We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Hospitality”
Review of Number 12

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 12
Ranked #4 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

First impression: Lovely Queenslander house in quiet street.
Second impression: Welcoming courteous and friendly host.
Third impression: Beautifully furnished and equipped rooms, with attention to detail.
Fourth impression: Delightful fresh afternoon tea on arrival. (Muffin packed full of blueberries)
Fifth impression: Super comfortable bed and large private bathroom
Sixth impression: Full breakfast with home made pastries and hot food to individual requirements.
Seventh impression. Sad to leave. Will be back

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillsJills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Number 12 is a great place to stay for a short visit to Brisbane! Kate and Neil were very welcoming, we had a lovely afternoon tea shortly our arrival and Kate was always willing to give us information and advice about Brisbane! We stayed in the king sleigh bed room and it was great, the beds were super comfy and thefresh biscuits and fresh flowers in the room made it very cosy. The BnB is very clean and tidy. I loved the bathroom with the claw-footed tub and retro black and whote tiles. The location is very close to great restaurants - we tried several of them and they were all good! You can even pick up some pizza from the local gourmet pizza shop and bring it back to No 12 if you've had a long day. It was always nice after a long day out to come back and have a chat with Kate before retiring to our room. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WItherwings121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Number 12 for our anniversary in the Victorian room. I was concerned that the canopy bed might be dusty, but I have never stayed anywhere that was so spotlessly fresh and clean. Kate is an excellent host and cook. She went the extra mile and cooked me gluten free banana bread. The area was quiet and the bed comfortable. The house is as lovely as the photos indicate. I agree with Brent (who had a similar experience to ours on a different day) that the jams and relish were exceptional. Excellent value for money. Consistent and flawless hosting by Kate, with lovely little hosting touches that made the visit special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for anniversary while we dined in Oxford street which is just up the road. The house is great and you really felt like you where visiting an old friend. I picked this spot due to its rating on trip advisor and it did not disappoint. Kate, the host, was just great and got the balance just right between having a chat and letting us do our own thing. And she can cook. Home made jams and relish where beautiful. No menus to pick from but we both got exactly what we wanted for breakfast while we sat on the back deck. Fresh limes of the tree for the Coronas in the fridge. We nearly didn't go out for dinner.

We stayed in the Victorian room which was very nice. As other people have said the mattress was so comfy and the quite street meant sleeping came very easy. Weather staying for a night or a few days you wont go far wrong if you choose Number 12.

Room Tip: Book early and you'll get your choice. It wont matter which one you get but
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friends found this B and B for us as it was near to their Daughter's place and close by the River and the City Cat. We were attending their middle daughter's wedding at Tenneriffe, by the river. Staying here meant that we didn't need a car. But better still were the comfy beds, the beautiful afternoon tea, and the delicious cooked breakfasts and the Bircher Muesli. So good were the breakfasts that we didn't need lunch. Breaky on the verandah in the morning sun and cool breeze was a great way to start the day. The bathroom was equiped with toiletries, soft towels and even a bath if we needed a soak after spending the day checking out the various stops along the river. Close by is Oxford st. if you need a coffee fix after a walk. The deli/fruit shop at the end of the street has an amazing supply of condiments and fresh fruit. There are lovely parks with shady trees ,and picture theatres nearby at the end of the street and in Oxford street.
Kate and Neil were so welcoming that you felt like part of the family. They are a treasure trove of information. Kate is a great cook and there always seems to be some beautiul smells coming from her kitchen. She will cater for special dietary needs as well. If you need to hire a car , talk to Neil, as that is his sideline.
This is the first time I have stayed in a B and B because they don't come cheap, but I would have to say that Number 12 was well and truely worth the money, and if the need arose I would definitely stay again. Number 12 rounded off a lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: Three rooms with queen beds and ensuites, one room with 2 larger than king single beds and adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InNeedOfaRest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just spent a lovely night at number 12, 8 friends travelled from Melbourne child free!! it was so nice to stay somewhere where you instantly felt welcome and also felt a little spoilt, the lovely afternoon tea on the deck was delightful and brekkie the next day was delicious. I would highly recommend and look forward to going back, Kate was a great host

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fenno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was a wonderful finish to our Queensland stay. Not far from the airport. Restaurants 5 minutes away. Charming old picture theatre at the end of the street,
Beautifully finished character home full of old world charm. The home baking that Kate provided for afternoon tea on arrival was a winner for me. The rooms and en suits were spotless and inviting. The hosts Kate and Neil were very friendly and helpful and cook a wonderful breakfast.
Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1 mi away
Edward Lodge
Edward Lodge
#2 of 61 in Brisbane
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heal House
Heal House
#6 of 61 in Brisbane
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 61 in Brisbane
114 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brisbane Milton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 12

Address: 12 Malcolm St | Hawthorne, Brisbane, Queensland 4171, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $127 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 12 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away in the inner city suburb of Hawthorne, a timeless Bed and Breakfast awaits. Perfectly positioned, "Number 12" boasts easy access to the hustle and bustle of Brisbane city, a short walk to Oxford Street provides access to some of Brisbane's finest restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Recently restored to its full glory, it boasts a warm and homely ambience, taking you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing