We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    379
    197
    59
    38
See reviews for
229
224
67
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spent 1 night at Mercure Brisbane King George Square last week. It is centrally located hotel with two hotels in one complex so it can be confusing. Left wing is Mercure and right wing is Pullman hotel which is bit upmarket Accor brand compared to Mercure. Check in was quick and efficient. I have told them about my Platinum status with Le Club Accor program and checkin staff promptly offered wine/fruit platter as complimentary amenities as well as 2 drink vouchers for bar which was nice gesture. I was told about pool/spa but did not have time to use them. I did not use restaurent in morning but did order room service breakfast which was good. Room itself was reasonable size with work desk and average bathroom. Overall fine for short business stay at affordable price especially if you prefer to stay in CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room keys are used until they stop working in the locks. And no! it is not because i've put my keys next to my mobile phone, but because the keys were so used and scratched up they simply did not work anymore. Small old tv with burned in menu image on screen. Wardrobe smelled like mold, did not even investigate why...
Parking... they insist on providing vallet to park your car. If you want to park yourself, still they want you to leave your keys downstairs. Every time you drive back to the hotel they want to know if you are going to be using your vehicle today. Annoying! One thing i've noticed - to bring you the vehicle to the front door, they have to drive in traffic a 100 m, pass the lights, make a u-turn, drive back 100 m, cross the street to get into the drive way... All of these in your rental, in heavy city traffic, with no insurance (since you are not paying insurance for vallet to drive you vehicle to the rental company) and no responsibility (according to the hotel rules printed on the docket they give you for parking) for the car... Getting your vehicle from the garage takes about 15-20 min. The hotel chooses to park up to 6 vehicles on driveway for guests, who requested their vehicles to be ready at certain time, that leaves enough room for just 2 cars to get to the main entrance, with the rest waiting in the street blocking traffic.
Pool was too cool to get into.
Beds were comfortable and we had a good night sleep.
Restaurant... Been only for breakfast... For $30 something pp I have seen better quality and variety on buffet breakfast.
Will not stay there ever again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foreignjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Foreignjon,

Thankyoufor your feedback about your stay, we do appreciate it. Please accept my apologies for problems that arose during your stay. The TV’s are something we are looking into replacing in the future and I will ensure our Executive housekeeper is made aware of the smell in the wardrobe. The pool heating is currently being looked at and fixed.

With regards to parking, our guests are able to self-park, if they wish, or use the valet service. I apologise for any inconvenience that this caused you but we guests leave their keys with concierge, especially in the event they have parked in one of the double park spaces or if a guests requests for their car to brought up to the drive . The position of the carpark is an unfortunate one and not one we are able to fix.

Foreignjon, again my apologies for any inconveniences cause during your stay. I do hope that into the future you will stay with us again. Please be assured we take all feedback seriously as it is through such feedback that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On asking for a password for wifi we were told that the cost was $9.95 per hour! We have been travelling for the past three months and this is the second time that a charge was put on wifi. This the dearest by far. Get real .
We paid a high room rate for a good position in Brisbane city but this is a No Frills hotel. Even at the bland bar while we enjoyed a nice glass wine there were no crisps or nuts as in the past. For the high price of the wine that would not hurt. We decided to eat all our meals else ware and not give them any more money. There are many other places to stay with management who understand the meaning of hospitality.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggerlyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Wiggerlyworm,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay the hotel. I’m sorry we weren’t able to meet your expectations on your stay. We do take what you have said on board so we can strive to improve out service to meet our guests needs. I do hope that you we can welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
1,694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Property: Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing