We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dreadful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dreadful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had booked this hotel firstly online, however that did not work well so phone the booking service. This was done through the Accor online site and there call centre. Received the email confirming nothing to pay at the hotel.
Some three months later we when arrived at the booking, it was wet and cold, we all needed to wash and change and go immediately out for a pre booked concert. We were told that the room was not paid for, and that the transaction did not go through. Really? Nothing said for three months. Paid the room plus bond, and hour later we were just about to leave, got a message to call reception, I did so and they advised that the bond had not been paid! Sorted that out and got an apology along with a hasted delivery of a complementary bottle wine. It sat in the room and was left behind. The room had a lamp that would not work, the window was small and dirty to look out from, the TV had images burned into the screen which you could constantly see over your programs.
On the third day it was time to leave, and surprise surprise please pay the $35.00 dollar a day parking fee that we were never advised of, so we only got half of our bond back. Certainley would not recommend this hotel from anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantWS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear GrantWS1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, we really do appreciate it.

It is disappointing to hear that the experience you had a the hotel was not up to the standard that someone would expect when staying here. Please accept my apologies for the ‘run around’ you received with regards to your booking. With regards to the lamp, window and TV, I will ensure that our Engineering team are made aware of the issues, along with ensuring guests are told about the parking fee when they park.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs and I do hope that you will the haotel another chance in the future to show you what really have to offer.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    368
    194
    59
    38
See reviews for
227
216
63
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had booked this hotel through a travel company for the Lions Test weekend. In addition to the package stay, we booked and paid directly for an additional single night for 3 men.

When we arrived we were told firstly that they had no record of our booking. Then they eventually found it. They had booked the three of us into one room which contained 2 double beds, for our entire 3 night stay. Clearly not an ideal scenario for 3 middle-aged heterosexuals!

After much messing around, the guy on the front desk managed to find a separate single room (which is what we had thought we had ordered initially) for the first night, which he said we could then keep for the rest of the booked period. We thought this was very helpful and we were prepared to pay a small premium just to get the thing sorted.

On check-out, however, we were charged an extraordinary amount for the room, including one night in excess of AUD1000 on its own!! The hotel refused to acknowledge any credit for the money we had already paid to the tour company for the package break and this left an extraordinarily bad taste in our mouths and an unnecessarily large whole in our wallets.

The hotel itself was as average as would be expected For its location and price bracket. The staff were generally as helpful as their rules seem to allow, but the overall experience that we had was a scandalous rip-off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Judith F,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay the hotel. My apologies for your stay being less than satisfactory. Clearly there has been a breakdown of communication with regards to your reservation. This is not generally the case for our guests and I’m sorry that this has occurred, leaving you with a bad feeling of the hotel.

Judith F, please be assured we take all feedback seriously as it is through such feedback we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can be a great hotel. If there is anything that we can help with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Front desk service and valet parking very good, however no mention of cost of valet parking ($35)with on-line booking.
Service was to include bed turn-down, which didn't happen. A minor point, but why include if it isn't done.
Shower-screen door design allows water to escape underneath and run onto floor. Could be a slipping hazard if not cautious.
Buffet breakfast was a little cold, possibly made worse by the cold temperature of the air-conditioning in the restaurant. Would have preferred poached eggs, however scrambled was the only option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Iodfish,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. All your comments are things that we need to look into. I will ensure your feedback about the shower is passed onto our Chief Engineer so that he can investigate the problem. My apologies for the temperature at breakfast, I will be sure to let our Executive Chef and restaurant team know. We do only have scrambled eggs on the buffet but poached eggs are cooked to order as well.

Iodfish, we do take all feedback seriously at the hotel, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to meet our guests needs.

Kind regards
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very central however parking difficult to access if coming from "the wrong direction".
The staff were helpful and friendly. The service provided by all concierges was excellent in particular we must mention the outstanding service provided by Stuart.
The rooms although small were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hvreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear hvreview,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do have a fantastic team at the hotel and Stuart is definitely an asset to the hotel! If ever you do stay at the hotel again, there is a U-turn point just outside of the hotel drive, which allows guests easy access to the driveway and carpark.

Hvreview, again thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Property: Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing