We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best craft beer bar in Brisbane”
Review of The Scratch

The Scratch
Ranked #470 of 4,313 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best craft beer bar in Brisbane”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Other reviews have hit the nail on the head in terms of the details of the place (except it's 5 beers on tap, not 6 and 1 is the hand-pump which I usually don't like but that's personal preference).

If you want beer that is different and has flavour and bar staff who know their stuff then get on down here. It's worth it just to admire the view of the XXXX Brewery and think about the irony of Queensland's worst beer being made so close to where some of its best are sold (they would never, EVER sell XXXX at The Scratch).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ComradeDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb bar with great beer and knowledgable staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having come from the UK, I have been crying out for a place like this. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, the beer was high quality and not stupidly priced and they couldn't do enough for you. I did my "What do you recommend test" and they asked what sort of beer I like which is always a good start. Within moments I was trying a couple and we were off. A free tray of monkey nuts and several beers later, I was a very happy man.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing atmosphere, comfy lounges...this is a peaceful oasis in the big city. The casual, friendly barman Offered me a taste of what was on tap. I fell in love with the Bojingles stout. Wow! It took me an hour to drink it and boy oh boy, taking my iron supplement has never been so much fun. It had a hint of cherry with a chocolatey aftertaste. Cherry ripe in a glass. Heaven. These guys are passionate about beer. I eavesdropped on the conversation between the owner and the barman - they waxed lyrically and passionately on their love of beer - for an hour! If you love your beer you will love this little oasis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It is not a restaurant but a bloody wonderful bar”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You will find wonderful craft beer here. You are expected to belly up to the bar (except as I am short it is more like chest up to the tall bar) and taste each of the six beers on tap and then make your choice. there is always something fantastic on the taps but if you don't fancy a great draft beer there is cider, wine, a large selection of delicious bottled beer and soft drinks.

The guys and girls behind the bar are very, very knowledgeable and charming. They'll tell you the hops, and the malt and stories behind the beer. Most of them, except the women, have gorgeous beards.

The place is small and comfortable with large tables to share with new friends. It won't take long and you are sharing stories about beer with other beer lovers. There are board games to play if you don't want to socialise.

No meals are cooked. the peanuts are free and you can purchase biscuits and cheese. But you can order a pizza from next door and have it delivered in or bring your own.

It is right on the train line at Milton so need to drive

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crafty Beer”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and myself with 12 other people who we work with did the Craft Beer tour of Brisbane and The Scratch was one of the Boutique Beer houses we visited. I was most impressed with the range of Boutiqe Beer the Scratch had on tap and the level of service we received. We spent some time there tasting all there beers and found all the beers I tasted were all particuly nice. So if you like to taste beers that are different to the ones that are sold everywhere the Scratch is the place to go.Recommend it to every beer drinker,a realy good education of how all of these different types and tastes of beer come about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adriantapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scratch also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing