We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, and Depressing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dated, and Depressing.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Tried to check in on a business trip, after a long day flying in early morning. Got to reception at about 9pm, to see a large group of young men who looked like they were on a end of season football trip.
Rather than the staff offering to check me in ahead of the group I had to stand and wait for about 30 minutes for all the guys to be handed there keys and checked in (about 20+ people).

Lobby was small and unwelcoming.

By the time I got to my room I was to tired to complain that my room was directly next to the noisy lift (the only working one, the other out of order).
Rooms and bathrooms looked like they were tired and straight out of the '80s.
Very small and cramped.
My corporate rate was more expensive $185pn than another colleague staying the same night ($175pn including full breakfast).
For the price it was ok, but don't get fooled into thinking corporate rates are any better.
I would choose not to stay there again next time I'm in Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeejMcTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear TeejMcTeej,
Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I do aplolgise that the lobby was busy when you checked in, and that it took longer than usual to get through the queue. I was also disappointed to read that you could hear the lift during your visit. As you noted we are refurbishing one of the lifts at the hotel currently, and I do expect this to assist in creating an even quieter operation.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Best regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    618
    218
    87
    39
See reviews for
264
592
151
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania,
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Room, breakfast, parking package $160 per night which was good as parking $20 per night. Breakfast was good, gym was average as limited equipment, pool waslovely spa not too warm. Rooms were clean and furnishings well maintained. Bathroom door showing signs of damp. Staff were very friendly and overall a good atmosphere good location to city and roma street parklands. They have good family rooms as have stayed there before. Only hassle was that a lift was out of service and had to use service lift via laundry each time and was busy as only1 lift working. Not in centre of city but not too far to walk.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Roma St Parklands would be best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartianExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
22 October 2012
Dear Hobartiantravellers,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel based on your recent stay. We take all guest feedback on board to help us improve the service and facilities we offer our guests.

I was glad to receive your positive comments regarding your breakfast experience and cleanliness of the room. I am also very pleased that you found our staff very friendly and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel as well as its location.

I would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the hotel guest lifts. Please note that we are currently undertaking a lift modernisation project which involves upgrading our two guest lifts to ensure they meet the current standards and to improve their functionality. This initiative will provide improved facilities and long term benefits to our valued guests. We have now completed two of our three lifts and the project is scheduled to be fully completed by the end of November 2012.

Once again thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff were first class but the hotel is tired. The one (of 2) lift that was working broke down and the wait for the service lift was long and inconvenient.

The room was grubby. Dust around the edges, stained walls (following a leak I suspect), swollen bi-folds to the bathroom that didn't close, worn out fittings and sealant slopped around the bath so bad my 8 yo grand son could do better.

The shower was over the bath with a curtain, so narrow it was difficult to turn around.

On the positive side, the staff were great and the food good.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Andy E,
Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am so glad you found our food good, and our staff members friendly & helpful.
I was disappointed to read that the lift went out of order during your visit. As we are refurbishing one of the lifts at the hotel currently I know how important it is for the others to be in good working order. We do ensure that as soon as any lift goes out of order that the technicians are called immediately to site.
I was also disheartened to find that some housekeeping aspects of the room were not up to your expectations. I have passed your feedback on to our housekeeping manager so that she may ensure we are always offering rooms up to our high standards.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Best regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel in the centre of Brisbane is within walking distance of the centre of the city. The reception staff are very helpful. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. They provide plenty of space and the air conditioning works well.

The breakfast is good but rather expensive. For evening meal the resturant provided good food and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestburySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
22 October 2012

Dear Prestbury SK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review of our hotel. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback from another happy guest.

I am pleased to hear that our staff provided you with helpful service during your stay.

I am also pleased that you were happy with your room and you found it clean, comfortable, spacious and your air conditioning worked well.

We are grateful for your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your evening dining experience in the restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,

Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Friendly staff, clean and tidy room. The breakfast is very good. Older hotel, but they are in the process of doing it up. Easy walk into the city, down hill. Tough climb back. All in all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear jayjay41,

Thank you for providing us with your review and feedback from your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room you stayed in, the service you received from our staff during your stay, and the high standard of the breakfast options available here at the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney - Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. The check in process was quick enough, standard fare and the room was reasnoble without being anything special. One lift was out which caused some delay, but otherwise, was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear RockinRenz,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent business trip. We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback and comments are very valuable to us and help us to improve our product and service.

I was pleased to learn that you found the check in process to be quick and that the room met your accommodation needs.

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel guest lifts. Please note that we are currently undertaking a lift modernisation project which involves upgrading our two guest lifts to ensure they meet the current standards and to improve their functionality. This initiative will provide improved facilities and long term benefits to our valued guests. The project is scheduled to be fully completed by the end of November 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice springs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

this hotel is about 20 years old. rooms are large, small bathroom though. has shower in the bath, which i personally dislike. bathroom needs some maintainance on cracks, old caulking and loose fittings.
nice restaurant downstairs, with good room service menu.
comfortable bed. overall quite good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieinchina43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear aussieinchina43,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly value your feedback and appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

I was glad to receive your positive comments about the quality of our restaurant, the room service menu options, the spaciousness of our accommodation rooms, and the comfortable bed in your room.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom in your room. Please note that we are currently in the process of refurbishing our guest rooms, with a focus on upgrading the bathroom facilities we offer to our valued guests.

We would be delighted to have you stay at the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 160 in Brisbane
1,557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#30 of 160 in Brisbane
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing