We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique breakfast menu, nice setting for a Saturday morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

The Point Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique breakfast menu, nice setting for a Saturday morning”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a black coffee and the Chilli con carne on the breakfast menu with tortillas, avocado, tomato and fried egg. It was actually really delicious and a large serve that I couldn't finish (and not cause I didn't want to!). The breakfast menu on the whole actually had some unique sounding options, and while they still had the necessary bacon and eggs and big breakfast, they had many other different options.

The service wasn't bad but not as impressive as some places I've seen, but the prices were decent considering how big the serving size was - for my breakfast and a strong black coffee I paid about $20 total.

The location and atmosphere was very nice, just across from South Bank Parklands and with lots of different comfortable seating arrangements to choose from.

All in all, a really nice way to start my Saturday...and I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Value. Excellent food. A great evening!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very attractively situated restaurant on the corner of Little Stanley Street and Ernest Street, South Bank, Brisbane. This is a vibrant area of South Brisbane and is full of restaurants of many different nationalities. We wanted a restaurant which primarily served Australian food and we could not have made a better choice. To start with we shared a plate of different cold meats which were very good. As a main course I had barramundi with clams which was delicious. My partner had sirloin steak which was excellent; top quality meet and cooked exactly as had been ordered. The thick cut chips were cooked perfectly. We both had lemon tart with raspberry sorbet and fresh raspberries - one of the best we have ever had.
With the exception of the "frosty" attitude of the person who appeared to be in charge of "front of house" that evening, all the other staff who attended us were professional, friendly and efficient.
It was a lovely balmy evening so we were very pleased to sit outside on the terrace where we enjoyed a first class meal in a beautiful part of Brisbane. We will definitely go to "The Point" again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paloma151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A friend and I have just found our new breakfast spot. Service just right, coffee and tea came promptly and were hot, food was happily adjusted to accommodate what we wanted, and it tasted just fine; water bottles replenished as needed. What's more, we could chat to our hearts content at an outside table (for 2 hours) and nobody was bothered. We'll be regulars from now on!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank earnedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing service and lovely food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

They found a table for us despite it being a very busy Saturday night and the service was friendly and professional. Had the pork belly which was cooked to perfection. Companion had the steak and was impressed. Despite being crowded it didn't feel noisy - still able to hold a conversation and not hear the chat from other tables. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerfectlyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We decided to eat here recently due to the fact that it was well patronized & we certainly weren't disappointed. It was a very warm day & we requested a spot that might be cool as it's an 'open' restaurant. We knew this would be a tall ask anyway, as the place was very crowded, but the waitress happily obliged, seating us & where she knew we would get a slight breeze. From then on things just got better. The service & food were excellent & I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalshowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing