We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love!”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love, love, love!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great value for money. Friendly helpful service from the front desk staff, well appointed
comfortable rooms and yummy cafe downstairs.
Walking distance to everything!
Suit business or recreational traveler.
Will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear CarmelH75,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team will be delighted to know that you found the apartment hotel so comfortable, and also convenient in location, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    195
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
267
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 and it was an enjoyable experience. The hotel was new, well priced, with good amenities including a small kitchen so we could organise breakfast before heading out. The rooms were well insulated as we didn't hear any other guests

It is close to both the Central and Roma St train stations and a little further to get to the mall area. We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear boo5td,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to a return visit too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location of this hotel is next to central station but there's a bit of a slope if you're doing shopping. I also wouldn't recommend walking the short cuts at night. Stick the the main roads. It is walkable to cbd but if you want convenience I terms of shops close by to get a drink or restaurants/fast foods of mid night snack, then this one probably won't tick your boxes.

The room is very spacious with a good size kitchen if you're staying for a few days. Yes they only have 1 lift and it is very slow. It doesn't have any ventilation so it gets very hot inside. One morning I was even stuck in the lift for about 5 mins. House keeping is ok, could do better with more attention to detail or just a little more mope down. I stayed for 3 nights and they freshed up my room everyday. But because they didn't do a good enough job, I really felt like booking hotel rooms 1 day at a time to force a more thorough clean each day.

I would stay here again if I had a car, otherwise I'd pick something closer to city. Walking back to punt hill at night was a real hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eLasticbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear eLasticbarbie,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are disappointed that you were not totally satisfied during your recent stay. Punthill Brisbane is on the fringe of the CBD in the Spring Hill area. Part of Punthill is our wonderful café serving breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days, and they are always happy to stock your fridge with anything on the menu if you do need a very late snack.
We are sorry that the housekeeping was not perfect and will make sure the manager is really vigilant about the detail.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
496 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When in Brisbane I usually stay in a chain-hotel on the riverside, but decided to try somewhere different so opted for the Punthill. What a good choice. First impressions were great - very friendly check-in staff and quirky décor in reception. Rooms were very nice, and very reasonably priced. The café on the ground floor does great food. I usually use the gym in hotels, but didn't fancy the open-air gym at the Punthill due to the heat, but that wasn't a problem as I went for some great riverside walks instead. I did find it quite a walk from town, and up a hill, but because it was so reasonably priced I would recommend staying there, and paying the odd $10 taxi fee if the heat and the hill are too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear KiwiTraveller43,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that you took the opportunity to stay at Punthill, and found that the apartments, facilities, staff and location met all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a very long trip from Ireland we were very grateful for the warm welcome and help we received from the hotel staff.
The location is ideal and only a very short stroll from the heart of Brisbane City, Botanical Gardens, Southbank and public transport.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms cleaned daily and they went above and beyond on more than one occasion helping us to truly unwind and enjoy our holiday.
The room accommodated 2 adults and a 6 year old boy perfectly and we didn’t spend our time tripping over each other.
The restaurant in the lobby area (Jack and Hill) serves fresh and tasty food and is a great place for a quick bite to eat.
We would stay here again and recommend it for couples, families or anyone travelling and wanting to see the city of Brisbane in comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear CourtRichards,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
So pleased to hear that you and your family had such a comfortable stay during your visit to Brisbane, and that you will recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill should you be visiting Australia again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning after 31 hours of travel and the reception team could see how weary we were and got us a room cleaned immediately. The hotel staff were really lovely, our room was great, and there is a fab cafe attached to the hotel who do magnificent breakfasts.
The location is great - a short walk from everything.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scoorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Scoorie,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Long-haul flights are extremely exhausting so it is great to hear that the team were able to arrange an early check in for you. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay in Brisbane, and we do hope to welcome you back to Punthill should you visit Australia again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was the second time that I stayed in this hotel and it was really great. The Appartements Are so beautiful, the beds really comfortable and they also have a good Café nearby. Central Station and Queen Street are just a five minute

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Nesrin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Nesrin O,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team will be so pleased to know that your return visit to this apartment hotel did not disappoint! Great to hear that you were able to try our delicious menu at jak+ hill restaurant too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Property: Punthill Brisbane
Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing