We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice big room, reasonable price and very friendly staff - James and Aleisha went out of their way to be peasant and helpful. Easy walk to the Central station, for the train to the airport, and to the downtown area. Not many restaurants in the immediate area (nothing in the hotel when we were there) but the Queen Street Mall is close by and there are lots or restaurants near the Performing Arts Centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Ron B,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
As you may have read with recent reviews, we now have jak + hill café opened at the property, which provides a great option for breakfast, lunch and dinner dining. We hope you will be able to return to Punthill Brisbane sometime in the future to sample the menus on offer!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 645 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Friendly staff, big comfy beds perfect after a long days work. I usually eat at a few different venues when I travel trying to find good food but have not wandered out of the hotels front door! The restaurant attached - Jak $ Hill - is hip, friendly and most if all delicious! Everything I tried was good. Nothing to dislike - and working in the food industry I usually can find something. Would recommend a stay here anytime.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Cheque_Please99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Jacqui F,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, and particularly enjoyed the offerings at jak + hill café!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Great find for good value studio apartment in a hip medium density suburbs with booming cafe culture.
Large rooms, comfortable beds and trendy decor. Walking distance to Brisbabe CBD, Southbank and Fortitude valley. For those not keen in walking there are city bikes for hire everywhere.
Friendly staff, free wifi, outdoor gym equipment, and welcome chocolate - what more could you want?

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Natalie075,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be extremely pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

CBD (citycenter) is just a couple of minutes by walking. So are the train/bus stations. Helpful and smiley staff. Has a cool cafe+bar downstairs. Over the top, all the rooms have a kitchen with full cutlary, plates, kettle, fridge, micro, dishwasher etc, which enables you cook for your own. I would rate 4 normally, but due to surprisingly affordable price, I gave 5.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank hmtyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear hmtyvz,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service during your recent business trip to Brisbane. Keep an eye out for special deals on our website too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to the Sunshine Coast. After much searching trip advisor, we were keen to stay somewhere close to the CBD, clean and tidy, and was good value for money. Punthill delivered on all of those and exceeded our expectations! The staff were very welcoming and had some great suggestions for dining in the city. The bed was very comfortable!

As for previous reviews regarding location, it can't be more than a 5 minute stroll to the Queen St Mall. This was great in our opinion, all the benefits of being close to the CBD but was a very quiet spot. The decor was great and the bird theme (including the ornamental bird cages on each apartment) was a nice touch.

Would I recommend it to friends - definitely
Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: We had a CBD facing room which was really quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear allhood,
Thank you for lovely comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your expectations were exceeded. We thank you for recommending Punthill, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The smart trendy decor doesn't make up for the location or lack of facilities here. We booked a one bed apt but the reality was this was a studio as the bed and kitchen were in the same room. There is little or no storage and the kitchen whilst having a dishwasher only has a 2 ring hob and nothing else. It is just that bit too far from the river front with an exhausting uphill walk at the end of the evening. The swimming pool had 2 large sun umbrellas on the very exposed deck area but both broken. Not worth the money. We have stayed in other apartments in Brisbane and certainly wouldn't chose this above others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Judith7591,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay.
We only have studio apartments at the property and state this clearly on all websites. We are not sure how you could have booked a one bedroom apartment. We also advertise clearly a "kitchenette". We provide a very well equipped kitchenette though which includes (but is not limited to) a drawer dishwasher, stovetop, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc.
The property is in Spring Hill, not in the CBD and is a short walk to the city centre.
Brisbane experienced an horrendous storm and both umbrellas and some of the huge plant pots shattered. Replacements are on order. We are so sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations but do feel that we make it clear that we have spacious studio apartments with kitchenette.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Punthill Brisbane overnight. The check-in was quick and easy and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very well presented, modern, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We had dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant 'Jak+Hill' which served great food and the staff there were also great. All in all, a very well run hotel that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawrance85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Lawrance85,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also the food and service in 'jak + hill', our newly opened restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 170 in Brisbane
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
471.2 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#10 of 170 in Brisbane
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing