We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #56 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Mercure KGS is co-located with the 5Star Pullman and is by any standard a good hotel, but nothing special. It is in a good location for exploring the city and a short walk to restaurants & bars. Overall I'd stay here again but wouldn't be in too much of a hurry.

The hotel has a quaint little cafe near reception which is perfect for a quick brekky and coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 973 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed for just one night at the Mercure King George Square in Brisbane, Australia, between the end of a cruise and our flight home. It's a central city property, walking distance to the Queen St Mall and a great selection of other shopping.

Despite one housekeeping glitch and the lack of free Wi-Fi it was a very good experience and we would certainly return again.

There was a warm welcome from the reception staff and despite the relatively early hour our room was ready - a real bonus. The room itself was spacious, well equipped and beautifully presented. There's also a good outdoor pool and a sauna on the top floor, alongside a very well equipped gym.

There was excellent coffee in the small café just off the lobby. Checkout was also easy and the presence of a taxi rank right outside the lobby was most helpful, given we were meeting a 6.30am check-in at Brisbane International Airport.

A word also about the hotel restaurant - "Allure" - easily the best service we have had in a hotel restaurant for a long time, excellent menu with superb meals being placed before us, and a comprehensive wine list - all at a reasonable price.

Now to those two little niggles: falling out of bed at 5am to meet that flight connection, there was no hot water in the shower. By the time it was the turn of the second showeree it had become a little warm. There wasn't time to alert housekeeping and have it remedied!

We think the lack of free wi-fi in a hotel of this standard is a real omission - and certainly something guests expect in this day and age. Thankfully the local city council comes to the rescue with free Wi-Fi on offer to all-comers outside the Town Hall in the nearby King George Square - just a few steps outside the hotel's main entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear PeteWH

We are always thankful for guests reviews and this time is no different. We are very appreciative of your kind comments and the staff will take much encouragement from it.

My apologies for the inconvenience caused by the hot water, unacceptable at any time of the day and I will pass your comments onto our Chief Engineer. Accor are always looking into ways to help our guests with Wi-Fi, currently if you are a Le Club Accor member with a Silver membership or above, you receive free internet.

PeteWH, we hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Firstly the location of this hotel is fantastic. Walking distance to pretty much everything. Check-in was seemless, the room was nice enough. As someone of above average height (6'2") I did find the showerhead rather low. Also anytime you switched the light on in the bathroom the (very loud) fan would come on which could be a touch annoying.But other than that the room was nice, staff friendly and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarryd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Straffo,

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I’m sorry for any inconvenience cause with the shower head and the fan in the bathroom but pleased to read your stay was good.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I'll start with the positives: the hotel is conveniently located for central Brisbane, staff in and around reception were helpful and efficient and the room was clean.
As for the rest, and my overall view of the hotel, as the title says, the best I can see is it was 'OK'.
The Mercure tower was pretty tired, the bathroom old and stained, the TV remote was on its last legs, not enough plug sockets for a business traveller (had to uplug the desklamp to plug in my laptop).
Staff, other than those in reception, gave the impression that they couldn't really care.
Food was overpriced and not great.
Scrambled eggs and mushrooms at breakfast were overcooked and watery - like you'd get in some sort of institution - while fruit was limited to pineapple and melon.
Room service pizza was overpriced - $24 (50% more than I'd paid in Venice's Piazza san Marco a week before!).
I'd say the property is a bland and tired multi-national brand. A corporate entity in which no one has much interest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Nigel,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Firstly thankyou for your positives comments about our location, front office staff and cleanliness of the room. It is greatly appreciated.

Your other points are also greatly appreciated as it is through such feedback that we are able to look at what we have and what we offer and change to meet our guests needs. Into the future we are looking at a possible refurbishment of our Mercure tower and comments about the sockets is certainly something to take on, ensuring that our guests have the appropriate facilities to do business from their rooms. I will pass your comments on to our Leadership team about the impression the staff gave you, to follow-up with regards to customer service training. I’m sorry we let you down with regards to breakfast and the pizza you ordered, again some great feedback that will be passed on.

Nigel, I do hope that we can welcome you again to the hotel and leave a better impression for you to take away.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Zincfx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is located in the centre and perfect for visiting the shopping malls, restaurants ,etc. It is also only a short walk from the railway station so we took the train from Brisbane Airport to the City.
The receptionist picked up the phone as we approached the desk instead of acknowledging us, which got us off to a bad start. However, later a pleasant man on reception was very helpful in coming with us into the business centre to enable us to access the computer.
We asked for a quiet low rise room and this we got on the third floor. Even though the room overlooked the square, it was nice and quiet.
This is a typical business hotel but in a good location.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chesterhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear chesterhappydays,

I would like to take this opportunity to thankyou for your review. My apologies that the front office staff member didn’t acknowledge you and something I will pass onto our Front Office Manager. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank travellingglenn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 169 in Brisbane
1,745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#42 of 169 in Brisbane
2,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $85 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing