We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area and just on the city edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times over the last 12 years. It is consistently good. The rooms are nice, the food good (although a bit pricey for value) and it is near a park. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. We used one of the car services rather than a taxi and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideJanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear AdelaideJanpo,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

It is fantastic to hear from a guest who had frequented the hotel so many times. I am especially pleased that you find it to be consistently good. Thank you as well for your kind comments about our friendly staff and nice rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is right on top of the hill, affording good views regardless of top floor or middle.

Stayed in a newly refurbed deluxe room. Lovely bathroom, comfortable beds, linen clean and fluffy. Fridge and mini-bar good.

Housekeeping man - I believe Gavin - was excellent and very helpful. Left the room very well done.

Only slight niggle in the bathroom is shower base doesn't naturally drain away and lighting in the main room from the ceiling are horrid spotlights. In our room two had blown - so little alternative lighting. Good to see, though, that bed lights were energy efficient. Perhaps replace spotlights with LED?

On location, there is very little immediately surrounding - particularly weekends - apart from a few independently owned Indian/Japanese restaurants. A little bit more of walk is a Newsagents and Dominoes pizza. The walk in to the true centre takes about 15mins at a leisurely pace - but beware this is down hill and was hard work in the heat!

Pool and hot tub on roof not the best I've seen - but makes full use of the space available. Small gym also nicely kept and well equipped.

Staff here were all amazing - was a bit annoyed that one of the housekeepers was in the main lift and got told off by a manager that she was in the main one and should use the service one. Does it matter? They are the backbone staff of the hotel - a bit antiquated but probably same all over the world.

Overall a very nice and pleasant stay - would recommend and will definitely return next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil_sllvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear phil_sllvn,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Reading your review has really made my day. I am so glad that you enjoyed both the room and views. It was also great to see that you liked our comfortable beds as well as our friendly staff.

Thank you again for your recommendation and your helpful suggestions - we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Me and my fiancé only stayed a few nights as we were travelling around but would have loved to stay longer as this hotel is lovely. Great location and very clean, the staff are all lovely and really helpful. We went into town to the information centre to ask for help with booking a car and the girl at the information desk was useless, we therefore asked our hotel staff for help and they rang a car company for us and sorted it all out. Really enjoyed our stay and could not fault it at all. Great place to stay! fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Liv M,

Thank you for this great review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay even if you didn’t think it was long enough.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our location, cleanliness and helpful staff. I will be sure to pass your praise on to the whole team.

I hope you will be able to visit us again soon, and that you are able to stay a bit longer to enjoy the hotel and its surrounds once more.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a lovely freshly decorated room, nice firm king bed, gorgeous fluffy towels and bathrobes. good range of complementary products including real coffee from one of those pod machines. Lovely roof top pool, although it was a little murky - probably just from sunscreen but could definitely have been cleaner. With free parking included in our deal it was good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KatieAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear KatieAM,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience while at the hotel and that you made the most of the perks on offer in our Superior rooms. I also appreciate your mention of the pool and have forwarded your feedback onto our Engineering Department to look into.

Thank you once more, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I know this hotel from Travel agent. Actually, it is the first time I stay in this hotel, All the hotel staffs are really helpful, even I ask them what's bus number if I want to go somewhere. The room hotel with comfortable bed and we can sleep well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOKTERARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear DOKTERARI,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane and thank you for sharing your review.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the room, and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the weekend and while I must say the rooms were quite clean. I was quite disappointed in when booking the room I requested a high floor and if possible a king bed. Unfortunately when we arrived I was surprised to see we were on the 4th floor with two twin beds for my husband and I. Although I was asked if we wanted to move rooms, we were in a rush at check in time..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shellou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Shellou,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your stay with us.

I was disheartened to read that you were disappointed in the bedding you receieved. We offer bedding and room requests only, and not guarantees in case of high occupancy. We do try to fulfil these where possible so I apologise that your request was not granted initially. I understand our staff offered a room move upon check in, and I am saddened that you were not able to take us up on this due to time constraints. I do hope this did not inconvenience you too much.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

In March this year, my husband had to undergo a medical procedure in St. Andrew's Hospital, which is located directly across the street from the Grand Chancellor. As we live in Toowoomba, we booked for three nights , so I could be close to Jack.
Our suite was very roomy, with a large sitting area, big bedroom and bathroom with a beautiful bath; and kitchenette. The latter was extremely well-equipped.
It was very quiet at night, and good for sleeping.
When our son, who lives and works in Brisbane; arrived at various times to collect me and visit Jack in hospital; the staff were very understanding, allowing him to park for the short period outside the hotel.
Our lunch in the hotel cafe was very pleasant....we looked after ourselves for the other meals.
We love Roma Parklands, and having that area across the street to stroll in was very therapeutic.
A rather stressful period was made easier for us by the Grand Chancellor, and for that we are grateful.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the 10th floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Jane H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. It was very warming to read your review, and I am so pleased that we could provide you with a comfortable base from which to access the hospital from. I appreciate your kind words and am thankful that we were able to lessen your stress.

Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back for another stay again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#31 of 169 in Brisbane
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $82 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing