We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh food, average service.”
Review of New Shanghai

New Shanghai
Ranked #208 of 4,327 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, average service.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had some beautiful dumplings here and a side of seasonal vegetables. We enjoyed the food, but the service was really not very good. As someone who doesn't eat at those sort of restaurants a lot, I had a few questions but the answers were very basic, the waiters had some trouble speaking English. Even though that felt authentic, we were going out on a limb when ordering but having said that, we chose some tasty dishes. We had to remind them about drinks etc. though. All in all food 3.5 stars but because of service 3 stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    110
    45
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

went for lunch. had to wait due to the queue, but it was worth the wait. never i had experienced so good taste - esp the perfectly cured soy sauce where the dishes are made of. their dumplings are the best. a must try is also the stir fried eel.
moreover their prices are so reasonable and their food tastes awesome. no heartburns after being a glutton - which is just unlike the other chinese restaurants i've been to (in chinatown itself).
very good value for money...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kedar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

New Shanghai offers tasty dumplings and flavoursome dishes. It was a wonderful find. Wish that I lived in Brisbane to enjoy the food more frequently.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WantToTravelMore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bland Shanghai”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One shouldn't expect too much from any eatery that is part of a shopping centre food court. This place always has a long queue for tables (we waited 20 minutes) so you wouldn't be crazy to think the food just might be worth waiting for. Maybe the dishes we ordered (which included one of the handmade dumpling dishes) were the problem. Whatever the case, the food was bland and boring. Anyone who has eaten authentic Chinese food and enjoyed it should avoid this place. New Shanghai looks the part, but that's just it - it's all show. We will not eat here again and would not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IrisMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Shanghai also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to New Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing