We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

we booked the city weekend getaway recently for $170/night + parking+ breakfast for two + complimentary newspaper, for one night only. firstly i love thier restaurant Frescoes so no compliants there- dinner service is good, have to wait a while ( everytime) to be seated. was very dissapointed with breakfast service, not bad food, but service is horrible. I mean its a sunday morning, staff your F&B outlets! Food at dinner is lovely!
Dinner and cocktails are yum!! there was no newspaper delivered the next morning, so we asked reception, when we had to ask for one, the lady at the reception was so rude," we havent got enough copies (low delivery or something) today, check the restaurant", as if I was begging for a paper! the manager at the restaurant was decent and let us take a copy.
the room: lower floor, cracked and chipping plaster in balcony, not a great view, just a bit of parklands. nice clean room, bathroom and good bed. But would I stay here again?
Perhaps not.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palls19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear palls19,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed the dinner and beverages in Frescos Restaurant, and the room facilities and cleanliness of the room.

I sincerely apologise that you were not happy with the standard of service you received at breakfast and that you did not receive the newspaper which was included in the package you booked.

We are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this period.

We would look forward to having you stay at the hotel again in the near future so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,613 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

Bathroom is very dated , mould on tiles and old style shower in bath , could surely be renovated , good location , as my husband was in st Andrews hospital . Also linen needs refreshing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Dear Gcvlr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I was glad to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel.

In regards to your comments about the bathroom please be assured that we always strive to offer the best facilities for our guests. Please note that we are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed a night in a standard room and found it to be of a good standard, clean and not too poky with great views of the city off the balcony. We chose it due to a deal on lastminute.com.au for $150 which was great value....until we checked in and were informed that carparking in their basement is another $20 - this was not advertised anywhere on grand chancellor website or lastminute.com.au and previous reviews mention carparking free? If I had known would have been dropped off as we live locally. Therefore brings price back to usual before the deal which is bit annoying. When first going out on our balcony we were hit with the strong smell of cannibis from one of the balconies below - we thought it was amusing but stunk so went back inside and shut everything up. Also when first went to turn television on, couldn't find remote anywhere so had to call reception - then we found it had been kicked far under the bed! Then my partner went to iron his outfit for dinner and found the iron had a sticky surface from someone burning material, didn't want to risk it so called reception to ask for another one, waited 20mins but didn't arrive so we had to get to dinner reservation and left. He went in his casual gear as couldnt iron his shirt! When coming past reception we saw only one staff member working by herself so maybe she couldnt leave the desk. Anyway we found restaurant Frescos as part of Hotel lovely, nice views again and high standard of food. Overall would recommend, staff on desk were pleasant when asking questions and Hotel was clean and modern. Pool on the roof is impressive too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear mel M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I am so glad that you were happy with the views from the restaurant and the quality of food and beverages on offer, the level of service you received, the rooftop pool, the room facilities, and the views from the balcony in your room.

We often have special packages available at different times which can include complimentary extras such as car parking. Please note that the car parking charges are displayed on both of the websites you mentioned in your review.

I sincerely apologise that your iron was not replaced by our staff and that you were inconvenienced due to the actions of a fellow guest. Smoking is not permitted in any of our hotel rooms or balconies. I can assure you that had we been aware of this issue it would have been swiftly dealt with.

We would love to have you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Chancellor Brisbane. The service was fantastic, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the room was pleasant with a great view. The room had a comfortable bed with a couch and a desk and tea and coffee making facilities. The room felt spacious and had a small balcony. The flat screen TV was well positioned and working as was the airconditioner.

The bathroom was rather small and the grout appeared dirty but on close inspection it was because it was old and probably impossible to clean. At the price we paid on a sizzler deal this did not seem bad. The value for what we paid was good and we had complimentary parking as well.

The location is great as it is close to the city and because it is set on a hill there are wonderful views in all directions.

There is a good lap pool on the roof, a gym and a spa. We had trouble getting the spa bubbles to work the first night and one of the reception staff came up and eventually got it going. Next morning it was not working again and the girl at reception was apologetic and did not feel she was able to get it working. It was a Sunday so that it was going to be out of order till Monday. Her helpful manner left me feeling that she was truly sorry and I was not left unhappy as these things can happen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Rose G,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It has made my day to read about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were happy with the level of service you received, the food and beverages in the restaurant, the views from the balcony in your room, the room facilities, and the hotel location.

Please accept my sincere apologies that the spa was not working properly during your stay and thank you for your understanding. This issue has since been rectified and the spa is now fully operational.

We would be delighted to have you return to the hotel again soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I recently stayed for two nights on a work trip. The first room that I was offered had a terrible smell, was outdated and stains and cracks in the paintwork - very unpleasant. However, when I complained the reception staff changed me to a room with an upgraded bathroom. While the room was quite pleasant the shower could have done with a proper scrubbing. I had had two breakfasts and two dinners - the food in the restaurant was very tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Dear CanberraC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay.

I was disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the first room you were allocated but I was glad that the room you were moved to met your expectations. We are currently in the process of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this time.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the meals in Frescos Restaurant during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here on a Wotif weekend special. Just under $135 including the booking fee for a standard room, which is fabulous value considering it also included undercover secure parking for FREE! The walk into the city is lovely and downhill !! The walk back is a little tough and weekdays there is a free bus that loops back up to Spring Hill (not available weekends).

There was a great taxi/limo service available from the front door which only charged $3/km - that's SO cheap as the same service back home with the same company (we paid $20 from the hotel to a residence 6km from the hotel) was $37....so there are lots of little extras of value when you stay at this hotel. If you booked in advance of your arrival, buffet breakfast was $24 ($29 if you walk in) which seemed like good value as the room was set up lovely and had a nice view of the city buildings. We were meeting family for lunch so we didn't have the breakfast this time around.

The rooms have been renovated and considering the age now of the hotel (would it be about 20 years or older?), it presents quite well. The rooms are not big by any means and would have liked at least 2 outdoor chairs for the balcony. We had a 9th floor room and it had a fantastic view of the city, the Gateway Bridge, even North Stradbroke Island and we could see a huge ship docked - see the pictures. Bed was very comfortable. Toiletries and tea/coffee provided were of a good quality and sufficient quantity.

My only negative on the room was dirt in the corners in the bathroom, the bathroom tiled wall needed a really, really good scrub with bleach or something smell-friendly but effective. The cleaner needed better attention to detail but everyone else in the hotel seemed to be on their game. This wasn't just 1 cleaner missing a beat either...this dirt had built up over a period of weeks...

The pool upstairs wasn't heated but there was a fabulous (near new) spa upstairs. Really bizaare is that the lift doesn't take you up to the 12th floor where the pool, spa and gym are.... You have to go up via the fire stairs and feels like you're not in the right place. They provided towels which is a great touch but the spa blowers behind the back areas weren't working or had been disabled.

We'd definitely stay again. Suited our needs and the views from all other directions would be just as fabulous. Note they are renovating the 10th floor at the moment and warn that there may be noise during the day but this wouldn't concern most people as they head out for the day.

Thanks Grand Chancellor for another great stay (this was my 3rd!)

Room Tip: Most rooms would have a good view. Looking out either towards the city is great but also towards Mt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorhome_Travel_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Motorhome_Travel_Fun,

Thank you so much for your great review! I was delighted to learn about how much you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were happy with the room package you booked, the room facilities, the views from your room, and the hotel location. Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel staff you encountered during your visit, I will be sure to share this review with them.

I was disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the bathroom. The Housekeeping team work very hard towards providing clean and comfortable rooms for our guests to enjoy, I have passed on your comments on to the Executive Housekeeper to investigate further.

We would love to have you return to the hotel again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The HGC is a realiable hotel at the top of Spring HIll with the park across the road, the rooms are clean, the prices are reasomnable and you can trust what you are getting.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Dear TheTravellingAussie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments from your recent visit. I was very pleased to read that you were happy with the hotel room, the location of the hotel and the value for money.

We very much look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Peter Yared,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 168 in Brisbane
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#15 of 168 in Brisbane
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.9 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#32 of 168 in Brisbane
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 168 in Brisbane
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $89 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing