We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 days in Brisbane”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Excellent, modern and very clean hotel! In a central location and only 3 mins walk from Roma Street Station. One thing that is missing is the noise insulation in the rooms – the road cleaners come at about 11.30pm every night, and you can basically hear the people in the corridors and the room next door.
On the expensive side but the location is quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lake0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear lakeOne,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    566
    201
    83
    36
See reviews for
233
544
141
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Well placed near railway stn and bus route. Nice modern interior. Friendly staff especially the young man behind the bar. Good filling breakfasts and range of drinks at bar. Nice room, good bed and shower. V popular with business types.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank manxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear manxboy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Brisbane.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt\ Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have spent 15 days in this Hotel.
The Price for the Hotel is too expensive.
I had a car and i must pay 20 Dollars per day for Parking.
For Internet using i must pay seprate.Internet kosts 55 cent a minute or 30 Dollars /24 hourfor in room or for 15 Minutes 2 Dolar in Foyer, it is very expensive.
I have been in many Hotels in many big cities, in such of them you could use Internet free or for a very lowly price, but not for 9 Dollars per day!!!!
In Bathrooms existed no Ventilators, the Hotel sevice was good.
I had no possibilty to have a breakfast, because the breakfast was too expensive, 28 Dollars per day.
In europe i can get a Hotel for this price inclusive breakfast in Vienna, Prag, Rome or Paris
In all this cities i paid no money more for internet or parking.
The Housekeeping was OK, Room Service was OK, the Receptions too.
I had in the first 3 days some problem with Siphon in Bathrooms, but after 2 calls, was no problem.
The Hotel is in a good area, Spring Hill and you reach the city after 20 Minutes by foot or 7 Minutes with bus.
The Parkland Roma street is wonderful and i had a very good view from my balkon.
I had the possibility to eat in the Restaurant, the quality of the foods was ok, but expensive.
The Swimming pool and Whire pool was OK, but you must go eithrer with klothes to 11th stairs or naked!!! or with the towels from the rooms,
Pay TV was very expensive too, you must pay for every film 15 Dollars. I paid 12 Dollar.for a film in Cinema.
I arrived at 7 AM in the Airport, but i had to check in after 2 o,clock. i must find a cafe and wait 6 hours

safar

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear safar29,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the level of service you received during your visit.

The accommodation and dining prices on offer here at the hotel are consistent with the Australian market.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Had the pleaasure of staying at the Grand Chancellor Brisbane on Friday 22nd with the check-in very warm, courteous and expedient.
The room was everything expected with some neat little surprises as the room tariff was very cost efficent.
Had an important dinner meeting same evening with a Mgr Dir of a very large Japanese comporatiion who left it to me to arrange the venue and after having perused the menu, spoken with mangaement of the Grand decided to utilise the restaurant located in the hotel.
Excellent decision, the menu though not large was very diverse in apertisers and mains and the service not to be faulted.
Pork belly entree followed by fresh snapper, delicious, with my guest enjoying what he described as "excellent steak" as good as what he would pay $350.00 for back home.
We chatted for 3 hours with no intrusion from the staff other than when needed or requested. Very smart staff.
My first time experience with this hotel group and will be staying again when I can.

Room Tip: Book early in case the city is busy at the time you intend to travel here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Lincoln G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Got a good deal for the room for one night. Nice, clean, decor, very comfortable bed.
Had view out over park. Doesn't take long to walk down to city, but coming back up the distance and slope seemed to double ;).
Breakfast quite costly at $28 per person but good range of food - meant to check if it includes better coffee than the filter stuff they gave me but forgot.
Internet 55c a minute to $30/24 hour cap, had to use wire, as wifi didn't reach our room, speed was fast.
Loved that there was a tub, though the grouting could be cleaner, I guess we had one of the rooms that is slated for refurbishment - but some exit mould and a toothbrush wouldn't go amiss in the meantime.
Its about $50 for taxi to airport, the train station that is near by isn't the main station.
Staff were friendly and allowed a 2 hour later check out at 1pm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Pasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were great friendly and most helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Yes the bathroom a bit dated but lovely and clean and overall very restful and a wonderful view from the top of the hill. Nice to look out of the 9th floor and have a great view. with no other high buildings too close Hey guys there is a free bus round the corner that works Monday to Friday ask the staff so helpful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Janney51,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brisbane.
Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It's clean and sufficient fir a nights accomidatiin however it's run down, the bathroom is in dire need of a renovation and fir the prices they charge it's not worth it.
I didn't feel as though it's at the international grand chancellor standard.
However the room amenities were a nice touch and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear camak,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay.

We are currently in the final stages of our soft refurbishment bringing all rooms to meet the high standard in which we pride ourselves on. The refurbishment will be completed in a staggered stage throughout the year to ensure minimal disruption to our guests during this time.

Once again, thank you for your feedback,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#30 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#37 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Property: Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing