We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing and welcoming...great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe dell'Ugo - CLOSED

Cafe dell'Ugo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Refreshing and welcoming...great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great for a couple or large dinner party - service was of quality - desserts were the highlight as well as the wine with the cheese platter

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spied this place walking down Brunswick. Not having had much luck with food in Brisbane we decided to give it a go since you can't really go wrong with Italian. Side note, I think our problem with Brisbane is more the COST than anything. Food that is just mediocre and sufficient is priced at a premium. We have found this to be all over Australia. Anyway, this restaurant was busy on a Tuesday night but service was fast and attentive. I ordered Risotto and it was prepared well and very tasty. My husband ordered a steak (!) and said that it was VERY well prepared and cook exactly as he requested.
For dessert we ordered Tiramisu and Lemon / Lime Cheesecake. The desserts are actually sized to share but since we ordered 2 we were forced to eat them. Oh well.

The wine selections and recommendations from the staff were perfect and the owner was constantly walking around making sure everyone was happy. I would definitely recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiscMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I read reviews on this restaurant, some good, some not so good, but decided to give it a go. SOOO glad we did, I own an Italian restaurant and for me this restaurant was perfect. Food , service and atmosphere were spot on. will go again for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An awesome restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I took my Mum here the other week for lunch as we had a voucher. We turned up and were immediately seated at a nice table. The staff were great throughout the meal constantly making sure we had everything we needed and very helpful on menu suggestions. We each got a different main meal - pasta, fish and veal - and they were each delicious. Then came the desserts, which were amazing and very filling. I would definitely recommend this place for lunch or dinner and with a voucher, it makes it very affordable. If you do order dessert, beware it's huge, but very tasty! I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an authentic Italian restaurant in the heart of New Farm. Well worth a visit. The even let you bring your own wine

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe dell'Ugo also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing