We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok bar food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Hotel

The Fox Hotel
Ranked #575 of 4,266 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I haven't been to the fox before. The pub is ok and the bar menu is the usual, burger, fish & chips, etc. there is a lot of competition in Brisbane and I wouldn't rush back. It was just ok.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    47
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“American style wannabe menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I hadn't been to the fox in over 18 months & it was good pub grub last time so we thought go for Sunday lunch.

The menu had really changed since I'd last been, it's been americanised with their bar food. We ordered a burger which we had to ask for it to be fully cooked through as they serve it pink (as stated on the menu) which they were happy to do. And we also ordered the chicken wings. The burger was ok but the bread roll was sweet - just like the American style ones you get. It was cooked through but the taste was nothing to rave about. The chicken wings were sticky with the bottom of the dish they came in covered in chilli and it was pretty hot, so hot I couldn't actually taste the chicken and I gave up trying to eat them.

The service was fine but the round booth tables are terrible to sit at - the table is too wide & makes it hard to even attempt to move around to allow others to join you, plus two of the tables we tried to sit at we're loose and wobbled so we gave them a miss. The building is beautiful and the inside is decorated really well.

Overall pretty disappointing menu & pretty lack lustre if your not into American bar food. We won't be going back until they change it to more Aussie styled pub grub. Still a good place for a drink though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“AWFUL SERVICE & DISGUSTING TOILETS!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have had the misfortune to have visited this place 3 times now & twice in a fortnight.

The place is a disgrace. The rooftop bar where we were supposed to have a private party was full of other people & lots of people were smoking. I did see 1 person told to stop smoking by a security person who did a walk round but as soon as he left the smoker lit up again.

The service at the bar was & always has been terrible on every visit. Having booked a party you would think that a bar would have Gin & Tonic. Well they had Gin but the bar staff wouldn't ask for Tonic Water to be brought upstairs from the bar below & the staff just did not care. I was told to choose something else! NOT GREAT SERVICE!

The toilets at this place are easily the worst I have ever encountered at a city centre pub. The stench in the gents toilets at the rooftop bar has you gagging. The toilets are a disgrace with rubbish etc all over the floor, no hand wash available, the waste bin has been overflowing every time I have visited & there appears to be no maintenence of the toilets during the evening at all.

I would have to think long & hard before I chose to visit this terrible place again. It really is a disgrace & the staff just don't care!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NawtyStupot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Meatball Company”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great looking Menu, food looked very nice on delivery except for the potatoes, described as "Roast Potatoes with Rosemary Salt". When they came out just by looking at them I could tell they were undercooked. They were diced quite small however some where twice the size of others. So the small ones were just cooked which meant the large ones were still hard in the middle. I pointed this out and the waitress who was quite polite apologised and said she would get them changed, which she did in about 5 minutes. Unfortunately they were exactly the same, which I pointed out, to which she apologised again and said she would take them off the bill.

If you can't get roast potatoes right, what hope is there! Par boil them and then roast them, or even deep fry them, just cook them correctly. They are potatoes, it's not hard. If something gets sent back I would also expect the next batch to be checked they didn't have the same problem as the first. Which if the Chef had tasted them he/she would have known they were undercooked.

Meatballs were ok, we shared 3 different types, Pork and Veal, Duck and sticky Orange Glaze (Which was non existent) & Cod, Prawn and Scallop with Saffron. Pork and Veal were the pick for me with the Chili sauce which was the star of the dish. The Duck ones were too dry with no Sticky Orange Glaze. Seafood were a nice consistency, however very bland even with the broth.

I would like to give a better service rating as the Waitress and Barman were very good, however the food issues let them down. Looking at the Roof was the best part of my evening. Pick up the slack guys, come on, you have a great looking Venue!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Review for the Bar portion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This rooftop bar is simply AWESOME. Don't miss it... they play lounge trance (soft, not thumping loud) on the weekends and the decor is very bright and inviting, which is offset by dimly lit corners where you can sit and drink. A good view of the city lights from this spot. It's one of those hidden gems you don't know about unless a local points you to it. Cheers!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AegisRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Hotel also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing