We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, very pleasant stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Cruise Ship View
Patio
Bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Brisbane, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chantel N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of five stayed in this lovely villa for a little over a week during the month of September. We came from California by way of Hawaii.

The home was clean and tidy. The house felt ready for guests, it smelled clean and everything was organized and in its place. The cabinet full of games and the wii were both big hits with my children (ages 10,13 & 16). There were plenty of things for younger kids as well. The television had a good selection of channels and was simple to navigate. The living room seating was comfortable and clean. The dining and kitchen area are spacious with plenty of chairs. Each bedroom had comfortable beds (my kids are very vocal if beds are not comfortable and they had each remarked they were happy with the beds, that's huge in my book) and there were extra pillows and blankets in the closets. Additionally, one side of the house gets the morning sun and the master bedroom had room darkening curtains, a real plus if you are still adjusting to the time zone. The unit had two adapter plugs (super helpful!) and we even found an umbrella the day we needed it.

What was really excellent about this place was the location. We could walk down to Oxford street if we needed a couple things at the store or for dinner at one of the many restaurants. In fact, we really enjoyed waking the couple of blocks and visited the news agent, bakeries, the park, a few restaurants, and gelato shops on different occasions. A few blocks the other direction is the Apollo City Cat stop. The City Cat was just a favorite. The unit had a couple of Go cards and Karen explained how they work, so we ran down and picked up a couple more so our whole family could use them. Then we rode the City Cat all over Brisbane. It was delightful! We saw lots of downtown and south bank via the City Cat, but we easily could have spent a couple more weeks looking around. There is so much to do in Brisbane! The cards made it easy to get on and off and they worked on buses and trains too.

The neighborhood was quiet and felt very safe. The unit has excellent security rated screens so we felt comfortable leaving the windows open while we slept. The air is clean and lovely.

Others have remarked that there is no onsite parking, which is true, but we parked on the street and did not find it an inconvenience. We pulled up to the building to unload luggage and groceries and then parked at the bottom of the stairs. We had looked on google maps where you can see the set of stairs, so we knew what to expect. Our kids are older though and mobility isn't an issue for us. Alternately, you can park on the other road and take a more gradual route to your vehicle. We arrived late and Karen gave us excellent directions and instructions to get in.

The kitchen is limited, but we only needed the basics and it was plenty adequate for our cooking requirements. We used the refrigerator, barbecue, stovetop, toaster, and the microwave. There is a small dishwasher but we just hand washed our dishes so I can't comment on that. There was an electric kettle that we used every day and it boiled water in 3-5 minutes depending on the amount. I'm going to buy one once I get home as it was most convenient. There is not an oven, but the barbecue served for what we needed. It's not as if I am going to bake a batch of cookies, after all! But we made spaghetti, roasted vegetables, tacos and the like and the kitchen was great.

We used the washing machine and there was a line to hang up clothing that got some afternoon sun. Worked well for us.

I also want to compliment the managers for great communication and service. Karen directed us to a farmers market when I inquired, gave us tips about the Go cards, and was really great during our stay. But she really proved an amazing person when I realized I had forgotten our passports in the unit (you know, when you leave them in a "safe" spot and then forget to check the "safe" spot when you leave...yeah, that was me). She was a half hour across town and the unit was already rented out to someone else, but she got a hold of the tenants and made arrangements to run back to the unit then found our passports for us and made arrangements for us to get them. I mean, holy cow! Who is that awesome? She was truly an answer to our prayer and I am amazed that she went above and beyond so we did not miss our flight.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments Chantel.
Good to hear that you all arrived home safely.
Karen & Marek
Home4u2stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this place with young children!”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here while in Brisbane for work for 2 weeks with my 3 year old and 18 month old. The owners clearly do not like children as the owner accused me / my children of leaving food scraps throughout the villa and rubbing food into carpets! This apartment has arkward access of either climbing up approx. 30 very steep stairs from street level or access via an easement up a steep driveway, not convenient when lugging groceries + 2 small children. No on site parking either. The villa also does not have an oven or bath.
I paid $80 for a cleaning service which resulted in the owner then sending me a very rude email because of crumbs on the floor (I challenge her to find any home which does not have crumbs on the floor!) as well as food scraps like we were animals! We ate all meals at the table so she is just rude! She also blamed me for marks on the lounge which were there on my arrival. The day after the cleaner left my child's pyjama pants were black where they dragged along the floor, as they are too long for her, so the cleaning service was an absolute waste of money, clearly a money making exercise for the owner. This was truly a horrible experience staying here and I definitely will not be staying here or any other properties home4u2stay offer. I found the owner rude. Do not stay here with children, the owner clearly does not like children!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Unaccomdating.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.

It is a shame we didn't get to meet you but we had the pleasure of meeting your Nanny and Children a few times.

We are a small family business, and our properties are very family friendly and each property is equipped with toys, games, puzzles and books for all ages as well as complimentary portable cots and high chairs.

It gives us great joy to know that families are enjoying their stays in the homes we provide and are utilizing all of the facilities that we offer.

We provide very clean properties and take every effort to maintain them for future guests, including requesting that children eat their meals in the designated eating areas to avoid the spreading of food on the furniture or in the bedrooms.

We offer a cleaning service at cost for guests comfort and convenience and often this service is complimentary for longer stays.

Occasionally, as in your case, we need to gently remind guests to read the very thorough information folder provided in which all mutual expectations for the stay are outlined.

Thank you for informing us during your stay that the iron and kettle were not working properly. We heavily rely on guests telling us if the equipment provided is not working and we were very happy to be able to provide your Nanny with a new iron and new kettle immediately once you told us the old ones were not working properly.

As per our clearly advertised description, "Parking is on a quiet street with 25 stairs leading up to the private entrance of the villa, or alternatively, there is a walk through easement. You are able to drive up to the property for the purpose of dropping off luggage or shopping items."

Most of our guests are families with young children and babies, and the feedback has always been very positive, so we are sorry to hear that this particular experience was disappointing for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollieMac...
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Once you get there you won't want to leave”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for a few weeks during our relocation from Perth to Brisbane. We opted for a holiday rental over staying in a large hotel as it was more convenient and comfortable with a young family. We loved it here as it had everything we needed for our stay - even a train table and track for my 3yr old and Nintendo Wii for my husband! It's the downstairs of a beautiful big Queenslander home set on a cliff top with great views. It's been renovated beautifully and is quite the oasis. I kept saying I felt I was in a secluded location as it was completely private surrounded by the bamboo and vistas of the Brisbane River. Access is a bit tricky as there's a number of stairs and a steep driveway access however once you are inside you will instantly feel relaxed and very homely - I didn't want to leave! Karen and Marek were great hosts and were very responsive to any questions we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful welcome to Brisbane”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just moved to Brisbane and the Villa was the perfect way to ease our way in to Australian life. The owners of the property have been very welcoming, given us great advice and couldn't have been more accommodating. The property is well equipped, with a lovely breezy terrace. The location near to the river, transport links and the Oxford Street shopping district are great. Myself and my family have been very happy here and the extra toys, films and books have made it feel like home.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri H
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When we are in brisbane, we will certainly stay here again”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay, very close to the everything. Very homelike, great decorations and close to oxford street. 3 minutes from the hockey centre, very good. Spacious, welcoming and comfortable, would certainly stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and homely
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatT79
Napa Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a beautiful Villa!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the Cliff Top Villa while my husband was working in the city so we were there just under a month with our young children. The villa comes equipped with everything you could possibly need. There is a fully stocked kitchen with all the appliances and utensils you could want as well as a separate kitchen and dining area. The villa is really spacious so was perfect for the kids running around and the toy cupboard was a god send! the Kids loved playing with all the different toys and games, especially the legos! The villa is tastefully decorated and also has a few personal touches to make it feel even more like home. The outside area was also beautiful and Karen even put out a paddling pool for the kids to splash around in which was a really nice touch.

Oxford Street is a short walk away so it was convenient for popping out to the shops, there were also a few good parks around for the children which we spent a lot of time at. The Apollo Road ferry terminal is also just about 200m down the road so travelling anywhere else is Brisbane was really easy.

You can honestly not go wrong with a stay in the Cliff Top Villa, Thank you Karen and Marek for an excellent stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Toy Cupboard
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGauthie...
Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place, great neighborhood!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just stayed at the “cliff top villa” for one week with our two children, 7 months’ old and 3 years old (we celebrated its birthday in Brisbane!) and we loved it! The villa is wide and well located. It was very clean when we arrived. Our oldest son really enjoyed the games/toys cabinet. There are 2 Citycat terminals at walking distance (one very close), we took it almost every day! The neighborhood of Bulimba is beautiful and perfect for a family, there are a great shops street and nice parks and it is not too touristy. When we visit cities we prefer to be a little away from the town centers. At first we were looking at the apartment from the same group called “easy living’’, and when we were offered the “cliff top villa’’ we wondered if this would be harder to walk up a hill or something with the stroller and the baby carrier but that was really not to bad to walk up to our street. Really a nice place, we would definitely go again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing