We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Ordinary Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #54 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Arrived at hotel after early morning flight after being away for three weeks. Was told that they cannot issue keys due to some ongoing maintenance, had to be escorted to room and collect keys later, told credit card was rejected (even though room was supposed to be prepaid through Accor), room was very ordinary and next to lift, lower storey, noisy aircon, broken tv remote, bathroom tiles mouldy, room in need of urgent renovations. Not a good reward for Accor AD+ GOLD member and my loyalty for the last 7 years

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greyskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

II have stayed at this hotel before, for business and this was the first time for a holiday. The location is fantastic and it is very central to Brisbane CBD, transport etc.

The rooms were fine and clean and the reception staff were extremely helpful and courteous.
Our only bad experience came on the last night when we decided to eat in. In all honesty, we couldn’t complain about the service in the restaurant because there wasn’t any!! It really let the whole night down. I thought it was overpriced for what we had, considering you are competing against so many other restaurants. Admittedly they had a fire during the day in the kitchen, but that should not have detracted from the poor service.

I will stay here again for business, but I will be wary about eating in.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a few different rooms and found them to be relatively all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Daniel M,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square and thankyou for your positive feedback.

However, it is disappointing to us that the service you received in Bistro Allure did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our Food and Beverage Outlets Manager.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Unbelievalbe value at $65 a night including a complimentary drink each and a paper delivered each day. The Mercure on King George Square is the place to stay. In the heart of the city, a walk away to Southbank and a scenic ferry ride to some amazing food at the Regatta Hotel. Fantastic bed and black out curtains left us feeling refreshed after our two night stay. For even better value indulge in a full buffet breakfast for $30 for a couple when you use your Accor card. Can it get any better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinebunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Really do recommend this place. Its not Brisbane's best hotel, but they are not trying to be either. Very good value for money, very good, friendly service and well located. Rooms not massive but still enough room to be comfortable and as we were only sleeping and showering in our room it was plenty big enough. We walked to almost everything and no walk took more than 20 mins. Highly recommend staying here if you like value for money and a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocksy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square.

It is great to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Mercure Hotel George Brisbane, formerly known as KGS Citigate is situated opposite the City Hall and in short walking distance from the main shopping area. The hotel lobby is shared with the Pullman. The hotel is reasonably priced taken into account the high price level of Brisbane hotels. A second, older Mercure is at North Quay next to the Ibis Hotel. Make sure the taxi takes you to the City Hall.
The rooms are newly renovated and modern furnished. The double bed is actually queen size and narrow for two persons. The room is small, has a LCD TV, a safety box and a water kettle. A complementary water bottle is not provided. Internet is AUD 9.99 / hour or AUD 29.99 for 24 hours. As in most of the Australian hotels an internet connection is still a luxury.
The bathroom is modern with a shower cabin. The toiletries are of good quality.
The breakfast buffet is charged AUD 25.- on the Accor website. The continental breakfast is richly garnished and costs AUD 20.-, whereas full breakfast is charges AUD 30.- at the restaurant..
On the roof top are a fitness centre and a swimming pool. There was a private party going on with extremely loud music and empty beer cans and cigarette butts everywhere. Tolerance has limits. There was no supervision from the hotel management and hotel guests fled the pool area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square. Such a detailed response and so helpful for others reading TripAdvisor. I would like to pass on my apologies to you with regards to the party on the rooftop, please know this is not representative of the hotel and I will pass your feedback onto the relevant team members to look into.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A convenient hotel in the city center, very good customer service, the rooms are cozy and a little odd that being right on KGS that the windows aren't more significant but as this building has had a few re-treads.

Didn't get a chance to use the facilities much but free wifi would have raised the score when you're already paying more than $100 a night there is no excuse for not offering it, even if only in the lobby, but this is an Australasian problem across the industry particularly in higher end accommodation which is counter intuitive.

Breakfast is decent and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ive_Been_There_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Mercure Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square. As we strive to continuously improve our service, we have taken on board your comments regarding free WiFi.

We take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Was going to make a booking after an accor web search suggested this property at $145 for 2 adults 2 children. However when I called they told me that anyone over 3 years of age is an adult. Than they would have to ask permission for us to have 4 adults in the room and quoted me a price of $190 for 3 adults and I would have to wait and see if they could accommodate the 4th adult. Last time I checked my 8 and 10 year old couldn't drive, or vote I'm sure they are still children. What a joke what annoys me most is I put in 2 adults and 2 kids and it was there own web site that showed me a room available with suitable beding configuration for 4 but when you ring up its a big issue and is going to cost more. Took my business elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 169 in Brisbane
1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 169 in Brisbane
1,777 reviews
0 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#43 of 169 in Brisbane
2,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $88 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane King George Square 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing