We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good for Stones Corner”
Review of Shady Palms

Shady Palms
Ranked #106 of 200 Coffee & Tea in Brisbane
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Something good for Stones Corner”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Shady Palms is a recent addition to the dining/drinking culture of Stones Corner. And a good addition we believe.
Had breakfast there the other day. Coffee - Allpress - hadn't heard of it, but liked it. Well made.
Food - very good. We actually thought a couple of the options were under-priced.
Of an evening Shady Palms morphs into a bar with some good looking dining options including tapas.
Worth checking out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBSWBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    34
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More a bar than a restaurant!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Atmosphere was great! Like being in a trendy bar in Melbourne. We were there with a group and paid a set price for dishes that came out one by one. The food came out way too slow and by the time the 4th dish came out most of the group were feeling the effects of the alcohol! Food was tasty, especially the taco's. But don't go expecting not to want to go and get a kebab on the way home! Good place to go after work for a couple of drinks and some very nice nibbles. Bar staff very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anouk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite bar/restaurant in Brisbane”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great building with outdoor seating, good tunes and friendly service.

Good variety of beers on tap and in bottles, both overseas and Australian micro-brewery.

Awesome american diner style food including sliders, tacos and bar snacks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great set up with huge back room and outdoor section. Love the decor but that was where the positives ended. We didn't go for anything complex (poached eggs on sour dough with roasted tomatoes)but what we got was average. We asked if we could swap tomatoes for mushrooms and were told we'd have to pay extra - OK the mushrooms could be more expensive. Not the 2 very tiny mushrooms we were served. Had to ask for butter. We eat breakfast out regularly but will not be returning to Shady Palms.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Palms also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Shady Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing