We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here over the Christmas period, have to say, the rooms were nice and big, with bachony wide screen TV, it's location is a short walk from central station and city centre, also fortitude valley for bars/nightclubs and chinatown were 15 to 20 minutes walk. The hotel staff were very pleasant especially the bar & restaurant staff on Christmas day. We had dinner here and it was devine, the menu offers wine suggestions to compliment the food and I would recommend going with their suggestions. Had a great stay in Brisbane and would defintely return to the Grand Chancellor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear StevieLip,

Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the room, and our location. I am so pleased to hear that you were able to spend Christmas day with us and that we were able to help make it a special day for you.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff members. I will ensure they are commended.
I trust you had a pleasant trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,650 - 1,656 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was located close to the city, only a ten minute walk through a lovely park, and close to a family event. The staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was a little musty in its odour but there had been a lot of rain and floods to areas north of Brisbane. We booked on "wotif.com" and gained a fantastic deal for a large room with a view. We would definitely stay there again given its value for money and location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Maree5821,

Greetings and thank you for writing this post about your recent visit.

It has really made my day to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and our location. Thank you for your kind mention of our friendly staff. I will be sure to pass this review on to them.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for one night when we were in Brisbane for an event. Check in easy and friendly. Room was fine, except for a small damp patch on the carpet, but that was all. Bathroom is a little small but adequate. Comfortable beds and a small balcony looking out over Brisbane.

We did order room service which was a little slow but good once it arrived. As part of our booking we had a 2 for 1 buffet breakfast voucher which we used. It was a standard buffet but still plenty to choose from, hot and cold, plus juices and pastries. Waiter service very good at breakfast.

Not the most central if hotels, but reception happy to call a cab to take us to our event.

Overall happy with our stay and would have no issues staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Samantha J,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane! Thank you for this kind review of your stay.
I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with room-service, and I hope the very busy period during the bad weather did not make your meal too slow in arriving.

Thank you as well for your kind comments about our staff members. I will be sure to commend them.

I hope we will have the privilege of seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had an emergency situation arise whilst in Brisbane and had to stay the night. The Grand Chancellor was close by and we were able to secure a room for the evening for and excellent price particularly considering it included breakfast and parking. It is a little way from the very centre of Brisbane but that suits us as it is a lot quieter. Our room (704b) must have been renovated recently as it was very modern with a peaceful ambience. There was a small balcony which let in natural light but heavy enough curtains to block out the light for sleeping. We could not hear any road noise which was surprising. We availed ourselves of room service and were very happy with the menu - our selection was enjoyable. The real surprise was breakfast. The restaurant has a great feel to it - stylish and classy with plenty of room between tables. The staff were very friendly but still professional. The buffet choices were superior to most hotels with smoked salmon and a cold selection - certainly above our expectations. We need to be back in Brisbane in a few months and will certainly consider this hotel first.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Mackasx2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this amazing review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

I was sorry to hear that you had an emergency, but it is great we were able to help with your accommodation. It is wonderful that you found the room so modern and relaxing.
I am also happy to read that you like the buffet breakfast and that you will be visiting us again on your next trip to Brisbane.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Been a few years since I had a chance to stay at the Grand Chancellor in Brisbane. Was there for one night for work a couple of weeks back. Room was very nice clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent. Gym whilst not large had a large selection of free weights which was good. Staff friendly and helpful. All in all a fine hotel to stay for work.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Darren B,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your short stay with us at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

It was nice to read that our hotel is so well suited to your needs while in Brisbane. Thank you as well for your kind comments about the breakfast and Gym facilities.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

staff were friendly and rooms what you would expect to find in a city hotel. there is a good car park under the hotel - very busy and a bit expensive. Brisbane was OK - quite a long walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear tcauUkVulcan,

Greetings from the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Thank you as well for your very kind mention of our staff, I am so glad that you found them friendly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

we stayed her over the xmas and loved the hotel the rooms are spacious and clean and staff are friendly.because most places were closed xmas day we had our dinner in the hotel and it was fantastic.normally we try to eat outside the hotels we stay in but have to say it was one of the nicest meals we had while staying in brisbane.not to far from central station a bit of a walk up hill but the area itself is very quiet and safe.they also have a pool area which we did not use as we were trying to get as much sightseeing in as we could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear travelbug Tipp,

Thank you for this very nice review of your stay with us over Christmas. I am so glad we were able to host your Christmas day dinner, and that you enjoyed the food so much. Food is one of the best things about Christmas so it is really nice to hear that we impressed you.

I am also glad that you enjoyed our central location; I hope you could fit in all the sights you wanted to see.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $82 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing