We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super comfy bed!”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super comfy bed!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

So good I want one at home. Great studio, well laid out so you don't feel as if you are eating in the bedroom, friendly staff and great price on a two night weekend deal with parking. We would definitely stay again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear lucky052,
Thanks so much for your very favourable review of Punthill Brisbane.
As the newest addition to the Punthill group, we are thrilled to know that you had such a comfortable stay at the property and enjoyed the apartments, service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    195
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
267
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for a cheap rate of $130/night.

Staff were nice and check-in / check-out was a breeze. Size of the room was great, with a balcony, large room, fridge and kitchenette. The bathroom was fairly small with not much lighting and a strange door that looked like it had come from another building altogether that left about half a foot clearance between the tiled floor and the bottom of the door which allowed my partner to bark directions at me continuously whilst spending 45 minutes getting ready and me not being able to claim not being able to hear her.

Judging from the rubbish left in the lift the night before, the people staying in room across from us weren't overly fond of their 2am cheeseburgers (hey, it always sounds like a good idea at the time).

The location is great if you don't want to be right in the thick of things but want easy access to the train and is in walking distance of both the CBD and the Valley. Parking was ~$25 for a night.

Overall, no real complains and for the price it was fantastic. I wouldn't want to pay more than we did though, as it would put it in another category that I am sure you could find better in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Daniel S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
We are very pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay for the last leg of my business trip and, in fact, the best place I stayed throughout my time in Australia.

Centrally located: easy walking distance to the CBD and main transport links including the station to and from the airport (you can also purchase a train ticket from the reception).

A clean, modern and spacious room with a small kitchen.

Very good service: I was particulary impressed by the efficient process of gaining me access when I arrived after hours. And the friendly staff manning the main desk.

Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhavalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear DhavalG,
Thank you for your feedback regarding Punthill Brisbane and we are delighted to know that the property suited all your needs during your recent stay.
Our front office and housekeeping teams want to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay, so they will be extremely pleased to hear that you are looking forward to your next visit too!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill when you are visiting Brisbane again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After reading the previous reviews I thought this sounded like a safe bet and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is well located only 5 mins walk from the centre of town but in a quiet area. The rooms are very well appointed and a great size. We only stayed one night but I could have done a much longer stay very comfortably here. Amenities and size, including balcony, that don't make you feel trapped in a hotel room. A funky fit out and great kitchen and entertainment facilities. Only downside is the shower which doesn't have a shower screen so you get a wet floor and need plenty of towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Imation,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Brisbane and thanks for taking the time to provide your review.
We do find that a bathmat effectively catches any water but next time you stay, please ask for as many towels as you need.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On Easter Saturday my husband and I needed to attend a buck's night and hen's night that were both located in Brisbane CBD. I looked for somewhere to stay that was reasonably priced, within walking distance of both pre-wedding celebrations, had onsite parking at low cost and included a kitchenette for preparing at least one meal. Punthill Brisbane fit the bill exactly. It was quiet, within 650m of the hen's location (slightly further to buck's), and newly refurbished with a king-sized bed that fitted my husband. We also happened to book at a time when free parking and free wi-fi were included in the price. Absolute bargain! Upon arrival, we were not disappointed and found that the studio apartment with it's private balcony was perfectly suited to our needs. There was only one thing that was less than perfect for us, which was the softness of the bed. My husband ended up pulling the mattress topper off because he said he felt like he was sinking into a bunch of fluffy clouds. This is, however, personal preference and I'm sure that most people would be very happy with the comfort of the bed. We had a visit from staff on Sunday morning asking if we wanted our room cleaned or more towels and there was someone at the completely unpretentious front desk pretty much the whole time we were there. There is also a small cafe/bar a couple of doors up that looked good, but we didn't visit. In addition there is a lovely pool/gym/bbq area tucked away on the second floor. In the end, we decided to extend out stay to include Easter Sunday, also. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Jacqui W,
We are thrilled that Punthill Brisbane met all your expectations and more and we thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was great - boutique atmosphere, comfortable rooms, great staff. A little out of the way but worth it for such a nice room at an affordable price. Loved the kooky wallpaper and pictures in the bathroom. Loads of character while still being clean and modern.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernRivers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear joHtweedie,
We are so pleased you enjoyed Punthill Brisbane and we would love to welcome you back soon.
Punthill Brisbane is located in Spring Hill and only 900 metres from Central Station in Brisbane CBD.
If you are ever visiting Victoria, you may also like to stay at one of our 12 Punthill properties located in central and suburban Melbourne!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to stay. Good to be able to cook our own meals and enjoys the same facilities available in hotels such as the pool, the gym and well fitted amenities. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Arrived earlier than check-in time and was able to check-in straight away. Our friends arrived first and mentioned that we were travelling together and even if we did not make any request, we were very happy to be allocated an apartment on the same floor close to our friends...:-) That's what makes for a great stay!!! Thank you very much. We look forward to staying again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed and if you have specific needs the staff is happy to help if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Isabelle A,
We are thrilled to know that you had such a fantastic time at Punthill Brisbane recently and we thank you for taking the time to provide your review on TripAdvisor.
Our front office and housekeeping teams strive to ensure that all our guests enjoy the apartments, service and facilities at Punthill Brisbane and they will be extremely pleased to read your comments.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Property: Punthill Brisbane
Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing