We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High On The Hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisabne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High On The Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at Grand Chancellor. Got a very good rate on line from Hotel Club, approx $100 including parking. Rooms smallish but all newly and freshly renovated. Great views from balconies. Food from room service was excellent. Definately recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RussellBrisbane428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear RussellBrisbane428,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review!

It is just lovely to read about our guests having had a great experience at the Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our renovated rooms, great views and the lovely food we have to offer.

Thank you again for your very kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    523
    190
    81
    34
See reviews for
203
495
130
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in a 'Superior Room' on the 10th floor (2nd from the top) overlooking the Roma St Parkland. We chose here as it was in a handy location within a short walk to Roma St Station and included free parking on the weekend whereas most CBD places were charging additional. This made it very good value. Be aware that the Hotel is at the top of a hill, and the walk through the park down to Roma St Station involves a few stairs.

We arrived a little before check in time but they had a room available and were happy to let us check in early which was very helpful. First impressions of the room were that it was a little smaller than I thought it would be judging from the photos on their website but the size was not an issue. The Balcony had great views over the park and Mt Cootha and you could also see the north western suburbs and part of the stretch of river along Coronation Drv. The room has been recently refurbished and I liked the modern look bathroom although it was a little small but not squeezy. It's questionable weather it's worth it for the Superior Room over the Deluxe but we enjoyed the good views from the higher floor. The other benefits you get are FREE (although speed & data limited) Wi-Fi, Nuts & Voss Water, Bathrobes & Slippers, and 'Designer' Bathroom amenities. The pillows were a little disappointing. We visited the rooftop pool area which has a heated spa, an approx 10m pool and a hand-full of deck chairs as well as views over the Parkland and western side of Brisbane as described above.

Although I have pointed out some negatives, I would be happy to stay here again based on the value and location. The free parking on weekends is a BIG plus. If I were not spending much time in the room or travelling alone I would probably book the Deluxe Room instead of the Superior and save a few $.

I recommend asking for a room on the Parkland side. I also recommend booking through the hotel's website for the best deal and packages.

Room Tip: Higher room facing the Parkland is preferable. Book through Hotel website for best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ-Napkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear DJ-Napkin,

Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. I am so pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our sweeping views of Mt Cootha. It is also wonderful to read that you find the hotel to be such good value and in a handy location.

We do appreciate the level of fantastic detail you provided in this review as it helps to inform other travellers and provide them with helpful hints.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have stayed here again, while attending the footy at Suncorp stadium. The location is great, the service that was provided was good, the room was nice and the bed was comfortable. the room rate is a bargain for the location. the bathrooms after the renovations are very nice!

if you need a nice hotel room with good service and a great price, while going to the footy or spending the night in Brisbane, i highly suggest to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear chopstar87,

What a fantastic review – thank you so much. It is wonderful to hear that your visits with us have been a consistently good experience and I am thrilled that you were impressed with all elements of your stay.

We are really pleased that you chose to stay with us again and do hope to welcome you back again when you are next attending the footy at Suncorp.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Recently stayed at the Grand Chancellor on a business trip and was delighted. The room was large and clean, with a lovely complimentary drink and snack to enjoy. The bed was extremely comfortable and thankfully the room was lovely and quiet allowing me to get a great night sleep. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeLPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear TeLPe,

Greetings from the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 five star review of your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything from our spacious, comfortable rooms down to our delicious buffet breakfast. Thank you as well for your very kind mention of our staff, I am so glad that you found them friendly.

Again, we appreciate your comments and hope that you choose to stay with us on your next business trip too.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The room was full of dust with terrible smell of rot.
There is comfortable parking under the hotel and the breakfast was nice,
The location is short walk from Queen st. the center.
Bar and restaurant are available near to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Yair B,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast and that our parking arrangements suited your needs.

I was however disappointed to read your comments regarding the room odour. We have since investigated this and have found no evidence of the odour in question. If you had advised us of this issue during your stay, we would have inspected the room to understand what the smell was and rectified it immediately. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. For future visits, please don't hesitate to advise us if any issues occur as we will be more than happy to remedy these to ensure the comfort of your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times over the last 12 years. It is consistently good. The rooms are nice, the food good (although a bit pricey for value) and it is near a park. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. We used one of the car services rather than a taxi and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear AdelaideJanpo,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

It is fantastic to hear from a guest who had frequented the hotel so many times. I am especially pleased that you find it to be consistently good. Thank you as well for your kind comments about our friendly staff and nice rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is right on top of the hill, affording good views regardless of top floor or middle.

Stayed in a newly refurbed deluxe room. Lovely bathroom, comfortable beds, linen clean and fluffy. Fridge and mini-bar good.

Housekeeping man - I believe Gavin - was excellent and very helpful. Left the room very well done.

Only slight niggle in the bathroom is shower base doesn't naturally drain away and lighting in the main room from the ceiling are horrid spotlights. In our room two had blown - so little alternative lighting. Good to see, though, that bed lights were energy efficient. Perhaps replace spotlights with LED?

On location, there is very little immediately surrounding - particularly weekends - apart from a few independently owned Indian/Japanese restaurants. A little bit more of walk is a Newsagents and Dominoes pizza. The walk in to the true centre takes about 15mins at a leisurely pace - but beware this is down hill and was hard work in the heat!

Pool and hot tub on roof not the best I've seen - but makes full use of the space available. Small gym also nicely kept and well equipped.

Staff here were all amazing - was a bit annoyed that one of the housekeepers was in the main lift and got told off by a manager that she was in the main one and should use the service one. Does it matter? They are the backbone staff of the hotel - a bit antiquated but probably same all over the world.

Overall a very nice and pleasant stay - would recommend and will definitely return next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_sllvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear phil_sllvn,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Reading your review has really made my day. I am so glad that you enjoyed both the room and views. It was also great to see that you liked our comfortable beds as well as our friendly staff.

Thank you again for your recommendation and your helpful suggestions - we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#27 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.6 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing