We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy spot with excellent service”

May's Thai Restaurant
Ranked #971 of 4,294 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
848 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Busy spot with excellent service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

As visitors from out of town, we walked up without a booking to be confronted with a queue out of the door for this restaurant that also does takeaways.
In a small restaurant the staff was energetic and determined to cope with the demand.
We were seated within 10 minutes and both chose very tasty dishes – a ginger beef stir fry and chicken with green curry (with coconut rice of course). Despite the pressure, the meals were delivered hot and in reasonable time – an object lesson for any restaurant.
There were no trimmings, just good food and the total bill including BYO charge was $37. The price per plate was $10 below Airlie Thai (see previous review) and they should take some pointers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went on a busy night but service was very quick and the food great. BYO but not too far to a bottle shop. Food was very fresh and came exactly as ordered. Tables quite close but OK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I dined with a group of friends at May's Thai a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it very much. We went for the banquet as there were 8 of us and we found it too hard to choose from the long menu. Every dish was great and the service was good even though they were very busy with take away orders. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“May's Wynnum Dine Experience = Tops”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff are friendly and efficient, the restaurant has a lovely ambience to it with a chaming prewar facade. Food was excellent one of the best ever Panang beef curries, great rice, reasonably priced, were doig a stellar take away trade for a tuesday night, totally recommend and byo

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ormiston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great quality ingredients, fresh taste”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We love Mays Thai, it's the only place we get our takeaway from these days! We usually go to their sister store in Wynnum, which is in a quaint converted post war style cottage. We haven't dined in there yet, but it looks very appealing and is usually quite busy when we pick up our take away. Every dish we've had is delicious but we particularly like their curry puffs, chicken basil, beef salad and the Gang Panang curry (with any of the meat options). The staff are always very friendly and the prices are reasonable. Highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May's Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to May's Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing