We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment in a Good location”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #12 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have found Brisbane a difficult place to find a good apartment at a reasonable price. Discovered Punthill and stayed there late November for three nights. Really good staff, friendly and helpful. The apartment itself very well designed. Smallish kitchen and bathroom but adequate. Comfortable bed and all clean and in good order. Handy enough to cbd to walk with an average level of fitness. Not far but a little hilly on the way home. Only grumble is a single lift which is quite slow. All in all well recommended and happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barney320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Barney320,
Thanks for your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and will also recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed two nights over the Labour Day weekend. We received a great welcome upon arrival and the reception team were very helpful throughout our stay.
I was concerned before we arrived about the parking arrangements beings as the apartments are so centrally located, but this was unfounded as it could not have been easier. There is a short term pull in directly out the front and the dedicated car park entrance is alongside.
Perfect location for exploring Central Brisbane, parklands, river and Botanic gardens.
The interior decor is somewhat different and quirky but made a nice change from the normal clean cut corporate look. The rooms are nicely laid out and very comfortable.
My only negative comments would be the extremely dark decoration to the corridors which although only a matter of taste made them very depressing but again added to the quirkiness of the place. The bathroom was on the small side which required my wife and I to operate a shift system and the shower head had been installed by a very short plumber but a bend of the knees soon sorted this.
If you are looking for a friendly welcome, excellent location and good clean facilities then look no further.e

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D18KRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear D18KRB,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Loved the design and layout of this centrally located hotel. The quirky theme added to the experience. As long as your expectations don't involve a five star hotel then you'll be pleasantly surprised! Easy walking distance to the city. Parking a bit over the top but found plenty on street.

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank nickliveshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear nickliveshere,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the décor and layout of the property so appealing.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved everything about the apartments from the very friendly professional service from the ever present manager Alysha to the location, cleanliness, and fitout of the apartments. The design is excellent providing everything needed right down to the pet budgerigar on the balcony. Cleanliness was exceptional, very comfortable bed. There was nothing we needed that had not been supplied. The attached restaurant Jak & Hill is great place for breakfast and there are other very good dining establishments in close walking distance for variety. We particularly like the new Lebanese Al Beik and the modern Chinese restaurant called Great for a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: We requested and received a quiet apartment which was at the back of the building. But it is a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnPalmCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear OnPalmCove,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you found the apartments, décor, service, on site café and location met all your expectations, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed 3 nights for work. Loved the rooms (large, modern & comfortable) & location (15 min walk to CBD) and pretty friendly staff. a little noisy because of construction work nearby when I stayed there and the lift is slooooow.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank pinkflamingo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear pinkflamingo88,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay for your recent business trip to Brisbane.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was my first time staying in Brisbane CBD and I chose the Punthill based on reviews here and the convenience of the apartment style. Well I chose right because this place is a home away from home. The service is personal and not generic like many larger hotels, always a smiley face to greet you no matter what time of day. The studios are more like a 1 bedroom without the wall, big comfy King Bed and very spacious with a balcony and modern kitchen and bathroom. I was very pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the property and it has a pool and outdoor gym to boot.

I guess one of the major bonuses was the café downstairs (Jak + Hill), also run by the managers. They are open early and close late every night. The menu is great, clearly with a focus on organic and free range ingredients. Coffee is excellent and the service to match. I ended up eating most of my meals at the café and every dish was top notch.

I would not hesitate in staying here again and will be recommending it to anyone wanting to stay short or long term, an easy 5min walk to downtown. 10mins to Queen St Mall.

I will be back soon

David

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear AucklandAviator,
Wow! - Thank you very much for your lovely review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are absolutely delighted that you chose Punthill for your first visit to Brisbane, and that the apartments, service and location met all your needs. We are also particularly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at our new café - jak + hill - which recently opened at the property.
The team will be so pleased to know that you had such a favourable experience and that you will happily recommend Punthill too.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent two nights in Brisbane and I am so glad we decided to stay at Punthill Apartments. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel very welcome. Check in was quick and painless. The rooms are well designed, compact but with a feeling of spaciousness, although the bathroom is a bit squeezy. The bed was so comfy it was like sleeping on a cloud. The small kitchen was appreciated as was the table/desk that we utilised for the laptop.

The location couldn't be better - so central to the CBD where we had a business meeting. It's well within walking distance to the mall and the river and the associated bars and restaurants. The hill was good for negating the calories eaten at dinner :)

We will definitely stay here again and will look at other Punthill properties when we next travel.

Thanks to the team for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear AnnieH_8,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and you had all your expectations exceeded.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon - whether that be in Brisbane again, or at one of our properties in Melbourne!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
1,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $93 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing