We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad about the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Room was fine although we were fortunate to be upgraded to a superior room, which was very pleasant, the lighting was poor as it is in so many Australian hotels ( I am a local), the bed was fantastic, beautiful pillows and bedding. The room was clean, the bathroom small but what do you need? Shower and bath were more than adequate, and the toiletries excellent and almost excessive! No balcony (10th floor) but a pleasant view.

Rather than a 15 minute walk to the CBD (I have arthritis-all that dancing in the sixties, and Brisbane on a Saturday night on foot can be less than desirable) we chose to eat in the restaurant. Very bad move! Initial service was fine, beautiful bread, wine list, menu, water and wine delivered and the markup was very reasonable for a good wine. Then wait, wait, wait. After enquiring what had happened to our meal after ninety minutes (only two main courses were ordered) we were told the meals were about to be plated.
The meals arrived about 10 minuted later. They were tepid and overcooked. We attempted to eat the meal -sad to say the flavours that accompanied them (e.g roasted root veg and jus ) were excellent but it's impossible to eat gristly overcooked tepid steak and dry pork loin. We complained about the length of time we had waited and the quality of the meal. The very apologetic waitress offered to replace our meals, but could not guarantee that we we would not wait another hour or more for the replacement!
I don't understand this establishment, it must be severely understaffed.
The food could have been excellent, it was overcooked from sitting too long and possibly being cooked too long. The accompaniments were excellent. I think the kitchen is too stretched. The wait staff do their best but could not cope, and I guess it would be the same for the kitchen staff. A real shame because the food had real basic simple good food potential. As for views from the restaurant?!!! Where?

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,860 - 1,866 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

We didn't expect too much and were pleasantly surprised. On arrival late on Friday evening we were quickly checked in and had a no fuss late check out organised for Sunday. The room that was booked was as requested, a twin room with double beds and one rollaway bed prepared so that the three of us had separate sleeping spaces. The staff were always friendly and helpful and even checked us in on line for our return flight and printed our boarding passes when we were unable to access the internet terminal provided in the lobby. The location was reasonably close to the city, about a 15 minute walk, but it was uphill back to the hotel. (I knew to expect this). The room was clean and comfortable with a view to the hinterland that was an unexpected treat. The only problem we had was difficulty in opening the bathroom door from the inside. When I next visit Brisbane this is where I will stay. Oh, and the Sunday markets at Eagle St Pier and Southbank proved a hit with we three interstate shoppers, after we worked hard the day before attending a work seminar.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie1Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 15, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Despite Brisbane not being one of our favourite places we visited on our tour of Oz, we found this hotel to be clean and tidy. The rooms were of a good size and the internet worked well. The roof top pool is small but adequate. The Gym is also small but no one ever used it when I was in it.
We found it was best to eat in Fortitude Valley and not Brisbane CDB. If you want to eat by the Quay side be prepared to book or get there early. We found that it was slightly over priced.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dougal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We stayed one night at the Grand Chancellor Brisbane. I will list the good and the bad points.

GOOD:
Buffet Breakfast which was included in the price. Good selection of food.
Undercover security parking included in the price.
Reception staff efficient and easy check in and check out.
Location is right in CBD.
Balcony off the room was a bonus.

BAD:
Pool filter was not operating all the time. We watched clumps of hair float pass and water was not clean. There were quite a few people in the pool at this time during the day.
The rooms are quite dated and bland. Actually a bit depressing. If not for the balcony it would not be a nice place to spend time.
Room smelt like wet carpet, but they have had heaps of rain so may have been some minor flooding?

All in all it was value for money. We paid AUD$156.00 for the night. I would suggest a good place to stay to put your head down but I would not lke to be spending any longer than 1 night there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jessiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

My wiife and i had booked the hotel a month prior through a website. When we arrived we were informed they were full and they had put us in another hotel down the road despite the fact I had pre-paid. They had not bothered to contact us even though they had all of our contact details. When we arrived at the alternate venue (which could be described as a very cheap budget hotel) we were put into a room with no ammenities (no bathroom, no fridge nothing but a bare room and a bed). The Grand Chancellor did not offer to refund our money despite the new accommodation being less than half the cost of the money I had pre-paid. I returned to the GC and put on a huge stink. They found us a room but for the remainder of the stay the reception staff were rude and the room itself was very run down and ordinary. I would never go near the place again and would caution anyone else from doing so. The place is 'Grand' in name only.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank wearytraveller069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

The Grand Chancellor is a very average and not very well maintained hotel just outside the CBD of Brisbane.
Reception staff were not very helpfull and in general very uninterested. No other staff, like bell boy, concierge was around. The room was OK in size, but has seen better days - lots of little damage, but clean. Bathroom was severely dated and had lots of damage, like cracked wash-basin, broken tiles, molded door etc.
What was worse was the lack of sound insulation to the corridor - you could hear every step and door loud and clear in the room.
The hotel is located next to a park, but quite far out of the centrum of the city (CBD).
We choose the hotel based on the price on Qantas.com.au, but we should have paid a little bit more for a better and more centrally located place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#38 of 170 in Brisbane
474 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 170 in Brisbane
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $74 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing