Resorts. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location and good spacious apartment, but oh the noise! I had read previous trip advisor's comments and didn't think it would be that bad, but it is. Even on the 17th floor the traffic noise was constant. So loud that you couldn't enjoy the lovely deck or views. Also the very loud church bell that tolls 18 times every morning at 6am and intermittently thereafter. During the night the trains and their tooting is heard.
Cleanliness was reasonable. It was mentioned on the daily service that spot vacuuming would be done but alas this did not happen and by the end of the week the floor was in a state. There was no broom or brush and pan to do this yourself. The corners of the shower cubicle and around the vanity faucet could do with a good scrub. Pool area was being serviced so out of action.
The beds are large and comfortable although my husband thought them a little too firm. Well appointed kitchen for in house cooking and dining. Staff not overly helpful, but became friendly enough by the end of the week. Overall a good apartment. If you require somewhere quieter to sleep do not choose Oaks Lexicon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side away from the church bell maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and the location of our hotel to be great. We were disappointed to read of the issues you had with the noise of the traffic and church bells and the cleanliness of your apartment. It is unfortunate that the bells can at times cause disturbance to our guests; however this aspect is out of our control. With regards to your comments on the spot cleaning, I will address this directly with our Housekeeping Manager for review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Hotel Manager to also discuss customer service levels with our team on front desk. We do hope to be able to welcome you to and Oaks Hotels & Resorts property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The main glaring problem is the lack of double glazing, These apartments are in a high traffic area and road noise overnight is loud but the major reason to avoid this property is the Church across the road who tolls it bell 17 times at 6am every morning. If you want a decent nights sleep this is not the property for you. Sunday is a treat as all the Churches surrounding the property and there are about 5 have a bell tolling competition!
Otherwise the apartments are OK, however little things like the en suite being locked and out of bounds as it is the private domain of the apartment owners is very annoying. (There is a bathroom/laundry off the kitchen you can use). The rooms are spacious enough and furnished well though.

Room Tip: There is one room per floor that don't face Anne Street, it may be that they are quieter but I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. We apologise for the issues you had during your stay with the noise from the Church bells. We do have rooms in the building which do not face Anne Street, the bells can still be heard from these rooms however the sound is muffled and not as loud. Every attempt is made to ensure our guests are not disturbed by the bells and reception can often help with this by shuffling guests if the rooms are available. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Be aware! I checked in tonight and was desperate to get to my room and use the bathroom. When I got to the room I tried to slide open the bathroom door, thought is was stuck, but no! It had an external deadlock mounted to the top of the door. No warning it was locked from reception at check in, and no sign on the door to look up. Why you ask? Because I am alone in a two bedroom apartment, they lock one of the bedrooms and one of the bathrooms! (Not sure how they expect me to use both at once)

I could sort of understand the reason if they locked the bathroom beside the locked bedroom. But no! They locked the ensuite so I had to go to the other part of the apartment to the small combined laundry and bathroom. After many years of travel you think you have seen it all. I was wrong!

I will never stay in this property again, and hope that others become aware of the poor level of cleanliness and bizarre bathroom locking regime.

The only positive was the receptionist. She was very welcoming and when I called about the locked bathroom, she let me know that other guests had also complained and that management were aware that guests were not impressed. Go figure.

As with one of the other recent entries - I could not understand the need for a $150 preauth given this is booked on a corporate account, and there is no mini bar, so not sure why the need for any pre-auth at all. I also agree the need for photo ID at check-in is quirky.

All part of life's rich experiences. I may have forgiven this bizarre behaviour, except that the shower in the unlocked bathroom was literally full of mildew/mould. Lucky I had my thongs with me to shower in so I could avoid the possibility of catching something nasty in the shower.

Room Tip: Choose a different property in Brisbane CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. We apologise some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. In some cases, we upgrade guests who have booked a 1 Bedroom into a 2 Bedroom apartment and close off the second bedroom and bathroom. This is to provide the guest with a large living area than the standard One Bedroom Apartment and not then paying for the additional rooms. As the laundry facility is in the second bathroom, we leave that one available for guests to access should they require that facility. Our policy does require a security bond from all guests on arrival at each of our properties. This is processed as a credit card pre-authorisation in which case the bank places a hold on your funds and depending on the card issuer, this will automatically release within 10 working days. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is explained by our reservations team and further information can be found on our reservation confirmation letters and guest registration cards. We apologise if this was not communicated to you correctly. This will be addressed with all team members. I will pass your comments in regards to the cleaning of your apartment onto the Housekeeping Manager. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was the first time we had stayed in Brisbane city itself and the staff at the Oaks were so helpful. The apartment had everthing we needed and it was so close to the Central Station and the river plus Queen St. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon Apartments. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to have everything you needed and in a central location. We are pleased you found our staff to be helpful and I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Oaks Lexicon has the familiarity of other Oaks apartments (without the toe stubbing bathroom of Oaks on Felix) which immediately helps you feel at home. Unfortunately it was a little too homely with the dishwasher having a part falling off the front but it still worked.

I was pleasant (at first) to be getting up each morning, to go to work, to the sound of the church bells from across the road. That pleasantness eroded quite quickly, as did my lay in, when the bells happily woke me from my slumber on the Saturday morning!...

The car park can be a challenge to access initially until you get used to it, I think the lowest level hits a water table as the very bottom parking spot always seemed to have water at the end of it!

The bells aside, my visit was enjoyable with helpful staff, I'll be staying at Oaks again Im sure...

Room Tip: Two tips - 1) Use the mirrors at the apex of each bend when navigating the carpark... can be embarra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon, we are sure that future guests will find it helpful. It is pleasing to read that we have been able to impress you with the apartments and our staff. I will pass the comments in regards to the dishwasher to our Maintenance Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#78 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#54 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#53 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lexicon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lexicon Apartments

Property: Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Address: 347 Ann St | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#54 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lexicon Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in Brisbane’s financial, entertainment and shopping precinct, Oaks Lexicon Apartments provide a striking balance of modern, self-contained accommodation, a picturesque city setting and quality onsite amenities, perfectly suited to all types of stays. Providing an idyllic mix of city and valley, Oaks Lexicon Apartments sit between the CBD and Fortitude Valley, located on the corner of Ann and Wharf Streets. Surrounded by countless restaurants, cafes, bars, nightclubs and boutiques as well as some of Brisbane’s most popular cultural and tourist attractions including Chinatown, Queen Street Mall, Eagle Street Pier, Treasury Casino and South Bank, our hotel is a great choice for a weekend away, weeklong stay or extended holiday. Oaks Lexicon Apartments are just a short walk to Central Station, various bus terminals and the CityCat – Brisbane’s unique river transportation system – ensuring guests have easy access to all the nearby hot spots. Comprising a selection of one and two bedroom, self-contained apartments, Oaks Lexicon Apartments are stylishly designed and feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, private and spacious balconies overlooking the vibrant city, reverse cycle air conditioning, Internet access and contemporary decor. Our hotel also boasts a number of popular leisure facilities, perfect for a touch of recreation and relaxation, including a heated swimming pool, barbeque facilities, entertaining area and a fully equipped gymnasium. Oaks Lexicon Apartments also offers onsite car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lexicon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Brisbane
Hotel Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing